Middle-East respiratory syndrome coronavirus

MERS

Middle-East respiratory syndrome coronavirus (MERS-CoV) is a new coronavirus that causes acute pneumonia. It was discovered in 2012 in a patient in the Middle East.  

Pathogens and transmission

MERS-CoV belongs to Coronaviridae, a large family of viruses responsible for a broad range of disease in humans and animals. In humans these viruses cause conditions ranging from colds to SARS (severe acute respiratory syndrome). MERS-CoV is genetically distinct from the coronavirus that caused the 2003 SARS pandemic. Neither the virus reservoir nor the transmission route has been clearly identified. The dromedary (and products such as unpasteurised milk derived from it) seems to play a key role in the transmission of the virus from animals to humans. Human-to-human transmission takes place through close contact, presumably via droplet infection. Infection often occurs in hospital (nosocomial infection) or in the family.

Symptoms

The incubation period is normally less than a week, but sometimes up to 14 days. The onset of the condition is characterised by the following symptoms: fever, coughing, shivering, muscle pain and respiratory problems (dyspnoea, i.e. laboured breathing). In serious cases it can develop into pneumonia that can lead to lung injury. This may require artificial respiration and admission to intensive care. Gastrointestinal disorders have also been observed, sometimes accompanied by diarrhoea.

Patients already suffering from a chronic condition (diabetes, immunodeficiency, cancer, etc.) have elevated mortality rates. In Saudi Arabia the disease has been fatal in around 35% of infected patients. At present there is neither a vaccination nor other specific treatment. Patients are treated symptomatically depending on their state of health.

Distribution and frequency

Since 2012 the WHO has recorded a total of 2,428 confirmed cases of MERS-CoV worldwide, including 838 fatalities.

Autochthonous (locally acquired) cases have so far only been reported in Middle Eastern countries: Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Iran, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar and Yemen. Imported cases (or cases connected with such cases) have been observed in Algeria, Austria, China, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Malaysia, the Netherlands, the Philippines, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, the UK and the United States.

Most infections have been recorded on the Arabian Peninsula, particularly Saudi Arabia (85% of the confirmed cases).

Prevention

Travellers in endemic areas run the risk of being infected. In reality, however, the potential risk depends on possible contact with dromedaries (Arabian camels), their products or patients with the disease in medical establishments. Anyone staying in the countries affected should now avoid contact with sick people and animals (especially dromedaries), and pay attention to hand and food hygiene. In other words, they should wash their hands with soap and water (especially before and after touching animals), avoid eating undercooked meat, and drink milk only when pasteurised.

The FOPH also advises following any further local recommendations.

Travellers who develop symptoms, either while travelling or within 14 days of returning home from an epidemic area, are asked to seek medical advice.

Diagnosis

The reference centre for MERS-CoV is the national reference center for emerging viral infections (CRIVE) in Geneva. Please follow the instructions on the CRIVE website (see link below) and make absolutely sure to notify CRIVE by telephone before sending samples of suspected MERS-CoV.

Last modification 16.07.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division Communicable diseases
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/mers.html

Middle-East Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus (MERS)

MERS

Le « Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus » (MERS-CoV) est un nouveau coronavirus qui provoque une pneumonie aiguë. Il a été découvert en 2012 chez un patient au Moyen-Orient. 

Agent infectieux et transmission

Le MERS-CoV fait partie de la famille des Coronaviridae, une famille de virus responsable d’un large spectre de maladies animales et humaines. Chez les humains ces virus peuvent provoquer des maladies allant des infections respiratoires bénignes (p. ex. rhume) à des infections respiratoires sévères (p. ex. SRAS). Le MERS-CoV est génétiquement différent du coronavirus à l’origine de la pandémie du SRAS en 2003. Le réservoir viral et les modes de transmission restent méconnus mais le dromadaire (ou des produits qui en sont issus, p. ex. lait non pasteurisé) semble jouer un rôle important dans la transmission du virus de l‘animal à l‘homme (zoonose). La transmission de personne à personne se fait par contact direct, probablement par gouttelettes. La contamination a souvent lieu au sein de la famille ou à l‘hôpital (transmission nosocomiale).

Tableau clinique

La période d’incubation dure généralement moins d‘une semaine, parfois jusqu‘à 14 jours. Le début de la maladie est caractérisé par les symptômes suivants : fièvre, toux, frissons, myalgies et difficultés respiratoires (dyspnée). Dans les cas graves, une pneumonie peut se développer et se transformer ensuite en une insuffisance respiratoire nécessitant une ventilation mécanique et une prise en charge dans des services de soins intensifs. Des symptômes gastro-intestinaux, dont la diarrhée, ont été signalés.

Les patients souffrant déjà d‘une maladie chronique (diabète, immunodéficience, cancer, etc.) présentent une létalité plus élevée. En Arabie saoudite, environ 35% des patients infectés sont décédés. Aucun vaccin ou traitement spécifique n’est disponible actuellement. Le traitement est symptomatique, fondé sur l’état clinique du patient.

Répartition géographique et fréquence

Depuis septembre 2012, l’OMS a recensé un total de 2428 cas confirmés d’infections au MERS-CoV incluant 838 décès dans le monde.
Des cas autochtones ont été rapportés uniquement dans les pays du Moyen-Orient suivants: Arabie saoudite, Emirats arabes Unis, Iran, Jordanie, Koweït, Liban, Oman, Qatar et Yémen. Des cas importés (ou liés à des cas importés) ont été observés en Algérie, en Autriche, en Chine, en Egypte, en France, en Allemagne, en Grèce, en Italie, en Malaisie, aux Pays-Bas, aux Philippines, en Corée du Sud, en Thaïlande, en Tunisie, en Turquie, en Grande-Bretagne et aux USA.

La majorité des infections ont été constatées dans la péninsule arabique, en particulier en Arabie saoudite (85% des cas confirmés).

Prévention

Les voyageurs qui se rendent dans les régions d’endémie courent un faible risque de contracter l‘infection. Le potentiel de risque dépend d’un éventuel contact avec des dromadaires, des produits issus de cet animal ou avec des patients infectés dans des institutions sanitaires. Il est donc recommandé d’éviter les contacts avec les personnes et animaux malades (en particulier les dromadaires) et de respecter les mesures d'hygiène générales et alimentaires, c'est-à-dire : se laver les mains avec de l'eau et du savon (surtout avant et après avoir touché un animal) et ne pas consommer de viande mal cuite ou de lait non pasteurisé. Conformez-vous également aux autres recommandations locales.

Consultez un médecin en cas de symptômes respiratoires pendant le voyage ou dans les deux semaines après un séjour dans un pays endémique.

Diagnostique en Suisse

Le centre national de référence pour le MERS-CoV est le CRIVE (Centre national de Référence pour les Infections Virales Emergentes) à Genève. Veuillez suivre la procédure indiquée sur le site du CRIVE (voir lien ci-dessous) pour le MERS-CoV. En particulier, informez impérativement le laboratoire par téléphone avant l’envoi de tout échantillon de suspicion de MERS-CoV.  

Faits & chiffres

Faits & chiffres: tabac

Le tabagisme compte parmi les plus grands problèmes de santé publique. En effet, le tabac est la première cause de diminution de la qualité de vie et d’années de vie perdues, et constitue le principal facteur de risque de maladies chroniques non transmissibles, telles que le cancer ou les maladies cardio-vasculaires.

Addiction : faits et chiffres

L’addiction est une maladie ; elle se caractérise par des comportements compulsifs qui persistent malgré les conséquences graves pour la santé et la vie sociale des individus concernés et de leur entourage.

Dernière modification 16.07.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Maladies transmissibles
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/mers.html