How is antibiotic resistance evolving?

Throughout the world, the most common pathogenic bacteria are becoming increasingly resistant to antibiotics.

Antibiotic resistance in Switzerland

Since 2014, the Swiss Centre for Antibiotic Resistance (Anresis) has been monitoring the evolution of bacterial resistance in Switzerland, with special attention to those bacteria considered most dangerous for public health. Thanks to voluntary declarations by a network of laboratories, this center is able to maintain an interactive database that can be inspected online www.anresis.ch.

Compared with other countries, Switzerland has an intermediate position regarding antibiotic resistance. Relative to its population, the number of infections due to resistant bacteria here is lower than in France, Italy or Great Britain, but higher than in the Netherlands or the Scandinavian countries.  

The data accumulated since 2004 show mixed results: antibiotic resistance has increased strongly in some species of bacteria and has decreased or remained stable in others. For Escherichia coli – frequently involved in lower tract urinary infections – resistance to fluoroquinolones (a commonly used class of antibiotics) has increased, as has resistance to another class of broad-spectrum antibiotics (3rd and 4th generation cephalosporins). For Klebsiella pneumoniae, potentially responsible for urinary tract and respiratory tract infections, resistance similarly increased until 2014, but has been declining in the last 3 years. The reasons for this change in trend are not clear and are still under investigation.  

The proportion of vancomycin-resistant enterococci has remained stable but has increased since early 2018. Unfortunately, its presence in a hospital can lead to the cancellation of some surgical operations.  

Infections due to penicillin-resistant streptococci – which can cause pneumonia, for example – have probably declined thanks to vaccination, since the vaccine also protects against antibiotic-resistance streptococci.    

The proportion of invasive infections caused by methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) has also decreased, thanks to improved detection and rapid treatment of infected patients in hospitals.

Evolution of the main resistant bacterial strains in Switzerland

The figure describes the evolution of resistance in various species of pathogenic bacteria that are responsible for blood poisoning or meningitis. Since 2004, the rates of antibiotic resistance have increased for most species of bacteria and most classes of antibiotic. Exceptions are mentioned in the text.
Source: anresis.ch

Antibiotic resistance at the global level

Throughout the world, the most common pathogenic bacteria are becoming increasingly resistant to antibiotics. Among the most worrying are the strains of enterobacteria (e.g. Escherichia coli or Klebsiella pneumoniae, which are common in the human intestinal tract), which are increasingly becoming multi-resistant.

Around ten years ago, experts were most worried about so-called ESBL resistance, i.e. resistance towards a large group of antibiotics related to penicillin). In order to treat infection with such bacteria, they could use a more recent class of antibiotics called the carbapenems. But since then, many bacteria have also developed resistance against this new series of antibiotics too (for example, thanks to very efficient resistance enzymes NDM-1 and KPC).  

Due to this worrying development, doctors saw themselves forced to prescribe polymyxins (particularly colistin) – an old class of antibiotics that had gone out of use because of adverse effects including kidney damage. In late 2015, a new type of resistance to colistin was discovered that could be easily exchanged from one bacterium to another. Responsibility for this is down to a gene called mcr-1, which is located on a plasmid rather than in the bacterium’s chromosomes). It is therefore becoming very difficult to find a way of treating patients whose bacteria are resistant to polymyxins.

Further information

Carbapenemase-producing Enterobacteriaceae (CPE)

Bacteria that are becoming resistant to antibiotics – and which therefore represent a current or existing threat to public health – are monitored. These bacteria include Carbapenemase-producing Enterobacteriaceae (CPE).

Last modification 07.08.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Communicable Diseases Division
Strategies, Principles and Programmes Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/krankheiten/infektionskrankheiten-bekaempfen/antibiotikaresistenzen/wie-entwickelt-sich-die-antibiotikaresistenzlage---.html

Quelle est l’évolution de l’antibiorésistance ?

Au niveau mondial, les bactéries pathogènes les plus com-munes sont de plus en plus résistantes à un ou plusieurs antibiotiques.

Développement de l’antibiorésistance en Suisse

Depuis 2014, le Centre suisse pour le contrôle de l’Antibiorésistance (ANRESIS) est chargé par l’OFSP de surveiller l’évolution des bactéries résistantes, et notamment de celles qui sont les plus inquiétantes pour la santé publique. Grâce aux déclarations volontaires d’un réseau de laboratoires, ce centre maintient une base de données interactive.

Comparativement à la taille de sa population, la Suisse est moins touchée par les bactéries résistantes que la France ou l’Italie, mais plus que les Pays-Bas ou les pays scandinaves.

Les données sur les résistances accumulées depuis 2004 montrent des tendances différentes : chez certaines bactéries, la résistance aux antibiotiques a beaucoup augmenté, tandis que chez d’autres, elle est restée stable ou a diminué. Dans le cas d’Escherichia coli – cause fréquente de cystites – la résistance aux fluoroquinolones (une classe d’antibiotiques fréquemment utilisée) a doublé ; la résistance à une autre classe d’antibiotiques à plus large spectre, les céphalosporines de 3e et 4e génération, a pour sa part quintuplé. Dans le cas de Klebsiella pneumoniae, une autre bactérie qui infecte parfois les voies urinaires et respiratoires, la résistance a également fortement augmenté. Les taux de résistance chez ces agents pathogènes se sont toutefois stabilisés au cours des dernières années. Les causes ne sont pas encore claires et sont actuellement étudiées.

La proportion d’entérocoques résistants à la vancomycine (ERV) a légèrement augmenté depuis 2016. Malheureusement, sa présence dans un hôpital peut provoquer l’annulation de certaines opérations chirurgicales. Les ERV ont causé une importante épidémie régionale en 2018/19, raison pour laquelle cette situation est désormais étroitement surveillée.

Les infections dues à des streptocoques résistants à la pénicilline – qui peuvent par exemple causer des pneumonies – ont probablement diminué grâce à un vaccin nouvellement disponible, parce que le vaccin cible aussi les streptocoques résistants aux antibiotiques.
La proportion d’infections invasives causées par des staphylocoques dorés résistants à la méticilline a également baissé. On doit cette diminution aux efforts réalisés dans les hôpitaux pour détecter et traiter rapidement les patients infectés.

La figure décrit l’évolution de différentes formes de résistance dans diverses bactéries pathogènes responsables d’infections invasives (du sang ou des méninges).]
Taux de résistance de microorganismes hautement résistants en Suisse (source : anresis.ch ; Illustration Communication in Science)

L’antibiorésistance dans le monde

Au niveau mondial, les bactéries pathogènes les plus communes sont de plus en plus résistantes à un ou plusieurs antibiotiques. L’évolution la plus préoccupante concerne les entérobactéries, telles qu’Escherichia coli et Klebsiella pneumoniae, fréquentes dans l’intestin humain. Des souches multirésistantes sont observées de plus en plus fréquemment chez ces bactéries.

Il y a une dizaine d’années, les spécialistes étaient surtout inquiets de voir augmenter la résistance de type « ESBL », une résistance à une large gamme d’antibiotiques de la même famille que la pénicilline. Pour traiter ces infections résistantes, ils pouvaient alors utiliser une classe d’antibiotiques plus récente, les carbapénèmes. Mais depuis lors, les bactéries ont également développé des résis-tances vis-à-vis de ces antibiotiques, p. ex. grâce à des enzymes de résistance très efficaces nommés NDM-1 ou KPC. Depuis le 1er janvier 2016, les entérobactéries productrices de carbapénèmases (EPC) doivent donc obligatoirement être déclarées en Suisse.

Face à cette évolution inquiétante, les médecins ont été contraints de prescrire à nouveau des polymyxines, notamment la colistine, une ancienne classe d’antibiotiques peu utilisée à cause de ses effets secondaires, notamment sur les reins. Fin 2015, les chercheurs ont découvert une nouvelle forme de résistance à la colistine, que les bactéries s’échangent très facilement (dénommée mcr-1, elle est localisée sur un plasmide, et non sur le chromosome des bactéries). Il devient très difficile de soigner des patients infectés par des bactéries résistantes aux polymyxines, des cas qui sont encore relativement rares.

Informations complémentaires

Antibiorésistance

Autant que nécessaire, mais le moins possible : les antibiotiques permettent de sauver des vies ; ils doivent rester disponibles sur le long terme.

Entérobactéries productrices de carbapénèmases (EPC)

Les bactéries dont le développement de résistances aux antibiotiques constitue une menace de santé publique avérée ou potentielle sont étroitement surveillées.

Dernière modification 07.12.2023

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Maladies transmissibles
Section Stratégies, principes et programmes
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/krankheiten/infektionskrankheiten-bekaempfen/antibiotikaresistenzen/wie-entwickelt-sich-die-antibiotikaresistenzlage---.html