Numerous rare diseases with many people affected

Rare diseases are only rare when taken in isolation; together there are very many rare diseases indeed. A disease is deemed to be rare if it affects no more than five out of every 10,000 people. So far between 6,000 and 8,000 rare diseases have been described worldwide.  

Frequency

So far between 6,000 and 8,000 rare (orphan) diseases have been described worldwide. Most of them have hardly been researched, and new orphan diseases are added to the list practically on a daily basis. In Switzerland and Europe a disease is deemed to be rare if it affects no more than five out of every 10,000 people. While the number of people suffering from each individual disease is very small, with 7,000 to 8,000 of these diseases in existence around 7 per cent of the population seems to be affected. In this country, the number of patients is estimated to be more than half a million (see Nationales Konzept Seltene Krankheiten on page 6 ). This is more than the number of people with diabetes .

Causes and progression

Many rare diseases have genetic origins. Added to these genetic conditions are rare infections, auto-immune disorders and other types of rare disease. The causes of most rare diseases aren’t yet clear. They are often life-threatening or result in chronic invalidity. Many appear at birth or in early childhood, while others don’t emerge until patients are much older. There is still no hope of a cure for the large majority of these rare conditions.

Number and rarity create challenges

The rare nature of individual conditions makes it more difficult to research, diagnose and provide medical care. Only a small number of people suffer from each of the 6,000 to 8,000 rare diseases known. Not only are individual diseases rare, but there is little specialist knowledge of them. If there is to be an improvement in care, expertise will have to be bundled and information will have to be shared more effectively. Teamwork is essential, as is networking between all the actors involved, including patients, care providers, social insurers, researchers, and many more. Diagnosing these conditions correctly and rapidly and providing those affected with appropriate care requires cooperation across Switzerland and beyond national boundaries.

Available data

Since ICD-10 (the World Health Organisation’s globally recognised diagnosis classification system) doesn’t allow detailed collection of data concerning rare diseases, the situation remains unsatisfactory. In some Swiss hospitals there are pilot projects to record rare (orphan) diseases using so-called Orpha numbers.

Medical care

The fact that a rare disease affects only a small number of people means that there is little specialist knowledge available. Patients, and their physicians, are geographically far apart.

For this reason it frequently takes years or even decades for the condition to be diagnosed correctly. It is often hard to find what treatments and forms of care are available. The few recognised therapies that exist are often limited to combating the symptoms.

It is important for everyone concerned for there to be easily accessible information available via existing points of contact to clarify complex cases and coordinate treatment. The right diagnosis is the beginning of appropriate therapy, and reduces the risk of giving the wrong treatment. Well-coordinated care massively enhances the quality of life for patients and their families.

Administrative and social barriers

Since they are so rare that there is little or no awareness of them, people suffering from these diseases often encounter a lack of understanding. This can lead to social isolation and result in major administrative obstacles. Many patients affected do not know what help is available and what they are entitled to. It’s not always clear what the right form is for submitting applications for funding for therapy and assistance. To make processes more efficient in the future, the policy sets down measures to ensure better information on rare diseases, more efficient application and reimbursement procedures, better patient self-help, and support for families.

The transition from children’s to adult medicine

Many rare diseases appear in childhood. Thanks to growing knowledge and better care, more and more of these children are reaching adulthood. Children’s medicine provides close support, but as patients transition to adult medicine, care structures change and physicians are less familiar with diseases that until now have affected only children. New approaches are required, especially when it comes to care management for adults with rare diseases.

Patients with congenital (birth) disorders are covered by disability insurance for the costs of medical treatment until age 20. In terms of health insurance this is also a transition to new procedures that those affected often find difficult.

Further information

National Rare Disease Policy

The National Rare Disease Policy is the Swiss Federal Council’s response to postulate 10.4055 on national strategy to improve the health situation of people with rare diseases and postulate 11.4025 on the health hardship commission.

Last modification 25.04.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Tariffs and Principles Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/viele-seltene-krankheiten.html

De nombreuses maladies rares qui concernent beaucoup de personnes

Ce n’est que séparément que les maladies rares le sont véritablement, car, considérées ensemble, elles sont très fréquentes. Une maladie est rare lorsqu’elle touche au maximum 5 personnes sur 10 000. Dans le monde, on dénombre entre 6000 et 8000 maladies rares.  

Fréquence

À l’heure actuelle, entre 6000 et 8000 maladies rares ont été décrites dans le monde. La majorité ne font guère l’objet de recherche et de nouvelles maladies sont découvertes presque tous les jours. En Suisse et en Europe, une maladie est considérée comme rare lorsqu’elle touche au maximum 5 personnes sur 10 000. Le nombre de personnes atteintes d’une de ces maladies est certes faible. Mais il en existe entre 7000 et 8000. Aussi, environ 7 % de la population serait touchée. Dans notre pays, le nombre de malades dépasserait le demi-million (cf. concept national maladies rares, p. 6). Par comparaison, ce chiffre dépasse le nombre de patients souffrant de diabète.

Causes et évolution

Si les maladies rares sont majoritairement d’origine génétique, certaines ont d’autres causes : infections, troubles auto-immunes, etc. Par ailleurs, la plupart restent inexpliquées. Les maladies rares sont souvent potentiel-lement mortelles ou entraînent une invalidité chronique. Elles apparaissent fréquemment à la naissance ou dans la petite enfance, mais peuvent aussi se manifester beaucoup plus tard. Pour la grande majorité de ces maladies, il n’existe actuellement aucune perspective de guérison.

Défis liés au nombre et à la rareté

La rareté de chacune des maladies complique tant la recherche que les diagnostics et la prise en charge. Les patients qui souffrent d’une des 6000 à 8000 maladies rares sont peu nombreux. Non seulement ces maladies sont rares, mais les connaissances scientifiques sont faibles. Pour réussir à améliorer la prise en charge, il est indispensable de rassembler les expertises et de renforcer la diffusion des informations. Les facteurs clés sont le travail d’équipe et la mise en réseau de tous les acteurs concernés, à commencer par les patients, les fournisseurs de prestations, les assurances sociales et les chercheurs. Une collaboration à la fois nationale et internationale est nécessaire afin de poser rapidement le bon diagnostic et de prendre en charge correctement les patients.

Données disponibles

Les données disponibles ne sont pas satisfaisantes, car le système actuel de classification des diagnostics de l’OMS (CIM-10), reconnu au niveau mondial, ne permet pas de saisir de manière détaillée les maladies rares. Plusieurs hôpitaux du pays mènent des projets pilotes pour enregistrer les maladies rares au moyen des numéros Orpha.

Prise en charge médicale

Lorsque le nombre de personnes qui souffrent d’une maladie est faible, les connaissances des professionnels sont limitées. Tout comme les patients, les médecins sont géographiquement éloignés les uns des autres.

C’est pour ces raisons que des années ou des décennies sont parfois né-cessaires pour parvenir au bon diagnostic. Il est souvent difficile de trouver le bon traitement et la bonne prise en charge. Les thérapies reconnues sont par ailleurs rares et se limitent généralement à combattre les symptômes.

Il est important que tous les acteurs puissent facilement savoir qui sont les interlocuteurs pour résoudre les cas complexes et coordonner les traitements. Poser le bon diagnostic constitue la première étape vers l’application de la thérapie adéquate et réduit les erreurs de traitement. Une prise en charge coordonnée améliore considérablement la qualité de vie des patients et de leurs proches.

Obstacles administratifs et sociaux

En raison de leur rareté, ces maladies sont méconnues, voire inconnues, avec pour conséquence que les personnes qui en sont atteintes se heurtent souvent à de l’incompréhension. Cette situation peut entraîner, d’une part, un isolement social et, d’autre part, de nombreux obstacles administratifs. Beaucoup de patients ne savent pas quelles sont les aides disponibles et quels sont leurs droits. Il n’est pas toujours facile de savoir comment demander le remboursement des prestations d’aide ou de thérapie. Afin de rendre les processus plus efficaces, le concept national prévoit des mesures pour améliorer l’information sur les maladies rares, perfectionner les procédures de demandes et de remboursement, renforcer l’aide aux patients et soutenir les proches.

Passage de la pédiatrie à la médecine adulte

Un bon nombre de maladies rares se déclarent durant l’enfance. Grâce au développement des connaissances et à l’amélioration des traitements, ces enfants atteignent de plus en plus souvent l’âge adulte. Alors que l’accompagnement est très étroit en pédiatrie, la structure de prise en charge change ensuite. Les médecins qui s’occupent des adultes ne connaissent pas bien ces maladies qui, jusque-là, ne touchaient que les enfants. Aussi, de nouvelles approches sont nécessaires en particulier concernant la gestion des soins des adultes atteints de maladies rares.

L’assurance invalidité prend en charge les coûts de traitement des infirmités congénitales (présentes dès la naissance) jusqu’à l’âge de 20 ans. Le passage de l’AI à l’assurance-maladie constitue une autre étape souvent vécue comme difficile en raison des changements de procédure qu’elle entraîne.

Informations complémentaires

Concept national maladies rares

Le concept maladies rares a été rédigé en réponse aux postulats « Une stratégie nationale pour améliorer la situation médicale des personnes souffrant de maladies rares » et « Commission pour les cas extrêmes en matière de santé ».

Dernière modification 25.04.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Division Tarifs et bases
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/viele-seltene-krankheiten.html