The evolution of human research legislation

In 2014, federal legislation on human research replaced a confusing and incomplete array of different laws, implementing Article 118b of the Swiss Federal Constitution, under which the Confederation may enact national legislation governing research.

Constitutional basis

Switzerland’s legislation on research involving humans goes back to a motion in parliament in 1998 calling for a uniform regulatory framework to be created at federal level to replace a confusing and sometimes inconsistent array of federal and cantonal laws. The aim was to safeguard human rights while at the same time not impeding meaningful research on human beings.

To give the Confederation comprehensive authority to regulate human research under the federal system of governance, in 2003 there was a motion in parliament commissioning the formulation of a corresponding new constitutional norm. The new article of the Federal Constitution of the Swiss Confederation, 118b on research on human beings, was passed by parliament on 25 September 2009. It was accepted on 7 March 2010 with 77.2% of citizens and all the cantons voting yes.

Article 118b of the federal constitution grants the Confederation the power to legislate on research on human beings where – and only where – this is required to protect the dignity, privacy and health of people involved in research. Secondarily the Confederation should preserve the freedom to conduct research and take account of the importance of research to health and society. Article 118b also lays down principles in relation to biological and medical research involving humans. Participants must always give their informed consent; the risks and stress for the participants must not be disproportionate; special protective safeguards must be in place for research involving people lacking the capacity to consent (for example children); and all research projects have to be assessed independently to determine whether the safety of participants is guaranteed.

The Human Research Act

The Federal Act on Research involving Human Beings (Human Research Act or HRA for short) was drafted parallel to, and concretises, Article 118b of the constitution. The law is designed to safeguard the dignity, privacy and health of people involved in research. Provided protection is afforded, the law is also designed to create favourable conditions for research involving human beings and ensure quality and transparency.

In line with the constitutional basis and the goal of comprehensive regulation, the law defines the term “research involving humans” broadly. In addition to research involving persons, it also covers research involving biological material of human origin, personal data, deceased persons, and human embryos and foetuses.

The Human Research Act was passed by parliament on 30 September 2011. The Council of States approved it unanimously, and the National Council voted 189 to 7 in favour. The act entered into force along with the accompanying ordinances on 1 January 2014.

Implementing ordinances

The implementing ordinances accompanying the Federal Human Research Act lay down more precisely the ethical, scientific and legal requirements that have to be taken into account when conducting research on human beings. They build on the risk-adapted approach to regulation adopted in the federal constitution and law.

There are three implementing ordinances: the Clinical Trials Ordinance, the Human Research Ordinance and the HRA Organisation Ordinance, which sets down the rules governing the cantonal ethics committees.

Legislation

Human research legislation

In Switzerland, research involving humans is governed by the Human Research Act and its implementing ordinances. The legislation is primarily designed to safeguard the dignity, privacy and health of people involved in research.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Human Research Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen/entstehung-humanforschungsgesetz.html

Droit relatif à la recherche sur l’être humain : genèse

La législation relative à la recherche sur l’être humain a remplacé en 2014 les dispositions lacunaires et confuses dans ce domaine. Elle met en œuvre l'art. 118b Cst. habilitant la Confédération à légiférer au sujet de la recherche.

Base constitutionnelle

La loi relative à la recherche sur l’être humain fait suite à une interpellation parlementaire datant de 1998. Cette dernière demandait que, pour remplacer la situation juridique confuse et partiellement incohérente aux niveaux fédéral et cantonal, soit créée au niveau fédéral une réglementation uniforme qui, tout en protégeant les droits de l'homme n’empêche pas les projets de recherche utiles sur l’être humain.

Pour donner à la Confédération la compétence globale de réglementer la recherche sur l’être humain dans le cadre du système fédéraliste, une interpellation parlementaire donnait pour mandat, en 2003, d’élaborer une nouvelle disposition constitutionnelle appropriée. Adopté par le Parlement le 25 septembre 2009, le nouvel art. 118b Cst. « Recherche sur l’être humain » a été approuvé par le peuple suisse le 7 mars 2010 par 77,2 % de voix.

Cet article donne à la Confédération la compétence de réglementer la recherche sur l’être humain uniquement dans la mesure où la dignité, la personnalité ou la santé des personnes participant à la recherche est menacée. Ce faisant, la Confédération veille à la liberté de la recherche et tient compte de l’importance de la recherche pour la santé et la société. L'art. 118b fixe par ailleurs des principes pour la recherche biologique et médicale impliquant des personnes. Ainsi, la participation à des projets de recherche se fait toujours sur une base volontaire ; les risques et les contraintes ne doivent pas être disproportionnés ; des dispositions de protection spécifiques doivent être respectées dans le cas de la recherche impliquant des personnes incapables de discernement (p. ex., des enfants) ; une expertise indépendante doit avoir établi que la protection des personnes participant aux projets est garantie.

Loi relative à la recherche sur l’être humain

Élaborée parallèlement à l'art. 118b Cst., la loi fédérale relative à la recherche sur l’être humain (LRH) concrétise l'article en question. La loi vise en premier lieu à protéger la dignité, la personnalité et la santé de l’être humain dans la recherche. Elle a également pour but d’aménager des conditions favorables à la recherche sur l'être humain, d’en garantir la qualité et d’en assurer la transparence.

Conformément à la base constitutionnelle et à l’objectif d’une réglementation complète, la loi s’appuie sur une acception large de la recherche sur l’être humain. Celle-ci englobe non seulement la recherche sur des personnes, mais aussi la recherche sur du matériel biologique d’origine humaine, des données personnelles, des personnes décédées ou encore des embryons et des fœtus humains.

Le 30 septembre 2011, la loi a été adoptée par le Parlement : approbation à l’unanimité pour le Conseil des États et par 189 voix contre 7 pour le Conseil national . Elle est entrée en vigueur en même temps que ses ordonnances d’exécution, le 1er janvier 2014.

Ordonnances d'exécution

Le droit d'exécution de la loi fédérale relative à la recherche sur l'être humain précise les exigences éthiques, scientifiques et juridiques qui doivent être prises en compte pour les projets de recherche. Il spécifie plus avant la réglementation en fonction des risques faite dans la Constitution et dans la loi.

Le droit d’exécution s’articule autour des trois ordonnances suivantes : l’ordonnance sur les essais cliniques, l’ordonnance sur la recherche sur l'être humain à l'exception des essais cliniques et l’ordonnance d’organisation qui contient notamment les prescriptions pour les commissions cantonales d’éthique.

Législation

Recherche sur l’être humain : législation

La loi relative à la recherche sur l’être humain et ses ordonnances réglementent ce domaine en Suisse. Le but de la législation est de protéger l’être humain, sa dignité, sa personnalité et sa santé dans la recherche.

Dernière modification 28.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Biomédecine
Section Recherche sur l’être humain
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen/entstehung-humanforschungsgesetz.html