My doctor didn't prescribe antibiotics for me – why?

A survey conducted in Switzerland showed that 85% of the population in German-speaking regions, 72% in French-speaking regions and 78% in Italian-speaking regions knew that antibiotics can combat only bacteria, but not viruses.

Antibiotics combat bacteria, but not viruses or parasites

The appropriate use of antibiotic drugs saves thousands of lives every day. However, an antibiotic is a weapon that becomes weaker every time that it is used. This is why it is so important to avoid taking them when not necessary, for example against the flu or the common cold, which are caused by viruses. Taking antibiotics in such situations is not only useless but also potentially dangerous due to side effects, and because it increases the risk of developing resistant bacteria which may then be transmitted to others.

Correct use of antibiotics

Thanks to their professional experience and with the assistance of diagnostic tests, doctors are in the best position to evaluate whether an infection is bacterial or viral. If a doctor chooses not to prescribe antibiotics, it is because there is reason to believe that the condition is not caused by bacteria – or that the patient is able to ride out the disease on their own, without antibiotics.  

Common colds, sore throats, many types of cough, sinusitis and most ear infections (depending on how advanced they are) resolve spontaneously, because the immune system has the ability to eliminate the viruses responsible for these conditions. In all these cases, taking some rest and drinking plenty of fluids are the best possible recommendations. The unpleasant aspects of the disease can be soothed by inhalation therapy, throat sprays or anti-inflammatory drugs. Further treatments may be prescribed by a doctor if symptoms persist.

How to avoid infecting other people

The period during which one is liable to infect other people varies considerably depending on the type of infection. But avoiding transmission of infectious diseases follows the same basic rules linked to hygiene.  

When coughing or sneezing, it is important to do so into the crook of one's arm rather than into one's hands. Indeed, because they touch so many things, hands are the number one transmission route for many infectious diseases. For the same reasons, it is important to wash one's hands thoroughly using soap and warm water several times a day. For some people, it can be more convenient to use a small bottle of alcohol-based hand rub.  

Such precautions will help you avoid contaminating other people, including the most vulnerable: new-borns and small children, senior citizens and people whose immune system is compromised (e.g. people living with HIV, transplant patients, people on or having had chemotherapy for cancer). It is not recommended to visit someone at hospital if you are ill.

Hygiene: a few fundamental principles help reduce the risk of transmission

haendewaschen-green-de

Wash your hands
Wash your hands thoroughly with soap and water several times a day.

Arm

Cough or sneeze into the crook of your arm
If you do not have a handkerchief nearby, please cough or sneeze into the crook of your arm. This is more hygienic than holding up a hand in front of your mouth. If you do use your hands in this way, you should then wash them thoroughly with soap and water as soon as possible.

Taschentuch

Use a paper tissue if you sneeze or cough
Whenever you sneeze or cough, hold a paper tissue in front of your nose and mouth.

Precautions in the kitchen

Further information

Handwashing

Handwashing is of crucial importance when it comes to hygiene, as most infectious diseases are transmitted via the hands.

Rules for behaving in public

When a person first gets the flu they may be infectious without knowing it or having any symptoms. So it’s good to be careful when it comes to contact with other people.

Care at home

If you have the flu, stay at home. To take the pressure off the hospitals, only the most serious cases will be admitted to hospital. If you receive care at home there are preventive measures you and the people around you must follow.

Hygiene in the event of a pandemic

The spread of viruses and respiratory infections is facilitated by large gatherings of people, stale air, travelling and commerce. Hygienic measures help reduce the risk.

National Vaccination Strategy (NVS)

The Confederation, together with the cantons and other stakeholders, has drawn up a national vaccination strategy (NVS) with the aim of guaranteeing that the population is sufficiently protected from vaccine-preventable diseases.

Healthcare-associated infections (NOSO Strategy)

The objective of the National Strategy for the Monitoring, Prevention and Control of Healthcare-Associated Infections (NOSO strategy) is to reduce the number of infections acquired in hospitals and care homes in Switzerland.

Last modification 30.01.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Communicable Diseases Division
Strategies, Principles and Programmes Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/krankheiten/infektionskrankheiten-bekaempfen/antibiotikaresistenzen/mir-wurden-keine-antibiotika-verschrieben--wieso-.html

On ne m’a pas prescrit d’antibiotiques: pourquoi?

Un sondage réalisé en Suisse a montré que 72 %  des Romands, 78 % des Tessinois et 85 % des  Alémaniques savent que les antibiotiques sont  efficaces uniquement contre les bactéries, mais pas contre les virus.   

Les antibiotiques agissent contre les bactéries

La bonne utilisation des antibiotiques sauve chaque jour des milliers de vies. Un antibiotique est une arme qui s’affaiblit quand on l’emploie. C’est pourquoi il faut éviter de s’en servir lorsque cela est inutile. Prendre des antibiotiques en cas de refroidissements causés par des virus est non seulement inutile mais potentiellement dangereux. D’une part, à cause des effets secondaires de ces médicaments ; d’autre part, parce que chaque utilisation d’antibiotiques accroît la probabilité de devenir porteur – et potentiellement transmetteur – de bactéries qui résistent aux antibiotiques.

Antibiotika richtig einsetzen

A l’aide de tests diagnostics et grâce à leur expérience, les médecins sont les mieux placés pour distinguer entre infection bactérienne et infection virale. Si un médecin ne prescrit pas d’antibiotiques, c’est parce qu’il estime que la maladie n’est pas provoquée par une bactérie ou parce qu’il pense que son patient pourra guérir seul, sans antibiotiques.   

Les refroidissements, les maux de gorge, la plupart des toux, les sinusites et la majorité des otites (en fonction de leur stade de développement) disparaissent spontanément, car le corps est capable d’éliminer les virus qui en sont la cause principale. Dans tous ces cas, les meilleurs remèdes sont le repos et une bonne hydratation. Pour soulager les désagréments de ces maladies, des inhalations, des sprays, ou certains anti-inflammatoires peuvent être utilisés. Le médecin peut aussi prescrire d’autres remèdes en cas de fièvre prolongée.

Précautions pour ne pas infecter les autres

La période pendant laquelle on est contagieux, c’est-à-dire susceptible de transmettre sa maladie à son entourage, peut amplement varier en fonction du type d’infection. Quelques principes généraux d'hygiène contribuent à réduire le risque de transmission.  

Par précaution, il faut toujours veiller à tousser ou à éternuer dans le creux de son bras, plutôt que dans ses mains. Parce qu’elles touchent quantité d’objets, les mains sont l’une des principales voies de transmission des maladies infectieuses. Pour éviter la dissémination d’agents pathogènes, utiliser des mouchoirs jetables et se laver régulièrement et soigneusement les mains, en utilisant de l’eau chaude et du savon.  

En appliquant ces précautions, on évitera de contaminer les personnes les plus vulnérables : les nouveau-nés et les enfants en bas âge, les personnes âgées, les personnes dont le système immunitaire est affaibli (p.ex. les personnes vivant avec le VIH, celles ayant reçu une greffe d’organes, celles qui suivent ou ont suivi une chimiothérapie contre le cancer). Lorsqu’on est malade, il faut d’ailleurs éviter de rendre visite à des personnes à l’hôpital.

Les précautions à prendre pour ne pas infecter les autres

haendewaschen-green-de

Se laver les mains.
Lavez-vous les mains soigneusement avec de l’eau et du savon plusieurs fois par jour.

Arm

Tousser et éternuer dans le creux du coude.
Si vous n’avez pas de mouchoir en papier sur vous, toussez ou éternuez dans le creux du coude.  

Taschentuch

Tousser ou éternuer dans un mouchoir en papier.
Placez un mouchoir en papier devant la bouche et le nez pour tousser et éternuer. Après usage, jetez les mouchoirs dans une poubelle.

Précautions à prendre en cuisinant

L’alimentation peut être une source d’exposition à des bactéries résistantes aux antibiotiques. On peut réduire ce risque d’exposition au moyen de précautions simples.

Informations complémentaires

Stratégie Antibiorésistance dans le domaine humain

Autant que nécessaire, mais le moins possible. Les antibiotiques permettent de sauver des vies. Ils doivent rester disponibles sur le long terme.

Lavage des mains

Le lavage des mains joue un rôle clé, puisque c’est par les mains que se propage la majorité des maladies infectieuses. En situation de pandémie, le lavage des mains constituera un geste essentiel de protection. Il vaudra également éviter de serrer les mains.

Règles de conduite en public

Au début de la maladie, la personne est infectée sans le savoir et sans présenter les signes de la grippe. Il est donc important de rester très prudent lors de contacts proches avec les autres.

Se soigner à domicile

Si vous êtes grippé, vous devrez rester chez vous. Il faudra éviter de saturer les établissements de santé et réserver les hospitalisations aux cas les plus graves. Pour ce traitement à domicile, vous et votre entourage devrez prendre quelques précautions.

Règles d’hygiène individuelles

La vie en collectivité, l’air confiné et la multiplication des déplacements des personnes et des transports de marchandises favorisent la transmission des virus et des maladies infections respiratoires. Le respect des règles d’hygiène permet de limiter ces risques.

Stratégie nationale de prévention de la grippe (GRIPS)

GRIPS, la stratégie nationale de prévention de la grippe saisonnière, vise à réduire le nombre de cas sévère en particulier chez les personnes à risque accru de complication.

Stratégie nationale de vaccination (SNV)

La Confédération, avec l’aide des cantons et autres acteurs, a élaboré une stratégie nationale de vaccination (SNV) visant à garantir une protection suffisante de la population contre les maladies évitables par la vaccination.

Stratégie NOSO : infections associées aux soins

Grâce à la stratégie NOSO, la Confédération entend protéger davantage la population contre les infections associées aux soins, en collaboration avec ses partenaires. Les mesures appliquées et prévues sont citées ici.

Dernière modification 05.12.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Maladies transmissibles
Section Stratégies, principes et programmes
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/krankheiten/infektionskrankheiten-bekaempfen/antibiotikaresistenzen/mir-wurden-keine-antibiotika-verschrieben--wieso-.html