Security in the supply of medicines

The security in the supply of medicines in Switzerland is good, even if in the last few years isolated bottlenecks have occurred. This conclusion is the result of a report by the Federal Council in response to the postulate Heim (12.3426).

Shortages and bottlenecks in the supply of medicinal products have repeatedly been the subject of political and public debate in recent months and years. Parliament has already reacted to bottlenecks in the supply of medicinal products in Swiss hospitals by bringing forward the revision of the Therapeutic Products Act (1st stage). The revised Act substantially expands the options for manufacturing medicinal products that do not require a licence. The Heim postulate (12.3426) requested the Federal Council on 4 June 2012 to provide a report that analysed the supply situation in Switzerland again, showing where the causes and problem areas lie and how the Confederation can support the cantons in this matter.

Findings from the report relating to the Heim postulate

In its report to Parliament, which was published on 20 January 2016, the Federal Council concludes that, generally speaking, drug availability in Switzerland is good and reliable. It is nonetheless possible for shortages and bottlenecks to occur in the complex supply chain. Primarily affected are cancer drugs, niche products and vaccines.

The report further concludes that the current drug supply situation does not require any urgent federal intervention. Since autumn 2015, the Reporting Office for Vital Medicinal Products for Human Use (Meldestelle für lebenswichtige Humanarzneimittel), which is part of the Federal Office for National Economic Supply, has been providing Switzerland with up-to-date monitoring of the supply situation and can take prompt and unbureaucratic action in the case of any acute event. At the same time, however, drug supply bottlenecks are a worldwide phenomenon and appear to be increasing. Further measures should thus be initiated as a precaution to allow the Confederation and the cantons to effectively improve the reliable and orderly supply of medicines throughout the country in the long term. The report formulates appropriate recommendations for action for the attention of the Confederation and the cantons. 

Four areas of action

Measures for storage and decentralised manufacture are deemed particularly successful. A minimum storage at all levels is recommended – from manufacturers to hospitals to doctors – as is an extension of compulsory stockpiling by the marketing authorisation holder for vital medicinal products. In the area of manufacturing, a network of public pharmacies, hospital pharmacies and the Armed Forces Pharmacy would be conceivable in order to safeguard domestic production of certain niche products.

Facilitating market access could increase the availability of drugs. In this connection, the simplification of Switzerland-specific requirements for patient information is recommended for certain medicinal products, in order to expedite their import. In addition, requirements for the authorisation of traditional medicinal products from the EU and EFTA areas should be relaxed. Furthermore, manufacturers should be encouraged by the Swiss government to assign licences to third parties if they remove their products from the Swiss market.

In connection with pricing and remuneration, options should be investigated for considering the availability of medicinal products as a criterion in fixing their price.

These findings and recommendations are based on different studies carried out by the FOPH in connection with the Heim postulate, including a literature study, a survey of representative stakeholders and a systemic analysis.

Next steps

Implementation of the recommendations and proposed measures will be pursued within the masterplan framework for the promotion of biomedical research and technology. A number of recommendations have already been adopted as part of the revision to the Therapeutic Products Act (2nd stage). These relate primarily to the recommendations on market access mentioned above. In addition, the flow of information on withdrawals of medicinal products from the market should be improved and the development of medicinal products for rare diseases and specifically for children should be encouraged through appropriate incentives. Furthermore, in the course of this work, rules should be defined on how to link operating licences for wholesalers to conditions for universal supply (see recommendations and further action to improve the security in the supply of medicines in Switzerland, document non available in English).

Press releases

Java script is required to display press releases. If you are unable or unwilling to activate Java script you may use the link below to access the Federal Administration News Portal, where you can read the announcements.

To the Federal Administration News Portal

Legislation

Medicinal products and medical devices legislation

The legislation on therapeutic products comprises the Federal Act on Medicinal Products and Medical Devices (TPA) and the associated ordinances. It is regularly aligned to the state of scientific and technical knowledge.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Therapeutic Products Law Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/heilmittel/sicherheit-in-der-medikamentenversorgung.html

Sécurité de l'approvisionnement en médicaments

La Suisse dispose d’un bon système d’approvisionnement en médicaments, malgré quelques pénuries ces dernières années. Telle est la conclusion du Conseil fédéral dans le rapport qu’il a élaboré en réponse au postulat Heim (12.3426).

Les pénuries et les ruptures d'approvisionnement en médicaments ont occupé le devant de la scène politique et médiatique ces derniers mois et années. Pour remédier aux problèmes rencontrés par les hôpitaux suisses, la loi sur les produits thérapeutiques (LPTh) a tout d’abord fait l’objet d’une révision anticipée (1re étape), qui a étendu considérablement les possibilités de fabriquer des médicaments dispensés d’autorisation de mise sur le marché. Par la suite, le postulat Heim (12.3426) du 4 juin 2012 a chargé le Conseil fédéral de rédiger un rapport sur l'approvisionnement en médicaments en Suisse, cette nouvelle analyse devant permettre de repérer les problèmes et leurs causes et de montrer comment la Confédération peut soutenir les cantons sur ce plan.

Conclusions du rapport rédigé en réponse au postulat Heim

Dans le rapport qu'il a publié le 20 janvier 2016 à l'intention du Parlement, le Conseil fédéral parvient à la conclusion que globalement, la Suisse dispose d'un système d'approvisionnement en médicaments à la fois bon et sûr. Cependant, des pénuries et des ruptures peuvent intervenir dans une chaîne d'approvisionnement complexe. Les difficultés concernent surtout les médicaments anticancéreux, les médicaments bon marché soumis à ordonnance dont le brevet a expiré (génériques), ainsi que les produits de niche et les vaccins.

Les auteurs du rapport tirent également la conclusion que la situation actuelle de l'approvisionnement en médicaments ne requiert pas d'intervention urgente de la Confédération. Avec le bureau de notification pour les médicaments vitaux à usage humain géré par l'Office fédéral pour l'approvisionnement économique du pays (OFAE), la Suisse s'est dotée à l'automne 2015 d'un système de surveillance de l'approvisionnement qui lui permet d'agir rapidement et sans complications administratives, en cas de grave pénurie. Parallèlement, ces lacunes constituent un phénomène mondial et ont tendance à s'accentuer. D'où l'idée de mettre en place, à titre préventif, d'autres mesures permettant à la Confédération et aux cantons de garantir à long terme un approvisionnement plus sûr et plus régulier sur l'ensemble du territoire. Le rapport formule des recommandations pratiques à ce sujet à l'intention de la Confédération et des cantons.

Quatre champs d'action

Les auteurs estiment que les mesures concernant le stockage et la décentralisation de la fabrication sont particulièrement efficaces. Ils recommandent ainsi de stocker des quantités minimales de médicaments à tous les niveaux, des fabricants aux cabinets médicaux en passant par les hôpitaux, ainsi que d'étendre l'obligation de stockage qui incombe aux titulaires d'autorisations pour des médicaments vitaux. Par ailleurs, un réseau formé par des pharmacies d'officine publiques, des pharmacies d'hôpital et la pharmacie de l'armée pourrait assurer la production nationale de certains produits de niche.

Un accès simplifié au marché permettrait d'améliorer leur disponibilité. Pour cela, la Confédération recommande de simplifier les exigences spécifiques de la Suisse en matière d'information destinée aux patients pour certains médicaments (par exemple, les vaccins) afin d'en accélérer l'importation. Il convient également de simplifier l'admission de médicaments provenant de l'UE et de l'AELE et dont l'usage est traditionnel. Par ailleurs, la Confédération doit encourager les fabricants à remettre leurs licences à des tiers s'ils retirent leurs produits du marché suisse.

S'agissant de la formation des prix et du remboursement, il faudrait prendre en compte la disponibilité des médicaments comme critère pour la fixation du prix.

Ces conclusions et ces recommandations sont étayées par différentes études menées par l'OFSP en lien avec le postulat Heim, notamment une étude bibliographique, une enquête réalisée auprès d'acteurs représentatifs ainsi qu'une analyse systémique.

Prochaines étapes

La mise en œuvre des recommandations et des mesures proposées sera poursuivie dans le cadre du plan directeur visant à améliorer les conditions pour la recherche et la technologie biomédicales. Par ailleurs, différentes recommandations ont été reprises dans le cadre de la révision de la loi sur les produits thérapeutiques (2e étape). Il s'agit en premier lieu des recommandations précitées visant l'accès au marché. Dans la suite des travaux, il faudra également définir comment optimiser la circulation des informations relatives aux retraits de médicaments et promouvoir le développement de médicaments traitant les maladies rares ainsi que des médicaments pédiatriques. Il conviendra, en outre, de définir des règles permettant de lier les autorisations d'entreprise destinées aux grossistes à des conditions visant à garantir un approvisionnement complet (cf. Recommandations et démarches prévues pour améliorer l'approvisionnement en médicaments en Suisse).

Communiqués

Javascript est requis pour afficher les communiqués de presse. Si vous ne pouvez ou ne souhaitez pas activer Javascript, veuillez utiliser le lien ci-dessous pour accéder au portail d’information de l’administration fédérale.

Vers le portail d’information de l’administration fédérale

Législation

Législation Médicaments et dispositifs médicaux

Le droit sur les produits thérapeutiques comprend la loi fédérale sur les médicaments et les dispositifs médicaux (LPTh) ainsi que les ordonnances correspondantes. Il est régulièrement adapté en fonction des dernières avancées scientifiques et techniques.

Dernière modification 05.12.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division biomédicine
Section Droits des produits thérapeutiques
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/medizin-und-forschung/heilmittel/sicherheit-in-der-medikamentenversorgung.html