Boosting Switzerland as a centre of biomedical research and technology

Switzerland has a very good international position in terms of biomedical research and innovation. The federal government has adopted a master plan to boost this country’s strength in biomedical research and technology long term.

A lasting boost through targeted, coordinated measures

As part of efforts to further strengthen Switzerland’s standing, in 2013 the Federal Council approved a master plan designed to boost Switzerland as a centre of biomedical research and technology. The master plan involves the implementation between 2013 and 2020 of a total of 23 sector-specific measures designed to maintain and develop as good a framework as pos-sible for biomedical research and technology. At the same time it is intend-ed to enable people in Switzerland to physically benefit from the achieve-ments of biomedicine and give them affordable access to the latest bio-medical products.
The master plan impacts the entire chain, from research and development, clinical research, market entry for biomedical products, and pricing and reimbursement by social security, all the way to the availability of these products in day-to-day healthcare.

23 measures with different bodies responsible

The master plan initially comprised 21 measures covering education/training and continuing education, market entry and oversight, reimbursement by social security, orphan (rare) diseases and intellectual property (a list of measures can be found in the annex to the report). In 2016 two additional measures covering security of supply and medical devices were added. Various departments of the FOPH, the Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property (IPI), the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) and Swissmedic, the Swiss agency for the authorisation and super-vision of therapeutic products, are responsible for the measures.

Interim appraisal

At the end of 2018 the Federal Council did an interim appraisal of the mas-ter plan in the form of a review (see below under Documents). Overall, five years after approval of the master plan, implementation of the 23 measures is well on track. The goals defined for two-thirds of the measures have been achieved in full or at least in part, and substantial progress has been made on most of the others. The only measure where the defined goal has not been reached is assuring coverage of the costs of treatment and care in academically initiated clinical trials.  
The master plan has brought improvements not only within the individual themes, but also on an overarching level: viewing the system as a whole has proved to be extremely helpful in terms of coordinating the various areas. The master plan has helped create better understanding across of-fice and departmental boundaries. It has also proven its worth as a political instrument. The master plan has garnered considerable recognition interna-tionally in the context of competition between centres of biomedicine, and has been discussed with foreign delegations on a number of visits.

Federal Council decides to renew master plan

Given the importance of biomedical research and the industry for the Swiss economy and healthcare system, the Federal Council has resolved to con-tinue with the master plan, and has commissioned the Swiss Federal De-partment of Home Affairs (FDHA) to draft a new plan for 2020 to 2025. The list of measures to be implemented will be presented in 2020, and can be modified on an ongoing basis to reflect technological developments and the concerns of the stakeholders involved. The areas of focus include boosting clinical research, allowing affordable access to new biomedical products, and digital transformation.

The FDHA will work on the implementation of the 2020-25 master plan in tandem with the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER) and the Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP). There are also plans for a regular exchange of information with representatives of the various stakeholders.

Last modification 14.12.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/biomedizinische-forschung-und-technologie/masterplan-zur-staerkung-der-biomedizinischen-forschung-und-technologie.html

Renforcer la recherche et la technologie biomédicales

En comparaison internationale, la Suisse occupe une place de premier ordre dans la recherche et l’innovation en biomédecine. La Confédération s’engage avec un plan directeur afin de renforcer durablement la recherche et la technologie biomédicales en Suisse.

Renforcement durable grâce à des mesures ciblées et concertation entre les acteurs

Dans l’optique de consolider la place économique suisse, le Conseil fédéral a adopté le plan directeur « Mesures de la Confédération afin de renforcer la recherche et la technologie biomédicales » en 2013. Dans ce cadre, 23 mesures sectorielles sont mises en œuvre de 2013 à 2020, dans le but de créer et de maintenir des conditions-cadres aussi favorables que possible pour la recherche et la technologie biomédicales tout en garantissant à la population suisse un accès physique et facile aux acquis et aux nouveaux produits de la biomédecine.
Le champ d’application de ce plan directeur porte sur l’ensemble de la chaîne – de la recherche et du développement à la disponibilité des produits de la biomédecine dans les soins quotidiens, en passant par la recherche clinique, l’accès au marché de ces produits, la détermination de leur prix et leur remboursement par l’assurance sociale.

23 mesures, différentes responsabilités

Au départ, le plan directeur comptait 21 mesures portant sur la promotion de la recherche et de la relève, l’accès au marché et la surveillance, le remboursement par les assurances sociales, les maladies rares et la protection de la propriété intellectuelle (cf. liste des mesures à la fin du rapport). En 2016 se sont ajoutés la sécurité de l’approvisionnement et les dispositifs médicaux. La responsabilité de la conception et de la mise en œuvre du plan relève de différentes divisions de l’OFSP, de l’Institut fédéral pour la propriété intellectuelle (IPI), du Secrétariat d’État à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation (SEFRI) et de l’Institut suisse des produits thérapeutiques Swissmedic.

Bilan intermédiaire

Fin 2018, le Conseil fédéral a, sous forme d’état des lieux, tiré un bilan intermédiaire concernant la mise en œuvre du plan directeur (voir plus bas, onglet « Documents »). Cinq ans après l’adoption du plan directeur, la mise en œuvre des 23 mesures est, dans l’ensemble, en bonne voie. Le but défini a été atteint, ou au moins partiellement, pour deux tiers des mesures et, pour la majorité des autres, des avancées importantes ont été réalisées. Seule la mesure visant la garantie de la prise en charge des coûts du traitement et des soins dans les études cliniques initiées dans un contexte universitaire n’a pas abouti.
Le plan directeur a apporté des améliorations aussi bien dans les différents champs thématiques qu’à un niveau supérieur : l’examen global du système s’est révélé très efficace pour coordonner les divers domaines. Le plan a permis une meilleure compréhension par-delà les offices et les départements. Il a aussi fait ses preuves comme instrument politique. Enfin, il a suscité un certain intérêt dans le contexte de la concurrence internationale et a été présenté à des délégations étrangères à l’occasion de plusieurs visites.

Le Conseil fédéral renouvelle le plan directeur

En raison de l’importance de la recherche et de l’industrie biomédicales pour l’économie suisse, mais aussi pour le système de santé en général, le Conseil fédéral a décidé de reconduire le plan directeur. Il a chargé le Département fédéral de l’intérieur (DFI) d’élaborer un nouveau plan directeur pour les années 2020 à 2025. La liste des mesures à mettre en œuvre sera présentée en 2020 et pourra évoluer au fur et à mesure, selon les développements technologiques ou les demandes des groupes d’intérêts qui seront associés au projet. Des domaines comme le renforcement de la recherche clinique, l’accès aux nouveaux produits de la biomédecine dans des conditions abordables, ou la transformation numérique figurent parmi les axes prioritaires.

Le Département fédéral de l’intérieur (DFI) travaillera à la mise en œuvre du plan directeur 2020 – 2025 en collaboration avec le Département fédéral de l’économie, de la formation et de la recherche (DEFR) et le Département fédéral de justice et police (DFJP). Des tables rondes avec les représentants des groupes d’intérêts auront lieu chaque année, comme pour le précédent plan directeur, dans le but de favoriser l’échange d’informations.
 

Dernière modification 17.12.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division biomédecine
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/medizin-und-forschung/biomedizinische-forschung-und-technologie/masterplan-zur-staerkung-der-biomedizinischen-forschung-und-technologie.html