What is the total consumption of antibiotics?

The global consumption of antibiotics in human medicine has increased by 36% over the past ten years. However, some countries have reduced their consumption while others have seen a rapid increase.

Antibiotics have enabled a revolution in public health. Just a century ago, tuberculosis and pneumonia were respectively the second and fourth most common causes of death in Switzerland. Add to that typhoid fever, cholera and the plague, and fully one third of all deaths were attributable to bacterial infections. Penicillin, discovered in 1928 by Alexander Fleming and made available commercially from 1942, increased survival chances of pneumonia or septicaemia patients by 10 to 90%.

Antibiotic use in hospitals

In Swiss hospitals, the level of antibiotic use is similar to rates in other European countries. Over the last few years, total consumption has increased, while remaining proportionate the growing number of hospital admissions: the per capita use has remained the same.

Comparison of antibiotic consumption in 2013 and 2016 in hospitals in Switzerland and the EU (highest and lowest consumption rates)

Antibiotic use in hospitals in 2013 and 2018: depicted are the lowest and highest consumption rates in EU countries and in Switzerland (close to the average for EU countries). A standard international unit is used: Defined Daily Dose per thousand inhabitants.
Source: https://ecdc.europa.eu/en/antimicrobial-consumption/database/rates-country, Joint Report 2013 and Swiss Antibiotic Resistance Report 2018

Use of antibiotics in outpatient settings (primary care)

In outpatient medicine, Switzerland consumes on average lower quantities of antibiotics compared to the countries in the European Union. However, there are important differences between cantons: some French- or Italian-speaking cantons consume up to three times more antibiotics per head than certain German-speaking cantons.

Use of antibiotics around the world

The global consumption of antibiotics in human medicine has increased by 36% over the past ten years. However, some countries have reduced their consumption while others, for example South Africa, Brazil, China, India and Russia, have seen a rapid increase. This increase in emerging countries is due to the fact that their healthcare systems are evolving rapidly, and increasing numbers of people are accessing modern medicines thanks to higher standards of living.

Last modification 15.10.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Communicable Diseases Division
Strategies, Principles and Programmes Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/krankheiten/infektionskrankheiten-bekaempfen/antibiotikaresistenzen/wie-viele-antibiotika-verbrauchen-wir---.html

Combien consomme-t-on d’antibiotiques ?

La consommation mondiale d’antibiotiques en médecine humaine a augmenté de 36 % au cours de la dernière décennie. Elle a cependant diminué dans certains pays, tandis qu’elle a rapidement augmenté dans d’autres.

Les antibiotiques ont révolutionné la santé, car il y a tout juste un siècle, en Suisse la tuberculose et la pneumonie étaient respectivement la deuxième et la quatrième cause de mortalité. Avec la fièvre typhoïde, le choléra et la peste, un décès sur trois était à l’époque lié aux infections bactériennes. Découverte en 1928 par Alexander Fleming, puis commercialisée à partir de 1942, la pénicilline permit d’augmenter de 10 % à 90 % les chances de survie en cas de pneumonie ou d’infection du sang.

Consommation d’antibiotiques dans les hôpitaux

Dans les hôpitaux suisses, la consommation d’antibiotiques est proche de celle des hôpitaux européens. Ces dernières années, cette consommation a augmenté, mais elle est restée stable si on la compare au nombre total d’admissions dans les hôpitaux (qui a lui aussi augmenté). Les chiffres sont exprimés dans l’unité standard internationale « Defined Daily Dose » pour 1000 habitants. 

Consommation d’antibiotiques en 2013 et 2016 dans les hôpitaux en Suisse et dans l’UE (plus basse et plus haute consommation).

Consommation d’antibiotiques dans les hôpitaux en 2013 et 2018 : sont représentés la plus faible et la plus haute consommation dans les pays de l’Union Européenne, ainsi que la consommation en Suisse, qui est proche de la moyenne des pays de l’Union Européenne. Les chiffres sont exprimés dans l’unité standard internationale « Defined Daily Dose » pour 1000 habitants.
Sources : https://ecdc.europa.eu/en/antimicrobial-consumption/database/rates-country, Joint report 2013 et Swiss Antibiotic Resistance Report 2018

Consommation d’antibiotiques en milieu ambulatoire

En médecine ambulatoire, si l’on tient compte de la moyenne nationale, la Suisse consomme peu d’antibiotiques par habitant par rapport aux pays de l’Union Européenne. Cependant, d’un canton à l’autre, les différences de consommation sont importantes : certains cantons latins consomment plus d’antibiotiques par habitant que certains cantons alémaniques.

Consommation d’antibiotiques dans le monde

La consommation mondiale d’antibiotiques en médecine humaine a augmenté de 36 % au cours de la dernière décennie. Elle a cependant diminué dans certains pays, tandis qu’elle a rapidement augmenté dans d’autres, notamment en Afrique du Sud, au Brésil, en Chine, en Inde et en Russie. Cette augmentation dans les pays émergents est due au fait que leurs systèmes de santé évoluent rapidement, et au fait qu'une proportion croissante de la population accède aux médicaments grâce à l'augmentation des revenus.

Informations complémentaires

Stratégie Antibiorésistance dans le domaine humain

Autant que nécessaire, mais le moins possible. Les antibiotiques permettent de sauver des vies. Ils doivent rester disponibles sur le long terme.

Dernière modification 15.10.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Maladies transmissibles
Section Stratégies, principes et programmes
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/krankheiten/infektionskrankheiten-bekaempfen/antibiotikaresistenzen/wie-viele-antibiotika-verbrauchen-wir---.html