AIDS

AIDS is the acronym for "Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome". It is the late sequela of an infection with HIV, the Human Immunodeficiency Virus. According to an estimate by the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS), there are currently roughly 37 million (range between 34 and 41 million) people living with HIV or AIDS worldwide.  

Pathogen and transmission

AIDS is the acronym for "Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome". It is the late sequela of an infection with HIV, the Human Immunodeficiency Virus. It is transmitted through unprotected sex as well as shared syringes and needles for injecting drugs or through injuries involving injection needles in clinical settings. Transmission from an infected mother to her child during pregnancy or later, while breastfeeding is also possible. There is an increased risk of transmission during blood transfusions in countries with a lower technical standard of medical care than that of industrialised countries.

Clinical picture

HIV destroys specific cells of the immune system, leading to a gradual impairment of the body's defences. There are several stages in the progression of an HIV infection. AIDS denotes the stage in which the immune system is weakened to the point that at least one of the infections or tumours required to establish an AIDS diagnosis is present. Even infections that do not lead to illness in healthy people with an intact immune system can become life-threatening for AIDS patients.

Thanks to medical therapies, ideally in the early stages of the disease, there is now a real chance that immune deficiency regresses or is prevented from developing. However, an HIV infection is still life-threatening if the therapies are not consistently adhered to for the rest of a patient's life.

Frequency and distribution

According to an estimate by the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS), there are currently roughly 37 million (range between 34 and 41 million) people living with HIV or AIDS worldwide. According to recent estimates, around 16'600 HIV-infected people live in Switzerland. Up to the end of 2015, a total of almost 9,800 people have received the late-stage diagnosis of AIDS, about 60% of whom have died as a result of the disease. About 100 new AIDS cases are diagnosed each year, primarily in people where HIV infection was discovered late.

Prevention

In order to protect oneself against an infection one has to observe the Safer Sex rules and to avoid sharing syringes and infected needles.

Safer sex rules:
1. Use a condom for vaginal and anal sex.
2. And because everybody loves different things: do your own personalised

People who experience flu-like symptoms after a high-risk situation for HIV (after unprotected vaginal or anal sex, especially in regions of the world where HIV is widespread or with a partner from one of those regions) should seek advice from a doctor on whether an HIV test makes sense.

Those who do not experience flu-like symptoms after a high risk situation can do the Risk Check to help them better assess their situation.

In either case it would be beneficial for them to talk to their doctor about their sex life and about protection against HIV and other sexually transmitted infections.

An HIV test is also recommended as the standard of care during pregnancy.

Further Information

National Programme for HIV and Other Sexually Transmitted Infections (NPHS)

The NPHS aims to reduce the number of new infections with HIV and other STIs and to avoid consequences with an adverse effect on health. Information on the programme can be found here.

Last modification 07.12.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division Communicable diseases
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/aids.html

Sida

« Sida » est l'abréviation de syndrome de l'immunodéficience acquise. Il s'agit de la complication tardive d'une infection par le virus de l'immunodéficience humaine (VIH). Selon les estimations du Programme Commun des Nations Unies sur le VIH/SIDA (ONUSIDA), environ 37 millions (fourchette de 34 à 41 millions) de personnes sont infectées par le VIH ou atteintes du sida dans le monde.  

Agent pathogène et transmission

« Sida » est l'abréviation de syndrome de l'immunodéficience acquise. Il s'agit de la complication tardive d'une infection par le virus de l'immunodéficience humaine (VIH).

Le virus VIH se transmet lors de rapports sexuels non protégés, ainsi que par l'échange de seringues et d'aiguilles lors de la consommation de drogues ou par une piqûre accidentelle avec une seringue ou une aiguille usagée dans le domaine clinique. Une mère, lorsqu'elle est infectée, peut également transmettre le virus à son enfant pendant la grossesse puis lors de l'allaitement. Dans les pays bénéficiant de techniques médicales moins avancées que les pays industrialisés, le risque de transmission est accru lors des transfusions sanguines.

Tableau clinique

Le VIH détruit certaines cellules du système immunitaire, affaiblissant peu à peu les défenses de l'organisme. L'évolution d'une infection par le VIH est divisée en différents stades. On appelle sida le stade au cours duquel le système immunitaire est tellement affaibli qu'au moins une des maladies infectieuses ou tumeurs définissant le sida est diagnostiquée. Des infections qui n'entraînent pas de maladie chez des personnes en bonne santé avec un système immunitaire intact, peuvent s'avérer mortelles pour des patients atteints du sida.

Grâce aux possibilités de traitements médicaux, idéalement dans la phase initiale de la maladie, il existe aujourd'hui de réelles chances de voir l'affaiblissement du système immunitaire régresser ou de pouvoir retarder son apparition de nombreuses d'années. Toutefois, l'infection par le VIH reste mortelle si les thérapies ne sont pas suivies systématiquement et à vie.

Répartition géographique et fréquence

Selon les estimations du Programme Commun des Nations Unies sur le VIH/SIDA (ONUSIDA), environ 37 millions (fourchette de 34 à 41 millions) de personnes sont infectées par le VIH ou atteintes du sida dans le monde. Selon des estimations récentes, environ 16'600 personnes infectées par le VIH vivent en Suisse. Depuis le début de l'épidémie jusqu'à la fin 2015, quelque 9800 cas de sida ont été diagnostiqués et environ 60 % des personnes concernées sont décédées des suites de la maladie. Chaque année, une centaine de nouveaux cas de sida sont diagnostiqués, la plupart du temps chez des personnes dont l'infection au VIH a été détectée tardivement.

Prévention

Pour se protéger, il faut respecter les règles du safer sex et ne pas partager de seringues ou d'aiguilles souillées.

Règles de safer sex :

1. Pénétration vaginale ou anale avec préservatif
2. Et parce que chacun(e) l'aime à sa façon : faire le safer sex check personnel sur lovelife.ch

En cas de symptômes grippaux après une situation à risque pour le VIH (rapports sexuels vaginaux ou anaux non protégés, en particulier dans des régions dans lesquelles le VIH est largement répandu ou avec un partenaire qui vient d'une de ces régions), il faudrait demander conseil à un médecin pour savoir s'il est nécessaire de faire un test VIH.

Si, après une situation à risque pour le VIH, on ne ressent aucun symptôme grippal, il est tout de même possible de faire le test du risque afin de mieux évaluer sa situation.

Dans tous les cas, il est bon de parler avec son médecin de sa vie sexuelle et de la protection contre le VIH et les autres infections sexuellement transmissibles.

Le test du VIH est également une pratique standard durant la grossesse.

Chiffres sur le sida

Détail des données sur le sida

Evolution du nombre de cas hebdomadaires selon le système de déclaration obligatoire établi sur des déclarations des médecins.

Nombre de cas hebdomadaires

Base: système de déclaration obligatoire

Informations complémentaires

Infections sexuellement transmissibles

Vous trouverez ici des informations essentielles concernant le VIH/sida et d’autres infections sexuellement transmissibles. Comment se transmettent-elles ? Comment se protéger ? Où consulter et faire un dépistage ?

Programme national VIH et autres infections sexuellement transmissibles (PNVI)

Le PNVI vise à réduire le nombre de nouveaux cas de VIH et d’autres IST, tout en évitant les séquelles néfastes pour la santé. Informations complémentaires sur le programme.

Dernière modification 07.12.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Maladies transmissibles
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/aids.html