Personalised medicine

Personalised medicine will not only include the disorder, but also information about biological characteristics (e.g. genetic data) and other health data relevant to the patient’s treatment.

What is personalised medicine?

Personalised medicine (also called precision medicine or individualised medicine) includes diagnostic, preventive and therapeutic measures that are optimally tailored to an individual person. Information (data) about a person’s biological characteristics, in particular genetic data, is included in the decision-making process for therapeutic and preventive measures relevant to the person’s treatment. It is hoped that such data-based, tailor-made treatments will provide more effective therapy with fewer side effects.

The concept of personalised health goes beyond personalised medicine; for example, it plays an important role in prevention. Personalised health focuses not only on patients but also on healthy people. In addition to information on a person's ‘biology’, additional health data are taken into account with the aim of improving prevention and health promotion, for example by earlier and more comprehensive identification of risk factors that can be influenced, and by developing measures for improving people’s health behaviour.

What are health data?

The term ‘health data’ (or health-related data) means data collected from various sources that may describe or influence a person's state of health. Health data includes information on people’s health (e.g. symptoms, allergies, impaired vision or hearing), on health care (e.g. medications, surgical procedures), data from conventional investigations (e.g. blood pressure, laboratory values, electrocardiography, X-rays), and results from genetic or other laboratory tests. Health data also involves information on lifestyle (e.g. nutrition, alcohol and drug use, smoking, exercise) and data on the environment (e.g. air and  water quality, second-hand smoke, exposure to noxious substances) as well as insurance data and socio-economic data.

FOPH-working group "Personalised Medicine"

In recent years, the FOPH has paid close attention to developments in the field of data-driven medicine. An internal working group, in which all FOPH departments are represented, issued a report in June 2017 on developments in data-driven medicine and the associated challenges and tasks for the FOPH (available in German and French). The report introduces the topic, highlights opportunities and risks, and presents an overview of current initiatives in the field of data-driven medicine in Switzerland. It also points out the interfaces and interactions of the topic with the activities and tasks of the FOPH together with the associated challenges. The report is an ‘evolving working paper’ and will be updated regularly by the working group.

A summary of the most important information about personalised medicine is available in the form of a fact sheet.

Last modification 17.09.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/biomedizinische-forschung-und-technologie/masterplan-zur-staerkung-der-biomedizinischen-forschung-und-technologie/personalisierte-medizin.html

Médecine personnalisée

La médecine personnalisée se fonde non seulement sur le tableau clinique, mais également sur le bagage biologique (données génétiques) et les données de santé de la personne à traiter.

En quoi consiste la médecine personnalisée ?

La médecine personnalisée (aussi appelée médecine de précision ou médecine individualisée) regroupe les mesures diagnostiques, préventives et thérapeutiques optimisées en fonction du patient. Elle consiste à prendre en compte des informations (des données) sur le bagage biologique d’une personne, en particulier ses caractéristiques génétiques, pour choisir les différentes mesures en question. Ces traitements axés sur les données et taillés sur mesure devraient être plus efficaces et générer moins d’effets secondaires.

L’approche de santé personnalisée va au-delà de la médecine personnalisée et joue notamment un rôle déterminant dans la prévention. Elle se concentre non seulement sur les patients mais également sur les individus sains, en combinant des informations biologiques et d’autres données sanitaires dans l’optique d’améliorer la prévention et la promotion de la santé. Cette approche permet ainsi d’identifier plus tôt et plus largement des facteurs influençables de maladie ou de développer des mesures pour induire des comportements sains.

Comment définir les données de santé ?

Par données de santé (ou liées à la santé), on entend les données issues de sources diverses qui, de près ou de loin, décrivent l’état de santé d’une personne ou s’y rapportent. Il peut s’agir d’informations sur l’état de santé proprement dit (symptômes, allergies, troubles visuels ou auditifs, etc.), sur les soins reçus (médicaments, interventions chirurgicales, etc.), de données issues d’examens médicaux traditionnels (pression artérielle, résultats d’analyses, électrocardiogramme, radiographie, etc.) ou de résultats de tests génétiques ou autres tests de laboratoire. Les données de santé englobent également les indications sur le mode de vie (alimentation, consommation d’alcool et de drogue, tabagisme, activité physique, etc.) et sur l’environnement (qualité de l’air et de l’eau, tabagisme passif, exposition à des agents nocifs, etc.) ainsi que les données des assurances et les caractéristiques socio-économiques.

Groupe de travail « Médecine personnalisée » de l'OFSP

Ces dernières années, l’OFSP s'est intéressé de près aux avancées de la médecine personnalisée. En juin 2017, un groupe de travail interne, dans lequel sont représentées toutes les unités de direction de l’office, a élaboré le rapport « Évolutions dans le domaine de la médecine axée sur les données ; enjeux et tâches pour l’OFSP ». Ce document présente la thématique, met en lumière les opportunités et les risques qui y sont liés et résume les initiatives dans le domaine de la médecine axée sur les données qui se déroulent actuellement en Suisse. Un autre chapitre est consacré aux recoupements entre la thématique et les tâches et activités de l’OFSP ainsi qu’aux défis que l’office doit relever. Le rapport se veut « évolutif » : il sera régulièrement mis à jour par le groupe de travail.

Une fiche d'information a également été publiée sur le sujet ; elle reprend les principaux points sur la médecine personnalisée.

Dernière modification 17.09.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division biomédecine
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/medizin-und-forschung/biomedizinische-forschung-und-technologie/masterplan-zur-staerkung-der-biomedizinischen-forschung-und-technologie/personalisierte-medizin.html