Simplified supply of medicinal products subject to prescription

Following the entry into force of the revised Therapeutic Products Act and the revised Therapeutic Products Ordinance in January 2019, pharmacists may, under certain conditions, directly supply medicinal products subject to prescription.

Changes in the dispensing categories of medicinal products

Medicinal products may only be placed on the market when they have been authorised by Swissmedic. Swissmedic classifies medicinal products into different categories of supply.

Dispensing categories as of 1 January 2019

A: Single dispensing requiring a medical or veterinary prescription
B: Dispensing requiring a medical or veterinary prescription
D: Supply on the advice of a specialist
E: Supply in the absence of advice of a specialist

In the context of the revised Therapeutic Products Act the legislator has decided to make better use of the available skills for supplying medicinal products. Dispensing category C (Supply on the advice of medical personnel) has therefore been eliminated while category D has been broadened.
Thus the conditions for supplying medicinal products of dispensing category B have been made more flexible and the boundaries between the categories of medicinal products (prescription-only/not subject to prescription) are now less strictly defined - without, however, adversely affecting treatment safety. Pharmacists are now able to supply certain medicinal products of dispensing category B to patients who do not have a prescription.

Supply of medicinal products, subject to prescription, by pharmacists in the absence of a prescription  

Medicinal products of the supply category B

The government’s aim was to simplify the supply by pharmacists of certain medicinal products subject to prescription. Until 1 January 2019 medicinal products authorised under dispensing category B could only be supplied by a medical professional on presentation of a medical prescription. Since 1 January 2019, however, pharmacists have been permitted to supply medicinal products of dispensing category B in the absence of a prescription in the following cases:

1. The medicinal product was classed as category C prior to 1 January 2019

As dispensing category C has been eliminated following the entry into force of the revised Therapeutic Products Act, certain medicinal products of this category have been reclassified to dispensing category B. Those medicinal products that have been transferred from dispensing category C into category B and are thus now subject to prescription may nevertheless be supplied by pharmacists in the absence of a medical prescription. The medicinal products in question are listed on the website of Swissmedic, which is responsible for the reclassification:

List of medicinal products reallocated from category C to category B

2. Medicinal products for the treatment of common illnesses

This group includes a number of medicinal products that are used for treating common illnesses and contain established active substances that have been authorised for several years. The Federal Council, acting on the advice of a group of experts, is defining those medicinal products that may under certain conditions be supplied by pharmacists without prescription, as well as defining the indications concerned (see next paragraph). The indications, the medicinal products in question and the other modalities applicable to their supply will be published on the FOPH website as they are approved.

3. Medicinal products used to continue a long-term treatment

Medicinal products that allow the patient to continue a long-term treatment may also be dispensed by pharmacists without a prescription for up to one year after the date of the initial prescription. This applies above all to the treatment of chronic illnesses.

As previously, pharmacists may supply medicinal products subject to prescription in the absence of a medical prescription if exceptional circumstances apply.

In all the instances listed above, the medicinal products may only be supplied by the pharmacists themselves, and such supply shall be documented. In this context, the Association of Cantonal Pharmacists (ACP) drafted guidelines aimed at ensuring uniform implementation in the cantons (see under Documents).

Medicinal products for the treatment of common illnesses

A “List of indications” expert group has been mandated to advise the Federal Department of Home Affairs (FDHA) to establish the list of indications and the authorised medicinal products for the treatment of common illnesses.

Evaluation procedure

The quality of patient care and their safety when using the medicinal products are the primary criteria considered in the evaluation.

The expert group proceeds as follows to establish the list of indications and the corresponding medicinal products:

·        Formulation and continuous extension of the list of possible indications and medicinal products of supply category B which may be dispensed by pharmacists in the absence of a prescription

·        Choice of an indication for further detailed treatment:

o   Consultation of the corresponding specialised medical societies and if needed other external experts

o   Final counsel on the list of indications and medicinal products by the expert group by drawing on the recommendations of external specialists, on scientific criteria and on experience in the field

·        The list of recommended medicinal products for each indication is submitted for approval to the FDHA

·        Periodic expansion of the list of indications

·        Periodic review of the list of medicinal products.

Current lists of indications and medicinal products (September 2019)

The experts expanded the list of indications and medicinal products of category B which may be directly supplied by pharmacists. It includes as of now the following indications:

  • Seasonal allergic rhinitis and rhinoconjunctivitis
  • Upper respiratory tract diseases
  • Gastrointestinal diseases
The expert group proposed a new list of medicinal products that was then approved by the FDHA.
 
The list may be found under the following link:

The lists of medicinal products for other indications are being assessed and will be published on this webpage as soon as they have been approved by the FDHA.

Last modification 12.11.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Therapeutic Products Law Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/heilmittel/abgabe-von-arzneimitteln.html

Remise simplifiée des médicaments soumis à ordonnance

Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la loi sur les produits thérapeutiques et de l’ordonnance sur les médicaments révisées le 1er janvier 2019, les pharmaciens peuvent remettre, sous certaines conditions, des médicaments soumis à ordonnance sans ordonnance médicale.

Changements dans les catégories de remise des médicaments

De manière générale, les médicaments ne peuvent être mis sur le marché que sur autorisation de Swissmedic, qui les répartit ensuite dans différentes catégories de remise.

Catégories de remise depuis le 1er janvier 2019

A : Remise sur ordonnance médicale ou vétérinaire non renouvelable
B : Remise sur ordonnance médicale ou vétérinaire
D : Remise sur conseil spécialisé
E : Remise sans conseil spécialisé

Dans le cadre de la révision de la loi sur les produits thérapeutiques (LPTh), le législateur a décidé de mieux mettre à profit les compétences professionnelles pour la remise des médicaments. La catégorie de remise C (remise sur conseil d’une personne exerçant une profession médicale) a donc été supprimée et la catégorie D étendue.
Ainsi, les conditions de remise des médicaments classés dans la catégorie B ont été assouplies, et la délimitation entre les catégories de médicaments soumis ou non à ordonnance médicale est maintenant moins stricte, sans pour autant menacer la sécurité de la prise en charge des patients. Les pharmaciens peuvent maintenant remettre certains médicaments de la catégorie B à des patients ne disposant pas d’ordonnance.

Remise par les pharmaciens, sans ordonnance médicale, de médicaments soumis à ordonnance

Médicaments de la catégorie de remise B

Le législateur a souhaité faciliter la remise par les pharmaciens de certains médicaments soumis à ordonnance. Jusqu’au 1er janvier 2019, les médicaments classés dans la catégorie de remise B ne peuvaient, en règle générale, être remis que par une personne exerçant une profession médicale, sur présentation d’une ordonnance médicale. Cependant, depuis le 1er janvier 2019, les pharmaciens peuvent remettre des médicaments de la catégorie B sans ordonnance médicale dans les cas suivants :

1. Médicaments classés dans la catégorie de remise C avant le 1er janvier 2019

La catégorie de remise C étant supprimée avec l’entrée en vigueur de la LPTh révisée, certains médicaments y figurant ont été transférés dans la catégorie B. Ces médicaments « transférés », alors soumis à ordonnance, peuvent être néanmoins remis par les pharmaciens sans ordonnance médicale. La liste des médicaments concernés est publiée sur le site Internet de Swissmedic, responsable de la reclassification :

Reclassification de certains médicaments : avancée des travaux

2. Médicaments indiqués dans le traitement de maladies fréquentes

Dans ce groupe sont compris certains médicaments utilisés pour traiter des maladies fréquentes et qui contiennent des principes actifs établis et autorisés depuis plusieurs années. Le Conseil fédéral, conseillé par un groupe d’experts, est en train de déterminer quels médicaments peuvent être remis par les pharmaciens sans ordonnance, dans quelles conditions et pour quelles indications (voir paragraphe suivant). Les indications, les médicaments correspondants et les autres modalités de remise sont publiés sur le site de l’OFSP  au fur et à mesure qu'ils sont approuvés.

3. Médicaments utilisés pour poursuivre un traitement de longue durée

Les médicaments qui permettent au patient de poursuivre un traitement de longue durée peuvent également être remis par les pharmaciens sans ordonnance, pendant un an après la première prescription médicale. Ce cas de figure s’applique en premier lieu au traitement des maladies chroniques.

Comme c’était déjà le cas, les pharmaciens peuvent continuer de remettre des médicaments soumis à ordonnance sans ordonnance médicale dans des cas exceptionnels justifiés.
Dans tous les cas présentés ci-dessus, les médicaments doivent être remis personnellement par le pharmacien, et l’acte doit être documenté. L’Association des pharmaciens cantonaux (APC) a édité une aide à l’exécution pour favoriser une application uniforme des dispositions dans tous les cantons (voir rubrique Documents).

Médicaments indiqués dans le traitement de maladies fréquentes

Un groupe d’experts, dénommé « Liste d’indications », est chargé de conseiller le Département fédéral de l’intérieur (DFI) pour établir la liste des indications et des médicaments pouvant être remis sans ordonnance par les pharmaciens, dans le cas du traitement de maladies fréquentes.

Procédure d’évaluation

La qualité de la prise en charge des patients et leur sécurité lors de l’utilisation des médicaments sont des critères primordiaux pris en compte lors de l’évaluation.

Le groupe d’experts procède de la manière suivante pour dresser la liste des indications et des médicaments correspondants :

·        Proposition d’une liste d’indications et de médicaments de la catégorie B pouvant être remis sans ordonnance par les pharmaciens.

·        Sélection d’une indication à traiter par un comité du groupe d’experts :

o   Consultation des sociétés médicales spécialisées correspondantes et d'autres experts externes si nécessaire.

o   Délibération finale sur la liste des médicaments par le groupe d’experts en s’appuyant sur les recommandations des spécialistes externes, sur des critères scientifiques et sur des expériences pratiques.

·        La liste des médicaments recommandés pour chaque indication est soumise pour approbation au Conseil fédéral/au DFI.

·        Révision périodique de la liste des médicaments.

Indication rhinite et rhino-conjonctivite allergiques saisonnières

Les experts ont établi la première liste des médicaments de la catégorie B pouvant être remis par les pharmaciens sans ordonnance médicale, indiqués dans le cas d’une rhinite et rhino-conjonctivite allergiques saisonnières.
La Société suisse d’allergologie et d’immunologie (SSAI) et la Société suisse d’oto-rhino-laryngologie (SSORL) ont été à ce propos consultées.
En se fondant sur les critères mentionnés plus haut, le groupe d’experts a adopté une liste de médicaments qui a été approuvée par le Conseil fédéral / le DFI.

La liste peut être consultée ci-après :

Les listes des médicaments concernant d'autres indications sont en train d'être élaborées, et seront publiées sur cette page dès leur approbation par le Conseil fédéral.  

Dernière modification 14.05.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division biomédicine
Section Droits des produits thérapeutiques
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/medizin-und-forschung/heilmittel/abgabe-von-arzneimitteln.html