Evaluation of the Human Research Act

The Federal Office of Public Health ordered an analysis of the effectiveness of the Human Research Act (HRA). The results of the evaluation form the basis for several proposals for improvement.

As part of the evaluation, the FOPH analysed over the course of the past few years the specific effects of the Human Research Act. The question at the core of the evaluation was whether the aims of the HRA are being achieved: primarily the protection of research participants and of persons who make their health-related data or their blood or tissue samples available for research. On the other hand, the HRA is also intended to create favourable conditions for human research. And, last but not least, it aims to help ensure quality and transparency in human research. The FOPH’s centralised “Evaluation and Research Service”, which is independent of the main units, was in charge of the evaluation; it commissioned the Institute of Political Science of the University of Zurich, in collaboration with KEK-CDC Consultants, with carrying it out.

In addition to the evaluation team’s own surveys, the evaluation report for the attention of the Federal Council also includes the results of individual research projects, the so-called “departmental research projects”. These projects were instigated by the FOPH’s Human Research Section between 2012 and 2019.
The evaluation report concludes that the human research regulations are fundamentally appropriate but that there is room for improvement. It specifies 13 recommendations.

The FOPH has evaluated the results of the evaluation and submitted several proposals for further action to the Federal Council (see FOPH report). On 6 December 2019, the Federal Council acknowledged the results of the evaluation and decided to undertake a partial revision of the HRA’s ordinance legislation. A bill for consultation is to be made available to the Federal Council in 2020. At the same time, measures to improve enforcement are to be defined and implemented in coordination with the cantons and the enforcement authorities.

The following items will be at the centre of the ordinance legislation’s planned revision:

  • with regard to organising implementation, the tasks and powers of the enforcement authorities;
  • in the context of research with health-related personal data and biological material, information for and consent from affected persons;
  • with regard to international developments, EU legislation; and finally
  • transparency in the context of the publication of research results.

Press releases

Java script is required to display press releases. If you are unable or unwilling to activate Java script you may use the link below to access the Federal Administration News Portal, where you can read the announcements.

To the Federal Administration News Portal

Legislation

Human research legislation

In Switzerland, research involving humans is governed by the Human Research Act and its implementing ordinances. The legislation is primarily designed to safeguard the dignity, privacy and health of people involved in research.

Further information

Departmental research projects on the Human Research Act

As part of departmental research efforts into human research the FOPH commissions studies on specific issues. The findings form the basis of the evaluation of the law. An overview of the projects so far can be found here.

Last modification 04.12.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Human Research Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen/evaluation-humanforschungsgesetz.html

Loi relative à la recherche sur l'être humain: évaluation

L’OFSP a fait évaluer l’efficacité de la loi relative à la recherche sur l’être humain (LRH). Les résultats serviront de base pour des propositions d’amélioration.

Dans le cadre de ses tâches d’évaluation, l’OFSP a, ces dernières années, examiné la manière dont la LRH déploie concrètement ses effets et vérifié si les buts qu’elle s’était fixés étaient atteints. La loi garantit-elle la protection des personnes qui participent à des projets de recherche ou qui mettent à la disposition des chercheurs leurs données de santé ou leurs échantillons de sang ou de tissus ? Veille-t-elle à offrir des conditions cadre favorables dans la recherche ? Enfin, la qualité et la transparence sont-elles assurées dans ce domaine ? Le service Évaluation et recherche (E+F) de l’OFSP, centralisé et indépendant des unités, a été chargé de cette évaluation dont il a confié la réalisation à l’Institut des sciences politiques de l’Université de Zurich et à la société KEK-CDC Consultants Zurich.

Outre les propres conclusions de l’équipe E+F, le rapport établi à l’intention du Conseil fédéral réunit également les résultats de projets de recherche individuels «projets de recherche sectorielle», commandés par la section Recherche sur l’être humain de l’OFSP pour les années 2012 à 2019.
Le rapport d’évaluation conclut que les réglementations en matière de recherche sur l’être humain sont, de manière générale, appropriées mais que des améliorations supplémentaires sont nécessaires, d’où la formulation de treize recommandations.

À partir de l’appréciation qu’il a faite des résultats de l’évaluation, l’OFSP a soumis au Conseil fédéral des propositions pour la suite des travaux (voir rapport de l’OFSP). Le 6 décembre 2019, le Conseil fédéral a lui-même pris connaissance des résultats de l’évaluation et décidé de procéder à une révision partielle des ordonnances d’exécution de la LRH. Un projet de consultation devra lui être soumis à ce sujet d’ici en 2020. En parallèle, des mesures seront déterminées de concert avec les cantons et les autorités d’exécution pour améliorer l’application de la LRH.

L’adaptation prévue du droit d’exécution privilégiera les points suivants :

  • organisation de l’exécution : tâches et compétences des autorités d’exécution ;
  • recherche avec des données de santé et du matériel biologique : information et consentement des personnes concernées ;
  • évolutions internationales : législation au sein de l’UE ; et enfin
  • transparence : publication des résultats de la recherche.

Communiqués

Javascript est requis pour afficher les communiqués de presse. Si vous ne pouvez ou ne souhaitez pas activer Javascript, veuillez utiliser le lien ci-dessous pour accéder au portail d’information de l’administration fédérale.

Vers le portail d’information de l’administration fédérale

Législation

Recherche sur l’être humain : législation

La loi relative à la recherche sur l’être humain et ses ordonnances réglementent ce domaine en Suisse. Le but de la législation est de protéger l’être humain, sa dignité, sa personnalité et sa santé dans la recherche.

Informations complémentaires

Loi relative à la recherche sur l'être humain: recherche sectorielle

Pour la recherche sur l'être humain, l'OFSP commande, à des fins de recherche sectorielle, des études sur des questions spécifiques. Les résultats obtenus forment la base pour évaluer la loi. Ci-après, un aperçu des projets réalisés.

Rapports d'évaluation sur «Biomédecine et recherche»

Vous trouvez ici les rapports d’évaluations sur le thème «Biomédecine et recherche».

Dernière modification 06.12.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Biomédecine
Section Recherche sur l’être humain
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen/evaluation-humanforschungsgesetz.html