Gonorrhoea (clap)

Gonorrhoe

Gonorrhoea is a bacterial sexually transmitted infection. It is transmitted through unprotected oral, vaginal or anal intercourse as well as from the mother to the child during birth. It can be treated with antibiotics.

Pathogen and transmission

Gonorrhoea, colloquially known as the clap, is one of the most widespread sexually transmitted infections worldwide. It is triggered by the bacterium Neisseria gonorrhoeae, which can be found in the mucous discharge of infected persons and is transmitted through unprotected oral, vaginal or anal intercourse as well as from the mother to the child during birth.

Clinical picture

After an infection, the first symptoms usually appear within 2 to 7 days. In men the initial symptoms are reddening and swelling of the urethral orifice, with pain during urination and purulent discharge. Left untreated, the infection encroaches on the prostate and epididymis. In women, the infection also mostly manifests through increased discharge and pain during urination; without treatment the infection may spread throughout the pelvis.

However, the infection is often (more so for women than for men) asymptomatic or develops with only mild symptoms and thus goes undetected for some time. Depending on the sexual practice, the symptoms can also appear in the mouth or throat as well as in the anal region - often asymptomatically or as reddening and irritation. A course of antibiotics provides a cure. However, there are disturbing reports of strains that are resistant to antibiotics that were successfully used to treat the disease up to a few years ago.

A long-term effect of untreated gonorrhoea in both sexes is sterility. Less frequent complications include inflammations of the joints, skin, heart and conjunctiva - the latter also in case of transmission during birth.

Frequency and distribution

In 2016, there were 2'270 confirmed cases of gonorrhoea in Switzerland, which was slightly above the previous year's number. Men account for a full 80 % of diagnosed cases, and the 25-44 age group is particularly at risk. Homosexual and bisexual men, persons with multiple sexual partners and sex workers exhibit a higher incidence of infection than the rest of the population.

Prevention

Condoms reduce the risk of getting infected with gonorrhoea. But an infection is possible despite condom use. It is important to detect and treat an infection early.

Therefore:

If you have changing or multiple sexual partners during the same time period, talk to your doctor or another specialist about sexually transmitted infections (including HIV) and get advice on whether tests may be necessary.

In case of an infection, www.lovelife.ch provides tips on how to inform your partner.

And for everyone having sex:

Because everybody likes it differently: do the personalised Safer Sex Check at www.lovelife.ch.

During pregnancy, regular check-ups with the gynaecologist are essential. In case of an infection, you will discuss measures that can be taken to protect your child.

Further Information

National Programme for HIV and Other Sexually Transmitted Infections (NPHS)

The NPHS aims to reduce the number of new infections with HIV and other STIs and to avoid consequences with an adverse effect on health. Information on the programme can be found here.

Last modification 21.11.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division Communicable diseases
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/gonorrhoe.html

Gonorrhée (chaude-pisse)

Gonorrhoe

La gonorrhée est une infection sexuellement transmissible Elle se transmet lors de rapports sexuels, ainsi que de la mère à l'enfant pendant l'accouchement. La gonorhée peut être traitée par des antibiotiques.

Agent infectieux et transmission

La gonorrhée ou blennorragie, appelée familièrement « chaude-pisse », est l'une des infections sexuellement transmissibles (IST) les plus répandues au monde. Elle est provoquée par la bactérie Neisseria gonorrhoeae, présente dans les sécrétions génitales des personnes infectées, et se transmet lors de rapports sexuels oraux, vaginaux ou anaux non protégés, ainsi que de la mère à l'enfant pendant l'accouchement.

Tableau clinique

Les premiers symptômes surviennent le plus souvent 2 à 7 jours après l'infection. Chez l'homme, il s'agit principalement d'une rougeur et d'un gonflement de l'orifice de l'urètre, accompagnés d'une sensation de brûlure lors de la miction et d'un écoulement purulent. Non traitée, la maladie s'étend à la prostate et à l'épididyme. Chez la femme, il s'agit également le plus souvent d'écoulements et de douleurs à la miction ; non traitée, la gonorrhée peut s'étendre au niveau du bassin.

Toutefois, davantage chez l'homme que chez la femme, l'infection est asymptomatique ou évolue avec des symptômes plus discrets et passe donc longtemps inaperçue. Selon les pratiques sexuelles, elle peut aussi apparaître dans la bouche, la gorge ou la région anale, le plus souvent en évolution asymptomatique, parfois sous forme de rougeur et d'irritation. La gonorrhée guérit habituellement avec un traitement antibiotique, mais l'apparition de souches résistantes à des antibiotiques qui étaient efficaces il y a quelques années encore est préoccupante.

Non traitée, la gonorrhée peut entraîner des complications à long terme, principalement une stérilité tant chez l'homme que chez la femme ou, plus rarement, des inflammations des articulations, de la peau, du cœur et des conjonctives ; une inflammation des conjonctives se manifeste également chez l'enfant après la transmission de la mère à l'enfant pendant l'accouchement.

Répartition géographique et fréquence

En Suisse, on comptait plus de 2270 cas confirmés de gonorrhée en 2016, en augmentation par rapport à l'année précédente. Les hommes représentent 80% de cas diagnostiqués, les plus touchés ayant entre 25 et 44 ans. La gonorrhée est plus fréquente chez les hommes homosexuels ou bisexuels, les personnes ayant plusieurs partenaires sexuels et dans le domaine de la prostitution.

Prévention

Les préservatifs et d’autres mesures réduisent le risque d’infection. C'est pourquoi :

1. Pénétration vaginale ou anale avec préservatif
2. Et parce que chacun(e) l'aime à sa façon : faire le safer sex check personnel sur lovelife.ch

Mais comme une infection reste possible malgré tout, il est important de la dépister à temps. Tous les partenaires doivent se faire examiner et traiter le cas échéant.

Par conséquent, si l’on change souvent de partenaire ou l’on a plusieurs partenaires en même temps, il faudrait parler du VIH et des autres infections sexuellement transmissibles avec son médecin ou un autre professionnel et se faire conseiller s'il est nécessaire de faire des tests.

Chiffres sur la gonorrhée

Nombre de cas hebdomadaires

Base: système de déclaration obligatoire

Informations complémentaires

Infections sexuellement transmissibles

Vous trouverez ici des informations essentielles concernant le VIH/sida et d’autres infections sexuellement transmissibles. Comment se transmettent-elles ? Comment se protéger ? Où consulter et faire un dépistage ?

Programme national VIH et autres infections sexuellement transmissibles (PNVI)

Le PNVI vise à réduire le nombre de nouveaux cas de VIH et d’autres IST, tout en évitant les séquelles néfastes pour la santé. Informations complémentaires sur le programme.

Dernière modification 13.02.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Maladies transmissibles
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/gonorrhoe.html