Roadmap for developing the next generation of clinical researchers

Until now, too little has been done to develop emerging clinical research talent. To redress the balance, a broad-based roadmap has been created with the aim of providing systematic support to research-oriented clinicians at all stages of their career. 

For a long time clinical research in Switzerland stood in the shadow of basic biomedical research. But in recent years numerous initiatives have been launched to boost clinical research and enhance its quality. A report produced in 2014 as part of the federal administration’s master plan to boost biomedical research and technology concluded that despite this, too little has been done so far to develop new clinical research.

Following this, a task force deployed by the FOPH translated the report’s recommendations into concrete measures, demarcated the relevant responsibilities, and defined a timeframe for the successful, sustainable implementation of the relevant measures.

Objectives of the roadmap

The 2016-21 roadmap for building up the future generation of clinical researchers (Link) encompasses a total of five work packages. They are designed to help close gaps in the career track for clinical researchers and provide them with opportunities for efficient high-level training. Ideally this should encourage an increasing number of young doctors to embark on this career track.

The roadmap is also relevant to many of the other objectives and measures designed to boost biomedical research and technology contained in the master plan, to the extent that doctors with a good scientific training doing clinical research occupy a key position between bench and bedside and thus represent the human capital driving biomedical research, technology and innovation.

Responsibilities and feedback

To boost efficiency and avoid duplication of effort, the planned actions build on existing infrastructures and expertise in clinical research. Responsibility for implementing the roadmap is shared by the local MD-PhD graduate schools, the SCTO with its network of clinical trial units, the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences (SAMS), the FOPH and unimedsuisse.

Publication of the roadmap was preceded by a broad consultation process. The feedback from this process is summarised in the consultation report (Link).

Timeframe and outlook

The planned measures are to be prepared and delivered from 2016 to 2018 so that a comprehensive clinical research training and support framework is in place from the autumn semester of 2018. The plan is to conduct and evaluation after the closely monitored three-year pilot phase.

Last modification 06.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/biomedizinische-forschung-und-technologie/masterplan-zur-staerkung-der-biomedizinischen-forschung-und-technologie/roadmap-nachwuchsfoerderung-klinische-forschung.html

Feuille de route pour promouvoir la relève dans la recherche clinique

La promotion de la relève dans la recherche clinique laisse à désirer. Une feuille de route très complète doit y remédier en encourageant systématiquement et à chaque étape de leur carrière les médecins qui s’orientent vers la recherche clinique.

En Suisse, la recherche clinique en biomédecine est longtemps restée dans l’ombre de la recherche fondamentale. Ces dernières années, de nombreuses initiatives ont été prises pour renforcer la recherche clinique et sa qualité. Un rapport publié en 2014 dans le cadre du Plan directeur de la Confédération visant à développer la recherche et la technologie biomédicales arrive à la conclusion que l’encouragement de la relève dans la recherche clinique laisse à désirer.

Un groupe de travail de l’OFSP a formulé des mesures concrètes, défini les compétences et établi un calendrier pour une mise en œuvre efficace et durable des recommandations émises dans ce rapport.

Objectifs de la feuille de route

La Feuille de route 2016-2021 pour promouvoir la relève dans la recherche clinique comporte cinq trains de mesures. Elle vise à combler les lacunes existantes dans la promotion des chercheurs cliniques et à leur offrir des possibilités de se former efficacement au plus haut niveau. Dans l’idéal, une telle structure devrait convaincre davantage de jeunes médecins d’opter pour une carrière dans la recherche clinique.

La feuille de route répond également à de nombreux autres objectifs et mesures énoncés dans le plan directeur. En effet, les médecins dotés d’une solide formation de base et spécialisée qui s’engagent dans la recherche clinique occupent une position charnière entre la recherche fondamentale et la recherche axée sur le patient, et représentent de ce fait un précieux capital humain pour la recherche, la technologie et l’innovation biomédicales.

Responsabilités et réactions recueillies

Pour éviter les doublons et gagner en efficacité, les activités prévues s’appuient sur les infrastructures et sur l’expertise scientifique existantes. Les programmes MD-PhD des cinq universités locales, le SCTO et le réseau des Clinical Trial Units se partagent la responsabilité pour la mise en œuvre de la feuille de route avec l’ASSM, l’OFSP et unimedsuisse.

La feuille de route a été publiée à l’issue d’une vaste procédure de consultation. Le rapport sur les résultats de la procédure résume les réactions recueillies.

Calendrier et perspectives

De 2016 à 2018, les mesures seront planifiées et réalisés de sorte qu’une structure complète de formation et de soutien dans le domaine de la recherche clinique sera opérationnelle à partir du semestre d’automne 2018. Une évaluation aura lieu après une phase pilote de trois ans.

Dernière modification 17.09.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division biomédecine
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/medizin-und-forschung/biomedizinische-forschung-und-technologie/masterplan-zur-staerkung-der-biomedizinischen-forschung-und-technologie/roadmap-nachwuchsfoerderung-klinische-forschung.html