Biomedical research and technology

All over the world, biomedical research and technology are helping drive economic growth and assure high-quality healthcare. Switzerland is one of the world’s leading players in this domain. The Swiss Federal Council is setting up the optimum framework to make sure it remains ahead of the field.

Biomedical research and technology play a key role in Switzerland’s economy and healthcare system. The fact that this country is one of the world’s leading players in biomedicine is thanks to the successful interplay of many different factors – including education and research policy, the legal framework (for example the law governing human research), regulations governing market entry and supervision, social security cover, and rules designed to protect intellectual property. Added to this, qualities such as economic efficiency, political stability, attractive taxation, flexible employment laws and a high standard of living create a basis for Switzerland’s success as centre of business, research and innovation.

This country will only be able to maintain its leading international position in biomedicine and biomedical technology by carefully coordinating and nurturing all the relevant components and factors.

The role of the federal authorities

It is the job of the federal administration to maintain and develop as good a framework as possible for biomedical research and technology, and at the same time to enable people in Switzerland to physically benefit from the achievements of biomedicine and give them affordable access to the latest biomedical products. The FOPH plays a key role in this. It is responsible for the legal framework (for example in relation to human research, therapeutic products, cancer registers and e-patient dossiers), and is charged with ensuring that the healthcare system remains high-quality, effective and affordable.

Besides the FOPH, efforts to promote biomedicine and biomedical research also involve units of other departments, including the following:

  • The State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI), part of the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER) is the federal administration’s centre of competence for the domestic and international aspects of education, research and innovation policy.
  • The State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO), also part of the EAER, is responsible for business and economic development across industries, encouraging foreign companies to locate to Switzerland.
  • Swissmedic, the Swiss agency for the authorisation and supervision of therapeutic products, guarantees that only high-quality, safe and effective therapies are marketed in this country.
  • The Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property is the federal centre of competence for all matters related to patents, trademarks, indications of source, the protection of designs, and copyright.

A master plan for systematic, sustainable development

International competition in biomedical research and technology is expected to increase over the coming years. In response to requests from parliament, in 2013 the Federal Council presented a package of measures designed to boost Switzerland as a centre of biomedical research and technology. The master plan contains more than 20 actions covering the promotion of research and innovation, market entry, health insurance reimbursements, rare (orphan) diseases and intellectual property. The Department of Biomedicine at the FOPH is responsible for coordinating the master plan.

Last modification 06.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/medizin-und-forschung/biomedizinische-forschung-und-technologie.html

Recherche et technologie biomédicales

La Suisse occupe une place de premier plan en biomédecine. Le Conseil fédéral veille à lui ménager des conditions optimales afin qu’elle conserve ses atouts.

La recherche et la technologie biomédicales revêtent une importance majeure pour la santé publique et pour l'économie de la Suisse. Si notre pays occupe dans ce domaine une place de premier plan en comparaison internationale, il le doit à la conjonction de facteurs d’ordre très divers tels que les conditions de formation et de recherche, le cadre légal (p. ex., dans le domaine de la recherche sur l’être humain), la réglementation concernant l’accès au marché et la surveillance des médicaments, le remboursement par les assurances sociales, ainsi que le droit de la propriété intellectuelle. Son efficacité économique, sa stabilité politique, sa fiscalité attrayante, la flexibilité de son droit du travail et sa qualité de vie sont pour beaucoup dans la réussite de la Suisse en tant que place économique et scientifique et en tant que force d’innovation.

Seul le maintien et le développement de cet environnement favorable lui permettront de rester le pôle d’excellence en biomédecine et en biotechnologie qu’elle est actuellement.

Rôle de la Confédération

La Confédération doit maintenir et créer un environnement aussi propice que possible pour la recherche et la technologie biomédicales, tout en veillant à ce que la population suisse ait accès aux derniers progrès et aux nouveaux produits de la biomédecine dans des conditions abordables. Un rôle central à cet égard revient à l’OFSP, responsable du cadre légal (recherche sur l’être humain, dispositifs médicaux, registre des cancers, dossier électronique du patient) et chargé de veiller à ce que notre système de santé reste de qualité, performant et abordable.

D’autres unités participent également à la promotion de la recherche biomédicale en Suisse :

  • le Secrétariat d’État à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation (SEFRI) du Département fédéral de l’économie, de la formation et de la recherche (DEFR) est le centre de compétence de la Confédération pour les questions de politique de la formation, de la recherche et de l’innovation au plan national et international.
  • le Secrétariat d’État à l’économie (SECO) du DEFR assure la promotion de la place économique, toutes branches confondues, et encourage l’implantation d’entreprises étrangères en Suisse.
  • l’Institut suisse des produits thérapeutiques Swissmedic veille à ce que les produits thérapeutiques mis sur le marché en Suisse soient de qualité irréprochable, sûrs et efficaces.
  • l’Institut fédéral de la propriété intellectuelle (IPI) est le centre de compétences de la Confédération pour toutes les questions touchant à la propriété intellectuelle (brevets, marques, indications de provenance, droits d’auteur).

Un plan directeur pour une promotion ciblée et durable

Dans les années à venir, la concurrence internationale en biomédecine con-tinuera de se durcir. Afin que la Suisse reste compétitive, le Conseil fédé-ral, à la demande du Parlement, a présenté en 2013 des mesures visant à renforcer la recherche et la technologie biomédicales. Le plan directeur comporte plus de 20 mesures portant sur l’encouragement de la recherche et de l’innovation, l’accès au marché, le système de remboursement des médicaments, les maladies rares et la protection de la propriété intellec-tuelle. La division Biomédecine de l’OFSP est responsable de la coordination.

Dernière modification 06.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division biomédicine
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/medizin-und-forschung/biomedizinische-forschung-und-technologie.html