Syphilis

Syphilis

Syphilis is a sexually transmitted infection that is triggered by the bacterium Treponema pallidum. The infection can be transmitted during the primary, secondary and early latent stages by direct contact with lesions of the skin or mucosa which can appear primarily in the genital and anal region but also in the mouth. It can be treated with antibiotics.

Pathogen and transmission

Syphilis is a sexually transmitted infection that is triggered by the bacterium Treponema pallidum and can progress chronically. The infection can be transmitted during the primary, secondary and early latent stages (less than one year after infection) by direct contact with lesions of the skin or mucosa which can appear primarily in the genital and anal region but also in the mouth. The infection can also be transmitted from the mother to the child during pregnancy or childbirth (congenital syphilis).

Clinical picture

After If untreated, syphilis manifests in four different stages.

Primary syphilis: The first symptoms can appear as early as 5 to 21 days and as late as 3 months after infection as hardened, painless sores, called chancres, at the entry point of the pathogen (penis, anus, vagina, throat or other parts of the body) and as swollen lymph nodes. The first-stage symptoms can remain undiscovered and generally disappear, even without treatment, after four to six weeks. However, the disease and its transmissibility remain.

Secondary syphilis: Appears 3 to 10 weeks after the first stage and is characterised by widely varying types of a mainly non-itching skin rash (soles of the feet, palms of the hands or elsewhere). Hair loss, swollen lymph nodes or fever are also possible. These symptoms likewise disappear without treatment.

Latent syphilis: An asymptomatic period that can last several months or even several years and is often detected in the course of a routine serological test. The disease continues to progress and leads in particular to damage of the nervous system. This latent stage is subdivided into an early (< 1 year) and a late latent stage (> 1 year). Persons in the early latent stage may exhibit sporadic lesions of the skin and mucous membranes and consequently are potentially still infectious.

Tertiary syphilis: This stage appears years after the beginning of the infection (3 to 20 years) and can lead to permanent damage to the heart, brain, bones, skin and other organs. Neurosyphilis leads to a progressive destruction of nerve tissue in the brain or the spinal cord, the main consequence of which are personality disorders or even dementia. Treatments with antibiotics have made this stage increasingly rare, however.

A new classification of the disease distinguishes between early syphilis (less than one year after infection: primary, secondary and early latent stage) and late syphilis (more than one year after infection: late latent and tertiary
stage).

Congenital syphilis: Congenital syphilis can bring about malformations and other severe problems in the child, such as inflammations, blindness or even death.

Frequency and distribution

The number of syphilis cases is increasing again worldwide, principally in highly developed countries, including Switzerland. An increased risk of infection exists mainly for men who have sex with men, for persons with numerous different sexual partners and in the context of prostitution. Since 2010, more than 400 persons in Switzerland have contracted syphilis each year, more than 80% of whom are men.

Prevention

Condoms reduce the risk of getting infected with syphilis. But an infection is possible despite condom use. It is important to detect and treat an infection early.

Therefore:

If you have changing or multiple sexual partners during the same time period, talk to your doctor or another specialist about sexually transmitted infections (including HIV) and get advice on whether tests may be necessary.

In case of an infection, www.lovelife.ch provides tips on how to inform your partner.

And for everyone having sex:

Because everybody likes it differently: do the personalised Safer Sex Check at www.lovelife.ch.

During pregnancy, regular check-ups with the gynaecologist are essential. In case of an infection, you will discuss measures
that can be taken to protect your child.

Further Information

National Programme for HIV and Other Sexually Transmitted Infections (NPHS)

The NPHS aims to reduce the number of new infections with HIV and other STIs and to avoid consequences with an adverse effect on health. Information on the programme can be found here.

Last modification 22.11.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division Communicable diseases
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/syphilis.html

Syphilis

Syphilis

La syphilis est une infection sexuellement transmissible. Elle se transmet par voie sexuelle, ou de la mère à l'enfant durant la grossesse ou l'accouchement. La syphilis peut être traitée par des antibiotiques.  

Agent infectieux et transmission

La syphilis est une infection sexuellement transmissible pouvant devenir chronique, provoquée par la bactérie Treponema pallidum. L'infection se transmet durant les stades primaire, secondaire et latent précoce (moins d'un an après la contamination), par contact direct avec des lésions cutanées ou muqueuses pouvant toucher principalement la région anogénitale ou la cavité buccale. La maladie peut aussi se transmettre de la mère à l'enfant durant la grossesse ou l'accouchement (syphilis congénitale).

Tableau clinique

Non traitée, la syphilis évolue en quatre stades.

Syphilis primaire : les premiers symptômes peuvent apparaître entre 5 et 21 jours (et jusqu'à trois mois) après l'infection. Il s'agit d'une ulcération des muqueuses appelée chancre, induré et indolore, aux voies d'accès de la bactérie dans l'organisme (pénis, anus, vagin, pharynx ou autres parties du corps). On constate aussi un gonflement des ganglions lymphatiques. A ce stade, les symptômes peuvent passer inaperçus et disparaître au bout de 4 à 6 semaines, même sans traitement. Mais l'infection persiste et reste contagieuse.

Syphilis secondaire : elle apparaît 3 à 10 semaines après le chancre et se caractérise par une éruption cutanée de forme très variable (plante des pieds, paume des mains ou ailleurs) généralement sans démangeaison. La perte de cheveux, l'inflammation de ganglions lymphatiques ou de la fièvre sont également possibles. Les symptômes disparaissent également sans traitement.

Syphilis latente : c'est une période asymptomatique qui peut durer plusieurs mois, voire plusieurs années ; l'infection est souvent décelée à l'occasion d'un test sérologique de routine. La maladie continue à évoluer en provoquant notamment des lésions du système nerveux. Cette phase de latence est subdivisée en deux stades, précoce (< 1 an) et tardif (> 1 an). Au stade précoce, les personnes peuvent encore présenter par moments des lésions de la peau et des muqueuses et donc demeurer contagieuses.

Syphilis tertiaire : elle apparaît des années après le début de l'infection (après 3 à 20 ans) et peut se manifester par des atteintes irréversibles au cœur, au cerveau, aux os, à la peau et à d'autres organes. La neurosyphilis correspond à une destruction progressive du tissu nerveux au niveau du cerveau ou de la moelle osseuse ; le principal risque est alors l'apparition de changements de la personnalité, voire d'une démence. Grâce aux traitements antibiotiques, ce stade est toutefois rarement atteint de nos jours.

Une nouvelle classification de la maladie fait la distinction entre syphilis précoce (moins d'un an après l'infection : primaire, secondaire et latente précoce) et syphilis tardive (plus d'un an : latente tardive et tertiaire).

Syphilis congénitale : elle peut provoquer chez l'enfant des malformations ou d'autres problèmes graves tels que des inflammations ou la cécité, voire le décès.

Répartition géographique et fréquence

Le nombre de cas de syphilis augmente à nouveau dans le monde entier, en particulier dans les pays développés, dont la Suisse. Le risque d'infection est élevé surtout chez les hommes qui ont des rapports sexuels avec des hommes, les personnes qui changent souvent de partenaire sexuel et dans le milieu de la prostitution. En 2016, le nombre de cas déclarés était de 733.  

Prévention

Les préservatifs diminuent le risque de syphilis, mais ne le suppriment pas totalement. L’important est de diagnostiquer et de traiter une infection à temps.

Les personnes qui changent souvent de partenaires sexuels ou qui en ont plusieurs durant la même période doivent parler avec leur médecin ou un autre professionnel de la santé de la syphilis et des autres infections sexuellement transmissibles, et demander si certains tests sont nécessaires.

En cas d’infection, le site internet www.lovelife.ch propose des astuces pour informer les partenaires.

Et pour tous ceux qui ont des rapports sexuels:

Parce que chacun(e) l’aime à sa façon: faites votre safer sex check personnel sur www.lovelife.ch.

Pendant la grossesse, il est important de faire régulièrement des contrôles chez le gynécologue qui, en cas d’infection, prendra des mesures pour protéger l’enfant.

Chiffres sur la syphilis

Nombre de cas hebdomadaires

Base: système de déclaration obligatoire

Informations complémentaires

Infections sexuellement transmissibles

Vous trouverez ici des informations essentielles concernant le VIH/sida et d’autres infections sexuellement transmissibles. Comment se transmettent-elles ? Comment se protéger ? Où consulter et faire un dépistage ?

VIH & infections sexuellement transmissibles

Le PNVI vise à réduire le nombre de nouveaux cas de VIH et d’autres IST, tout en évitant les séquelles néfastes pour la santé. Informations complémentaires sur le programme.

Dernière modification 27.12.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Maladies transmissibles
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/syphilis.html