Children

Children are more vulnerable to flu viruses; their immune system is less well developed. So it’s important for the parents of small children with flu symptoms to contact a doctor immediately. Special measures are necessary to protect and take care of children.

 

Symptoms of flu in children

The symptoms of flu in older children (over 5) are similar to those in adults. But infants with flu may display quite different symptoms, for example acute intestinal problems or only a fever. Infants can also suffer more serious and protracted complications such as pneumonia.

Care at home

Unless the course of the illness necessitates hospitalisation, you should take care of sick children at home according to the doctor’s instructions, and if necessary with the help of a children’s nurse or midwife.
Do not give aspirin to children with the flu, as it can potentially lead to serious complications (Reye’s syndrome). Don’t give them any other medicines without consulting the doctor first.
Surgical masks are designed for adults, and are not suitable for infants. But people who come into close contact with sick infants should wear a mask. You should follow all the other hygiene precautions, particularly washing your hands.

Antiviral drugs (e.g. Tamiflu®)

Antiviral drugs are also available in children’s doses and can be prescribed by the child’s doctor if necessary.

Documents


Swiss Influenza Pandemic Plan PDF

Swiss Influenza Pandemic Plan 2018

Strategies and measures to prepare for an influenza pandemic in Switzerland

Last modification 20.11.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Public Health Directorate
Communicable Diseases Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/krankheiten/ausbrueche-epidemien-pandemien/empfehlungen-im-pandemiefall/kinder.html

Les enfants

Les enfants sont plus vulnérables face au virus grippal ; leurs défenses immunitaires sont moins développées. Il est important que les parents d'enfants en bas âge ayant des symptômes grippaux contactent immédiatement un médecin.

Les symptômes de la grippe chez l'enfant

Les symptômes chez le grand enfant (>5 ans) sont comparables à ceux de l'adulte. Par contre, chez le nourrisson, la grippe peut prendre d'autres formes, s'apparentant parfois à une gastro-entérite aiguë, ou à une fièvre isolée. Ils sont aussi plus susceptibles de développer des complications plus sévères et plus longues, comme la pneumonie.

Etre soigné à domicile

Si l'évolution de la grippe chez l'enfant ne requiert pas d'hospitalisation, ce dernier sera soigné au domicile, selon les indications d'un médecin, avec, si besoin est, l'aide d'une puéricultrice, d'une infirmière ou d'une sage-femme.
L'aspirine est fortement contre-indiquée chez l'enfant grippé, en raison des complications graves qu'elle peut entraîner (syndrome de Reye). De manière générale, éviter toute interaction en demandant l'avis d'un médecin avant d'utiliser un médicament.
Le masque d'hygiène, requis chez les adultes malades est inadapté à l'enfant en bas âge et au nourrisson. Cependant les personnes entrant en contact avec l'enfant devraient en porter.
Toutes les règles d'hygiène devront également être appliquées, particulièrement le lavage des mains.

Les médicaments antiviraux (p.ex. Tamiflu®)

Les antiviraux existent aussi en dosage pour enfants. En cas de maladie et si nécessaire, ils seront prescrits par le médecin traitant.

Documents


influenza-fr.JPG

Plan Suisse de pandémie Influenza 2018

Pour pouvoir assurer des interventions aussi efficaces que possible, un Plan de pandémie doit être périodiquement révisé et adapté à l'état de la science et aux moyens préventifs et thérapeutiques à disposition.

Dernière modification 31.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Santé publique
Division Maladies transmissibles
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/krankheiten/ausbrueche-epidemien-pandemien/empfehlungen-im-pandemiefall/kinder.html