Regulations for clinical trials of medical devices

Switzerland has adapted its medical devices regulations to the EU rules in the interests of patient safety and EU market access for the Swiss medical devices industry. The changes will also have implications for human research legislation.

What are medical devices?

Items as varied as plasters, hospital beds, cardiac pacemakers, disinfectants and x-ray equipment, have one thing in common: they are all medical devices. In other words, they are products “which are intended to have, or are presented as having, a medical use and whose principal effect is not obtained with a medicinal product” (Therapeutic Products Act, TPA, Art. 4 let. b).

As a result of the new EU rulings, products that are used without a medical purpose will be considered to be medical devices if they are used as such or are associated with similar risks, for example coloured contact lenses that do not correct vision.

EU Regulation on Medical Devices

In 2012 the EU Commission presented for discussion a draft for stricter rules for medical devices. This had been prompted by various serious incidents – for example flawed silicone breast implants and defective hip implants.

In 2017 the EU finally approved two regulations, one on medical devices (MDR) and one on in vitro diagnostic devices (IVDR). These have been coming into force in stages since 26 November 2017.

You can find more information about these regulations and the changes to Swiss law on the website on the Therapeutic Products Act (TPA). This is the law mainly affected by these changes.

Better quality assurance for medical devices

The rules are primarily designed to better protect patients from defective medical devices. Consequently, manufacturers will have to submit stronger scientific evidence to substantiate the safety and quality of their devices before being allowed to place them on the market. They must also continue to collect data after the products are placed on the market. This is why the laws and ordinances relating to human research were also adapted as part of the revision of the TPA. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the amended rules entered into force on 26 May 2021, one year later than planned, at the same time as the EU-MDR.

EU rules affect the law on human research and its implementation

Switzerland and the EU pursue the same objectives when it comes to regulating research:

  • Protect affected persons
  • Promote quality and transparency of research
  • Ensure a regulatory environment that is as favourable to research as possible

The EU embodies these objectives in the context of market access to medical devices, whereas the HRA regulates the research independently of market access. There is a need for action at implementation level: the cantonal ethics committees and Swissmedic implement the procedures for approving and reviewing research projects involving medical devices. They will now have to adapt and, in some cases, reorganise these procedures.

Certain EU definitions are now incorporated into Swiss law. For example, the definition of a "clinical trial" with a medical device now corresponds to the definition of a "clinical investigation" in the MDR.  The categorization of individual research projects also changes. The transparency requirements of the MDR go further than in Switzerland, especially with regard to the documents of the approval procedure and the publication of the research results.

Ordinance on clinical trials with medical devices  

The definitions in the EU rules prompted the Federal Council to propose a new “Ordinance on clinical trials with medical devices (ClinO-MD)”. The ClinO-MD will conveniently list in one legal text all the provisions relating to research with medical devices.

The consultation for the amended ordinance took place from 15 May to 5 September 2019.

The amended human research regulations were scheduled to enter into force in May 2020, but were postponed to 26 May, 2021 as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Inclusion of clinical trials with in vitro diagnostics (IVDs) in the ClinO-MD

Since 26 May 2022, clinical trials with IVDs in Switzerland have been regulated in the ClinO-MD and no longer in the ClinO.

The title of the ordinance (Ordinance on Clinical Trials with Medical Devices, ClinO-MD) remains unchanged despite the inclusion of IVDs, as under the HRA IVDs are also deemed medical devices.

Since 26 May 2022, the ClinO-MD has therefore governed clinical trials involving devices as defined in the Medical Devices Ordinance (MedDO) (‘clinical investigations’) and involving devices as defined in the In-vitro Diagnostic Medical Device Regulation (IVDR) (‘performance studies’). Since this date, the Clinical Trials Ordinance (ClinO) has only contained provisions for clinical trials with medicinal products, transplant products and transplantation, and other clinical trials.    

You can find more information on this on the website on the Therapeutic Products Act (TPA).

Implementation of the regulations in the European Union

The FOPH is actively monitoring developments in the European Union regarding the EU regulations on medical devices. Starting in August 2019, the FOPH will publish regular updates on the implementation of the regulations in the EU and its member states. The reports will appear in English and can be found under the heading ‘Documents’.

Further information on the implementation of ClinO-MD

On the website of the Coordination Office for Research on Human Beings, you will find further up-to-date information on the new ordinance ClinO-MD and the current status of its implementation in Switzerland. The websites of Swissmedic and swissethics provide up-to-date practical information on applications for clinical trials with medical devices.

Further information

Revision of Swiss medical devices legislation

Switzerland has comprehensively revised its medical devices legislation in close correlation with the EU Regulations on medical devices, thereby increasing the safety and quality of medical devices.

The evolution of human research legislation

The federal legislation on human research replaces a confusing and incomplete array of different laws, implementing an article of the Federal Constitution that allows the Confederation to enact rules governing research.

Last modification 10.06.2022

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Human Research Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen/regelungen-medizinprodukte.html

Réglementations sur les essais cliniques de dispositifs médicaux

La Suisse a adapté sa réglementation sur les dispositifs médicaux à la réglementation de l’UE pour garantir la sécurité des patients et l’accès au marché européen à l’industrie suisse des dispositifs médicaux. Ces modifications influent sur le droit relatif à la recherche sur l’être humain.

Qu’est-ce qu’un dispositif médical ?

Les pansements, les lits d’hôpitaux, les stimulateurs cardiaques, les désinfectants et les appareils de radiographie ont un point commun : ces objets sont tous des dispositifs médicaux. Selon la loi sur les produits thérapeutiques (art. 4, let. b), il s’agit des produits « destinés à un usage médical, ou présentés comme tels, dont l’action principale n'est pas obtenue par un médicament ».

Désormais, d’après la réglementation européenne, cette définition englobe les produits sans but médical mais utilisés comme des dispositifs médicaux ou présentant les mêmes risques, comme les lentilles de contact colorées sans correction visuelle, par exemple.

Règlement européen sur les dispositifs médicaux

Motivée par des incidents préoccupants causés par des implants mammaires en silicone et des prothèses de hanche défectueux, la Commission européenne a ouvert le débat, en 2012, sur une réglementation plus stricte des dispositifs médicaux.

En 2017, l’UE a finalement adopté deux règlements, l’un relatif aux dispositifs médicaux (RDM-UE) et l’autre sur les dispositifs médicaux de diagnostic in vitro (RDIV-UE). Leur entrée en vigueur a lieu de manière échelonnée depuis le 26 novembre 2017.

Pour plus d’informations concernant ces deux règlements et les adaptations du droit suisse, consulter la page Internet relative à la loi sur les produits thérapeutiques (LPTh), principalement concernée par ces adaptations.

Meilleure qualité des dispositifs médicaux

La réglementation vise principalement à mieux protéger les patients des dispositifs médicaux défectueux. Ainsi, les fabricants devront produire davantage de preuves scientifiques concernant la sécurité et la qualité de leurs produits avant de pouvoir les mettre sur le marché. Ils devront continuer à collecter des données même après la commercialisation. C’est pourquoi les dispositions de la loi et des ordonnances relatives à la recherche sur l’être humain ont également été adaptées dans le cadre de la révision de la LPTh. En raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, les modifications sont entrées en vigueur le 26 mai 2021, en même temps que le RDM-UE, soit un an plus tard que prévu.

La réglementation de l’UE influence la loi et les ordonnances relatives à la recherche sur l’être humain

La Suisse et l’UE poursuivent les mêmes objectifs en réglementant la recherche :

  • protéger les personnes concernées
  • garantir la qualité et la transparence
  • instaurer le cadre le plus favorable possible à la recherche

L’UE a associé ces objectifs à l’accès au marché des dispositifs médicaux ; en Suisse, la LRH réglemente la recherche indépendamment de l’accès au marché. Il y a lieu d’adapter les modalités de mise en œuvre : les commissions cantonales d’éthique et Swissmedic gèrent les procédures relatives à l’autorisation et au contrôle des essais cliniques de dispositifs médicaux. Ils doivent à présent les adapter et en partie les réorganiser.

Certaines définitions de l'UE sont désormais intégrées dans le droit suisse. Par exemple, la définition d'un "essai clinique" avec un dispositif médical correspond maintenant à la définition d'une "investigation clinique" dans le RDM-UE.  La catégorisation des projets de recherche individuels change également. Les exigences de transparence du RDM-UE vont plus loin qu'en Suisse, notamment concernant les documents à fournir pour la procédure d’autorisation ainsi que la publication des résultats de la recherche.

Ordonnance sur les essais cliniques de dispositifs médicaux  

Les définitions employées dans la réglementation de l’UE amènent le Conseil fédéral à proposer une nouvelle « ordonnance sur les essais cliniques de dispositifs médicaux (OClin-Dim) ». L’OClin-Dim réunira toutes les dispositions sur la recherche effectuée à partir de dispositifs médicaux.

La consultation relative au nouveau droit d’exécution a eu lieu du 15 mai au 5 septembre 2019.

L’entrée en vigueur des dispositions révisées de la réglementation relative à la recherche sur l’être humain était prévue pour mai 2020, mais a été reportée au 26 mai 2021 en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19.

Inclusion des essais cliniques de dispositifs médicaux de diagnostic in vitro (DIV) dans l’OClin-Dim

Depuis le 26 mai 2022, les essais cliniques avec des DIV en Suisse sont régis par l'OClin-Dim et non plus par l'OClin.

Malgré l’ajout des DIV dans l’ordonnance, son titre (ordonnance sur les essais cliniques de dispositifs médicaux, OClin-Dim) restera inchangé, car conformément à la LPTh, les dispositifs médicaux de diagnostic in vitro sont des dispositifs médicaux.

Depuis le 26 mai 2022, l’OClin-Dim règle donc les essais cliniques de produits au sens de l’ordonnance sur les dispositifs
médicaux (ODim) (« essais cliniques ») et du règlement relatif aux dispositifs médicaux de diagnostic in vitro (RDIV-UE) (« études de performance »). Depuis cette date, l’ordonnance sur les essais cliniques (OClin) ne comporte plus que des dispositions relatives aux essais cliniques de médicaments, de transplants et de transplantation ainsi qu’à d’autres essais cliniques.

Vous trouverez plus d'informations à ce sujet sur le site web de la Loi sur les produits thérapeutiques (LPTh).

Mise en œuvre des réglementations européennes

L’OFSP suit activement l’évolution des réglementations européennes sur les dispositifs médicaux. Depuis août 2019, il informe régulièrement sur leur mise en œuvre dans les États membres de l’UE. Les rapports, rédigés en anglais, sont disponibles sous l’onglet « Documents ».

Informations complémentaires sur l’application de l’OClin-Dim

Le site web de l’organe de coordination à la recherche sur l'être humain fournit de plus amples informations sur la nouvelle ordonnance OClin-Dim et l'état actuel de sa mise en œuvre en Suisse. Les sites web de Swissmedic et de swissethics fournissent des informations pratiques sur les demandes d'essais cliniques de dispositifs médicaux.

Documents

Communiqués

Informations complémentaires

Révision du droit suisse des dispositifs médicaux

La Suisse a entièrement remanié son droit des dispositifs médicaux en s’inspirant largement des règlements de l’UE. La sécurité et la qualité des dispositifs médicaux sont ainsi améliorées.

Droit relatif à la recherche sur l’être humain : genèse

La loi relative à la recherche sur l’être humain remplace le droit précédent, confus et lacunaire. Elle met en œuvre l’art. 118b Cst. habilitant la Confédération à légiférer au sujet de la recherche.

Dernière modification 12.10.2022

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Biomédecine
Section Recherche sur l’être humain
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen/regelungen-medizinprodukte.html