Which are the main diseases due to bacteria?

A substantial number of infections are caused by species of bacteria that are present on or in many people without producing disease.

A substantial number of infections are caused by species of bacteria that are present on or in many people without producing disease. Very often, these bacteria only become pathogenic when they end up in a place where they are not supposed to be, or when their numbers have increased unduly due to a weakening of the immune system. There are however also strains of bacteria that always cause disease, such as the enterohemorrhagic strains of Escherichia coli bacteria.

The bacteria responsible for the most common conditions

Streptococcus pneumoniae. Often referred to as “pneumococci”, these bacteria are normally present in the nose and pharynx of many people without causing any infection. It is therefore the healthy carriers in the population who transmit the bacteria to the elderly, children or other susceptible people, among whom serious disease may then occur. In Switzerland, pneumococci cause around one thousand serious infections (in the bloodstream or as meningitis) each year, as well as several thousand cases of pneumonia. These bacteria are also responsible for many self-resolving infections, including bronchitis and ear infections.  

Staphylococcus aureus is present as part of skin flora in around one third of the human population, without causing disease. Depending on the strain and the immune system of the infected person, S. aureus can infect the skin, bone and soft tissue inside the body, including the bloodstream. In hospitals, it is the most frequent cause of post-surgical infections. In animal husbandry, it can trigger various infections, particularly in the udders of dairy cows (mastitis).  

Escherichia coli is an enterobacterium that lives in the intestines of humans and animals without causing disease. It is even useful and forms part of the normal intestinal flora of healthy individuals. But it can cause infections if it goes somewhere else in the body, such as the lower urinary tract, the abdomen or the brain in the case of new-borns. Certain pathogenic strains of E. coli (for example the toxin-producing O157:H7) are known to pass from animals to humans through food products. In humans, such bacteria can lead to fever, nausea, vomiting, stomach cramps and diarrhoea, which can be fatal in some cases.  

Klebsiella pneumoniae is another species of enterobacterium commonly present in the digestive tract of healthy humans and animals. It is nevertheless one of the most common culprits for causing hospital-associated infections as well as urinary tract and respiratory tract infections, especially pneumonia. In new-borns, Klebsiella pneumoniae can infect the bloodstream, leading to increased mortality rates. This type of bacteria also has the ability to easily acquire multiple forms of antibiotic resistance.
Also worth a mention are Acinetobacter baumannii and Pseudomonas aeruginosa, which are among the so-called hospital pathogens, because they mainly produce infections within hospitals and care home. Resistance of these two bacterial species to last-resort antibiotics such as carbapenems and polymyxins is increasing, nationally and globally.

The main reportable diseases

In Switzerland, a compulsory reporting system enables doctors and laboratories to declare certain infectious diseases to each canton’s Chief Medical Officer or to the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH). This reporting allows early detection of potential public health problems, and therefore also early preventive measures if necessary. There are over 40 different diseases on the list of reportable diseases.   

For bacterial infections that are reportable, the numbers of annually reported cases shown below are estimates based on the average of the three previous years.   

Bacterial agents transmitted by the respiratory route

  • Pneumococci: invasive diseases, around 900 reported cases per year.
  • Tuberculosis: around 500 reported cases per year.
  • Legionella: around 400 reported cases per year.
  • Haemophilus influenzae (a type of bacteria that has nothing to do with the virus responsible for the flu): invasive diseases, around 100 reported cases per year.
  • Meningococci: invasive diseases, around 50 reported cases per year.  

Bacterial agents transmitted by the oral route

  • Campylobacter: around 7,500 reported cases per year.
  • Salmonella: around 1,500 reported cases per year.
  • Infections with enterohemorrhagic E. coli : around 600 reported cases per year.
  • Shigella: around 150 reported cases per year.
  • Listeria: around 50 reported cases per year.
  • Typhoid and paratyphoid fever (S. typhi, S. paratyphi): around 20 reported cases per year.  

Bacterial agents transmitted by the sexual or contaminated blood route

  • Chlamydia: around 11,000 reported cases per year.
  • Gonorrhoea: around 2,400 reported cases per year.
  • Syphilis: around 1,000 reported cases per year.  

Bacterial agents transmitted by animals

  • Lyme disease (borreliosis): around 10,000 reported cases per year.
  • Tularaemia: around 80 reported cases per year.
  • Brucellosis: fewer than 10 reported cases per year.

Last modification 15.10.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Communicable Diseases Division
Strategies, Principles and Programmes Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/krankheiten/infektionskrankheiten-bekaempfen/antibiotikaresistenzen/welche-bakteriellen-krankheiten-gibt-es-.html

Quelles sont les principales maladies bactériennes?

De nombreuses infections sont provoquées par des espèces de bactéries qui sont pourtant présentes chez la plupart des personnes sans causer de maladie.

De nombreuses infections sont provoquées par des espèces de bactéries qui sont pourtant présentes chez la plupart des personnes sans causer de maladie. Souvent, ces bactéries deviennent pathogènes lorsqu’elles se trouvent à un endroit du corps où elles ne devraient pas être présentes, ou en nombre anormalement élevé lors d’une baisse des défenses immunitaires. Ou lorsqu’il s’agit d’un sous-type (souche) de bactérie qui rend systématiquement malade (p. ex. les souches entérohémorragiques de la bactérie Escherichia coli).

Bactéries responsables des infections les plus communes

Streptococcus pneumoniae – le « pneumocoque » – se trouve habituellement dans le nez et le pharynx de très nombreuses personnes, sans provoquer d’infection. C’est donc la population dans son ensemble qui transmet le pneumocoque aux personnes âgées, aux enfants ou aux autres personnes les plus vulnérables, chez lesquelles il peut provoquer de dangereuses infections. En Suisse, le pneumocoque provoque chaque année environ un millier d’infections graves (du sang ou des méninges) et plusieurs milliers de pneumonies. Mais il est également responsable de nombreuses infections qui peuvent guérir d’elles-mêmes, telles  certaines otites et bronchites.

Staphylococcus aureus – le staphylocoque doré — fait partie de la flore microbienne de la peau d’environ un tiers de la  population, sans provoquer de maladie. Selon son type (souche) et l’état du système immunitaire de la personne qu’il infecte, le staphylocoque doré peut provoquer des infections de la peau, des tissus mous, du sang ou même des os. À l’hôpital, il est la cause la plus fréquente d’infections des plaies chirurgicales. Dans les élevages d’animaux, il peut provoquer diverses infections, notamment dans les glandes mammaires des vaches laitières.  

Escherichia coli appartient à la famille des entérobactéries. Celles-ci sont communes dans l’intestin de l’Homme et des animaux sans provoquer de maladie ; en fait, elles sont même utiles et font partie de la flore intestinale normale. Mais Escherichia coli peut causer des infections lorsqu’elle est présente dans d’autres parties du corps (infections urinaires, intraabdominales et méningites). Certaines souches pathogènes d’Escherichia coli (p.ex. la souche O157:H7, qui produit une toxine) circulent entre l’animal, les denrées alimentaires et l’Homme, chez qui elles peuvent provoquer fièvre, nausées, vomissements, crampes d’estomac et des diarrhées, qui exceptionnellement peuvent être fatales.   

Klebsiella pneumoniae est aussi une entérobactérie qui colonise normalement le tube digestif de l’Homme et des animaux. C’est pourtant l’une de bactéries qui provoque le plus grand nombre d’infections nosocomiales (liées aux soins), et d’infections des voies urinaires ou respiratoires, en particulier de pneumonie grave. Chez les nouveau-nés, Klebsiella pneumoniae peut provoquer des infections du sang, associées à des taux élevés de mortalité. Cette bactérie a aussi la particularité d’acquérir facilement de multiples formes de résistance aux antibiotiques.  

On peut encore citer Acinetobacter baumannii et Pseudomonas aeruginosa, deux bactéries qui provoquent principalement des infections dans les établissements de santé. La résistance de ces deux bactéries aux antibiotiques de dernier recours (carbapénèmes et polymyxines) ne cesse de croître, aussi bien au niveau international que national.

Les principales maladies à déclaration obligatoire

En Suisse, un système oblige les médecins et les laboratoires médicaux à déclarer certaines maladies transmissibles aux médecins cantonaux ou à l'OFSP. Ces déclarations permettent de détecter très rapidement les problèmes sanitaires éventuels, et de prendre des mesures. La liste des maladies à déclaration obligatoire contient plus de 40 maladies.

En ce qui concerne les infections bactériennes dont la déclaration aux autorités sanitaires suisses est obligatoire, le nombre moyen (sur les trois dernières années) de cas déclarés chaque année est présenté ci dessous.

Bactéries pathogènes à transmission respiratoire

  • Pneumocoques, maladie invasive (environ 900 cas déclarés par an)
  • Tuberculose (environ 500 cas déclarés par an)
  • Légionellose (environ 400 cas déclarés par an)
  • Haemophilus influenzae (qui n’a rien à voir avec le virus de l’influenza qui cause la grippe), maladie invasive (environ 100 cas déclarés par an)
  • Méningocoques: maladie invasive (environ 50 cas déclarés par an)  

Bactéries pathogènes à transmission orale  

Bactéries pathogènes à transmission sexuelle ou par du sang contaminé

Bactéries pathogènes transmises par des animaux

  • Borréliose ou maladie de Lyme (environ 10 000 cas déclarés par an)
  • Tularémie (environ 80 cas déclarés par an)
  • Brucellose (moins de 10 cas déclarés par an)  

Informations complémentaires

Maladies infectieuses : chiffres

Nombre de cas des maladies infectieuses observés en Suisse et la Principauté du Liechtenstein, mis à jour hebdomadairement.

Dernière modification 20.06.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Maladies transmissibles
Section Stratégies, principes et programmes
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/krankheiten/infektionskrankheiten-bekaempfen/antibiotikaresistenzen/welche-bakteriellen-krankheiten-gibt-es-.html