Lymphogranuloma venereum (LGV)

Lymphogranuloma venereum (LGV) is caused by serotypes L1, L2 and L3 of Chlamydia trachomatis and is sexually transmitted. It can be transmitted through unprotected vaginal, oral and anal intercourse.

Pathogen and transmission

Lymphogranuloma venereum (LGV) is caused by serotypes L1, L2 and L3 of Chlamydia trachomatis (in the majority of cases by the gene variant L2b) and is sexually transmitted. LGV is very rare in the general population. An epidemic recurrence of LGV has recently been observed in men who have sex with men (MSM), mainly in HIV-positive MSM. LGV can be transmitted through unprotected vaginal, oral and anal intercourse.

Clinical picture

Infections with LGV are frequently asymptomatic. If the infection is symptomatic, painless ulcers appear in a primary stage where the bacteria entered the mucosa and, depending on the area, often remain undetected. In the second stage the lymph nodes usually swell up, accompanied by pains and fever as well as bleeding and purulent discharge. In the absence of timely treatment, the infection can cause severe lesions in the anus or another affected body part which require surgical intervention. The infection can be treated with antibiotics.

Frequency and distribution

In recent decades LGV has principally been observed in the subtropical and tropical regions of Africa, India, South East Asia, the Caribbean as well as Central and South America. Since 2003, Western high-income countries, including Switzerland, have experienced an epidemic recurrence of LGV in MSM.

Prevention

Condoms and other safer sex measures reduce the risk of getting infected with LGV. Therefore:  

1. Vaginal and anal sex with a condom
2. And because everybody loves different things: do the personalised safer sex check at lovelife.ch

But an infection is nevertheless possible, and it’s important to detect it early. Once an infection is diagnosed, all sexual partners must be examined and, if necessary, treated. Infectiousness does not cease during treatment. It would therefore be best to forgo intercourse for the duration of the antibiotic treatment. If that is not possible, the use of condoms is imperative.

People with changing or multiple simultaneous sexual partners should talk to their doctor or another specialist about HIV and other sexually transmitted infections and get advice on whether tests may be necessary.

Further Information

National Programme for HIV and Other Sexually Transmitted Infections (NPHS)

The NPHS aims to reduce the number of new infections with HIV and other STIs and to avoid consequences with an adverse effect on health. Information on the programme can be found here.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division Communicable diseases
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/lymphogranuloma-venereum.html

Lymphogranulomatose vénérienne (LGV)

La lymphogranulomatose vénérienne (LGV) est une infection sexuellement transmissible. Elle peut être transmise par des rapports sexuels non protégés. L'infection se traite par des antibiotiques.

Agent infectieux et transmission

La lymphogranulomatose vénérienne (LGV) est une infection sexuellement transmissible due aux sérotypes L1, L2, et L3 de Chlamydia trachomatis (à la variante génique L2b dans la plupart des cas). La LGV est très rare dans la population générale. Ces derniers temps, la maladie est réapparue sur un mode épidémique chez les hommes qui ont des rapports sexuels avec des hommes (HSH), principalement chez ceux qui sont VIH-positifs. Elle peut être transmise par des rapports sexuels vaginaux, oraux et anaux non protégés.

Tableau clinique

La LGV est souvent asymptomatique. Quand des symptômes apparaissent, il s'agit, au premier stade, d'ulcérations non douloureuses au niveau de la porte d'entrée, qui, selon l'endroit touché, passent souvent inaperçues. Au second stade, on observe typiquement un gonflement des ganglions accompagné de douleurs et de fièvre, ainsi que de saignements et d'un écoulement purulent. Si on ne la traite pas rapidement, l'infection peut provoquer des lésions laissant dans l'anus ou d'autres parties du corps d'importantes cicatrices, qui exigent un traitement chirurgical. L'infection se traite par des antibiotiques.

Répartition géographique et fréquence

Ces dernières décennies, la LGV était surtout observée dans les régions subtropicales et tropicales d'Afrique, d'Inde, d'Asie du sud-est, des Caraïbes ainsi que d'Amérique centrale et du Sud. Elle réapparaît sur un mode épidémique chez les HSH dans les pays occidentaux développés, y compris en Suisse, depuis 2003.

Prévention

Les personnes qui changent souvent de partenaires sexuels ou qui en ont plusieurs durant la même période doivent parler avec leur médecin ou un autre professionnel de la santé du VIH et des autres infections sexuellement transmissibles, et demander si certains tests sont nécessaires.

En cas d’infection, le site internet www.lovelife.ch propose des astuces pour informer les partenaires.

Et pour tous ceux qui ont des rapports sexuels:

Parce que chacun(e) l’aime à sa façon: faites votre safer sex check personnel sur www.lovelife.ch.

Informations complémentaires

Infections sexuellement transmissibles

Vous trouverez ici des informations essentielles concernant le VIH/sida et d’autres infections sexuellement transmissibles. Comment se transmettent-elles ? Comment se protéger ? Où consulter et faire un dépistage ?

Programme national VIH et autres infections sexuellement transmissibles (PNVI)

Le PNVI vise à réduire le nombre de nouveaux cas de VIH et d’autres IST, tout en évitant les séquelles néfastes pour la santé. Informations complémentaires sur le programme.

Dernière modification 22.11.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Maladies transmissibles
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/lymphogranuloma-venereum.html