Research involving humans

The term “research involving humans” refers to scientific research in areas such as medicine, psychology and biology. The main goal is to safeguard people, their dignity, privacy and health.

Fotolia_38422188_S

Benefits and risks of research involving humans

In addition to basic research, "research involving humans" focuses especially on understanding the causes of diseases and improving treatment options.

Research involving humans is of huge importance for our society, and has a bearing on personal and public health, the training of medical professionals, and diverse sectors of the economy.

But research involving humans also entails risks. For example people who make themselves available for tests of a new drug may suffer damage to their health. Another important consideration is that data gathered in the course of research relates to people’s physical characteristics and health, and therefore has to be subject to special safeguards.

For these reasons, research involving humans is governed by federal legislation. The main aim is to safeguard the health and rights of people taking part in research. A secondary aim of the regulations is to create a favourable framework for research and help assure quality and transparency.

An overview of the legislation

Since 1 January 2014 there has been a unified and comprehensive framework governing research involving humans, in the form of the Swiss Federal Human Research Act and its accompanying ordinances. While the legislation is at federal level, the main responsibility for applying it continues to lie with the cantons. In particular, cantonal ethics committees examine all projects involving research on humans before they are launched. In Switzerland, research involving humans can only be conducted with the authorisation of a cantonal ethics committee. Specific research projects involving drugs or medical devices also have to be reviewed and approved by Swissmedic, the Swiss agency for the authorisation and supervision of therapeutic products.

In essence the Human Research Act and accompanying ordinances significantly improve clarity and transparency by comparison with the various cantonal and federal rules that used to apply. They do much to assure the necessary improvements in professionalism and quality in this important but risky area of society.

Role of the FOPH

The FOPH’s main role is to help ensure efficient, uniform application of the law by coordinating the activities of the various approval bodies. It is also responsible for reviewing and evaluating the efficacy of the legal regulations. The FOPH is also in charge of generally keeping the law up to date. In particular this involves monitoring scientific and technical developments, and developments in domestic and international policy and their impact on current law.

The FOPH has separate websites with detailed information on the following areas related to the topic:

Human research legislation

In Switzerland, research involving humans is governed by the Human Research Act and its implementing ordinances. The legislation is primarily designed to safeguard the dignity, privacy and health of people involved in research.

The evolution of human research legislation

The federal legislation on human research replaces a confusing and incomplete array of different laws, implementing an article of the Federal Constitution that allows the Confederation to enact rules governing research.

Coordination Office for Human Research

The Coordination Office for Human Research (kofam) ensures that the ethics committees and other supervisory authorities are coordinated and communicate. It also informs the public about the work of the ethics committees.

Evaluation of the Human Research Act

The Federal Office of Public Health is responsible for evaluating the efficacy of the Human Research Act (HRA). The results of this evaluation form the basis of any suggested improvements.

Clinical trials on medicinal products for human use in the EU

From 2019 there will be new regulations in the EU governing clinical trials on medicinal products. The FOPH is assessing the impact of these new rules on research in Switzerland and closely monitoring further developments.

Portal for clinical trials in Switzerland (SNCTP)

Clinical trials in Switzerland must be published on the research portal. The online portal has been redesigned to facilitate this procedure. The portal can be found on the website of the Portal for Human Research (www.kofam.ch), which is operated by the FOPH.

Legislation

Human research legislation

In Switzerland, research involving humans is governed by the Human Research Act and its implementing ordinances. The legislation is primarily designed to safeguard the dignity, privacy and health of people involved in research.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Human Research Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

The FOPH operates the Coordination Office for Human Research (kofam)

www.kofam.ch

E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen.html

Recherche sur l’être humain

La recherche sur l’être humain désigne la recherche scientifique, que ce soit en médecine, en psychologie ou en biologie. Le but premier de la législation est de protéger l’être humain, sa dignité, sa personnalité et sa santé.

Fotolia_38422188_S

Recherche sur l’être humain : bénéfices et risques

En plus de la recherche fondamentale, la «recherche sur l'être humain» vise principalement à comprendre les causes de la maladie et à améliorer les options thérapeutiques.

L’importance de cette branche est capitale pour la société. Elle l’est pour la santé individuelle et la santé publique, pour la formation de base et continue du personnel médical ainsi que pour divers domaines de l’économie.

Toutefois, la recherche sur l’être humain comporte également des risques. Par exemple, des personnes se proposant pour tester un nouveau médicament peuvent développer ensuite des problèmes de santé. Par ailleurs, les données recueillies dans le cadre de la recherche concernent des caractéristiques corporelles ou sanitaires et doivent donc être spécialement protégées.

C’est pourquoi, en Suisse, la recherche sur l’être humain est réglementée au niveau fédéral. La loi doit, d’une part, protéger la santé et les droits des personnes participants à la recherche et, d’autre part, favoriser des conditions favorables pour la recherche, sa qualité et sa transparence.

Aperçu de la législation

Depuis le 1er janvier 2014, la recherche sur l’être humain est réglementée au niveau fédéral de manière uniforme et exhaustive par la loi relative à la recherche sur l’être humain et ses ordonnances. Les principales tâches se rapportant à l’application de la loi sont du ressort des cantons. Ces derniers supervisent notamment les commissions cantonales d’éthique, qui sont chargées d’examiner tous les projets de recherche sur l’être humain depuis leur début. L’autorisation d’une commission d’éthique est indispensable pour réaliser un projet de recherche en Suisse.

Certains projets de recherches sur des médicaments ou des dispositifs médicaux doivent être examinés et autorisés par Swissmedic, l’Institut suisse des produits thérapeutiques.

Pour l’essentiel, la loi relative à la recherche sur l’être humain et ses ordonnances se distinguent des différentes réglementations cantonales et fédérales antérieures en apportant davantage de clarté et de visibilité. Elles contribuent ainsi considérablement à la professionnalisation et à l’amélioration de la qualité, deux aspects nécessaires dans ce domaine aussi important que délicat.

Tâches de l’OFSP

L’OFSP a principalement pour tâche de coordonner les travaux des différentes autorités de contrôle et de veiller à une application efficace et uniforme du droit. En outre, il examine l’efficacité du cadre légal (évaluation). Il se charge également des tâches relatives à l’ensemble de la législation. Il doit donc observer attentivement les évolutions scientifiques et techniques ainsi que les développements politiques nationaux et internationaux et surveiller leurs effets sur le droit en vigueur.

Des informations détaillées sur différents domaines en lien avec cette thématique sont disponibles sur d’autres pages Internet :

Droit relatif à la recherche sur l’être humain : genèse

La loi relative à la recherche sur l’être humain remplace le droit précédent, confus et lacunaire. Elle met en œuvre l’art. 118b Cst. habilitant la Confédération à légiférer au sujet de la recherche.

Organe de coordination de la recherche sur l’être humain

L’Organe de coordination de la recherche sur l’être humain (kofam) assure cohérence et échanges entre les commissions d’éthique et les autorités de contrôle. De plus, il informe le public des activités de ces commissions

Loi relative à la recherche sur l'être humain: évaluation

L'Office fédéral de la santé publique examine l'efficacité de loi relative à la recherche sur l'être humain. Les résultats d'évaluation forment la base pour d'éventuelles propositions d'amélioration.

Essais cliniques avec des médicaments à usage humain dans l'UE

Dès 2019, l'UE disposera de nouvelles réglementations pour les essais cliniques avec des médicaments. L'OFSP en évaluera les répercussions sur la recherche en Suisse et en suivra attentivement le développement.

Portail dédié à la recherche sur l’être humain en Suisse (SNCTP)

Les essais cliniques réalisés en Suisse doivent être publiés sur le portail en ligne prévu à cet effet. Cet outil a été optimisé pour qu’il soit plus facile d’y retrouver les essais cliniques répertoriés. Il se trouve sur le site de l’Organe de coordination de la recherche sur l’être humain (www.kofam.ch), géré par l’Office fédéral de la santé publique.

Législation

Recherche sur l’être humain : législation

La loi relative à la recherche sur l’être humain et ses ordonnances réglementent ce domaine en Suisse. Le but de la législation est de protéger l’être humain, sa dignité, sa personnalité et sa santé dans la recherche.

Dernière modification 28.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Biomédecine
Section Recherche sur l’être humain
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

L'OFSP gère l'organe de coordination de la recherche sur l'être humain (kofam)

www.kofam.ch

e-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/medizin-und-forschung/forschung-am-menschen.html