Clinical trials on medicinal products for human use in the EU

As of January 31, 2022, new regulations for clinical trials of medicinal products came into force in the EU/EEA area. This change does not directly affect the conduct of clinical trials with medicinal products in Switzerland.

Even after January 31, 2022, the Clinical Trials Ordinance (ClinO, SR 810.305) will apply to the conduct of clinical trials with medicinal products in Switzerland. Applications must continue to be submitted via the existing information systems of the Swiss enforcement authorities - cantonal ethics committees and Swissmedic.

In the European Union and the European Economic Area (EU/EEA area), clinical trials are uniformly regulated by Regulation (EU) No. 536/2014 on clinical trials on medicinal products for human use from January 31, 2022. This regulation has replaced the existing Directive 2001/20/EC. Regulation (EU) No. 536/2014 was already adopted by the EU Parliament on April 16, 2014, but due to delays in the technical implementation of the electronic portal "Clinical Trial Information System" (CTIS), came into force only almost 8 years later. Regulation (EU) No. 536/2014 harmonizes the authorization procedure within the EU.

The FOPH has always closely followed developments regarding the implementation of the Regulation within the EU and its member states. From 2014 to 2019 and also for the period from August 2022 up until 2025, the SFL-Services company has been reporting regularly to the FOPH on this subject. The reports are written in English and can be downloaded below under "Documents".

In the context of the revision of the ordinance law on the Human Research Act, selective adaptations to the EU regulations are being examined.

Comparison of Swiss and EU legislation

Christoph A. Zenger compared the Swiss federal legislation on human research and Regulation (EU) No. 536/2014 on behalf of the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) in 2014. His report was published in German with a summary in French, Italian and English. The report and the summary can be accessed under “Documents”.

Study on the impact of the EU regulation on clinical trials with medicinal products for human use on Switzerland

Following the jurisprudential comparison between Regulation (EU) No. 536/2014 and the current Swiss legislation on human research, the FOPH had commissioned a multidisciplinary study to investigate the possible implications for Switzerland of the EU Regulation following its implementation. This was published in March 2019. The economic relevance of drug research first had to be established so that the possible legal challenges could then be highlighted – for example, the need to ascertain the views of stakeholders and their expectations regarding the legislation. The study was conducted by a consortium headed by Prof. Michael Hahn from the Institute of European and International Economic Law at the University of Bern (IEW). The report was published in German with a summary in French, Italian and English. The report and the summary can be accessed under “Documents”.

Last modification 22.09.2022

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Human Research Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen/klinische-pruefungen-humanarzneimitteln-eu.html

Essais cliniques de médicaments à usage humain dans l'UE

Dès le 31 janvier 2022, de nouvelles réglementations concernant les essais cliniques de médicaments sont entrées en vigueur dans l'espace UE/EEE. Ce changement n'a pas d'impact direct sur la réalisation d'essais cliniques de médicaments en Suisse.

Après le 31 janvier 2022, la réalisation d'essais cliniques de médicaments en Suisse demeure régie par l'ordonnance sur les essais cliniques (OClin, RS 810.305). Les demandes continuent d'être soumises via les systèmes d'information existants des autorités d'exécution suisses – les commissions d'éthique cantonales et Swissmedic.

Dans l'Union européenne et l'Espace économique européen (UE/EEE), les essais cliniques sont régis de manière uniforme depuis le 31 janvier 2022 par le règlement (UE) n° 536/2014 relatif aux essais cliniques de médicaments à usage humain. Celui-ci remplace la directive 2001/20/CE. Le règlement (UE) n° 536/2014 a été adopté par le Parlement européen le 16 avril 2014, mais n'est entré en vigueur que 8 ans plus tard en raison de retards dans la mise en œuvre technique du portail électronique "Clinical Trial Information System" (CTIS). Le règlement (UE) n° 536/2014 harmonise la procédure d'autorisation au sein de l'UE.

L’OFSP a toujours suivi de près les développements concernant l’implémentation du règlement au sein de l’UE ainsi que dans ses États-membres. De 2014 à 2019, ainsi que depuis août 2022 jusqu’en 2025, la société SFL-Services rend des rapports réguliers à l’OFSP à ce sujet. Les rapports sont rédigés en anglais et peuvent être téléchargés ci-dessous sous l’onglet « Documents ».

Dans le cadre de la révision de l'ordonnance relative à la loi sur la recherche sur l'être humain, des adaptations ponctuelles aux réglementations de l'UE sont à l'étude.

Comparaison entre les législations suisse et européenne

En 2014, Christoph A. Zenger a effectué, à l’attention de l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP), une comparaison entre la législation fédérale relative à la recherche sur l’être humain et le règlement (UE) n° 536/2014. Le rapport a été rédigé en allemand, avec un résumé en français, en italien et en anglais. Ces documents peuvent être téléchargés sous l’onglet « Documents ».

Etude sur les conséquences pour la Suisse du règlement de l'UE sur les essais cliniques de médicaments à usage humain

Suite à la comparaison juridique entre le règlement (UE) n° 536/2014 avec l’actuelle législation suisse en matière de recherche sur l’être humain, l’OFSP a fait élaborer une étude multidisciplinaire analysant les conséquences que cet acte européen, s’il était appliqué, pourrait avoir sur notre pays. Celle-ci fut publiée en mars 2019. L’étude avait pour but premier de faire ressortir la pertinence économique de la recherche sur les médicaments, puis, sur cette base, de mettre en lumière les éventuels problèmes juridiques posés par une telle recherche et, enfin, de recueillir les avis des parties prenantes et leurs attentes vis-à-vis du législateur. L’étude a été rédigée par un consortium d’experts, sous la direction du Pr Michael Hahn, de l’Institut de droit européen et de droit international économique de l’université de Berne (IEW). Le rapport a été rédigé en allemand, avec un résumé en français, en italien et en anglais. Ces documents peuvent être téléchargés sous l’onglet « Documents ».

Dernière modification 11.06.2024

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Biomédecine
Section Recherche sur l’être humain
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen/klinische-pruefungen-humanarzneimitteln-eu.html