Knowledge Nanotechnology

Nanomaterials are minute particles and surfaces that are used for a wide range of products and technologies. Not all their physical and biological effects are known as yet, but new findings are being made all the time.  

Fotolia_89425809_S

Coarse-grained materials possess constant physical and chemical properties, regardless of their mass, but with nanomaterials this is no longer the case. Their properties are predominantly dependent on the volume and surface area of the material concerned.

Nanomaterials can have other properties

Fotolia_68383260_S
© Fotolia / Elena Pankova

Nanomaterials can possess different properties in comparison with coarse-grained materials. In nanomaterials the specific surface area is much larger than in coarse-grained materials. Because the degree of chemical reactivity depends on the surface area, nanomaterials can indicate a higher reactivity than coarse-grained materials. This ability to accelerate chemical reactions is utilised for technological processes (e.g. catalytic converters, batteries and accumulators, construction materials, filter materials). Nanostructured catalysts help reduce energy consumption and the production of waste in industrial processes.

Quantum effects can occur in particles in the nanoscale range – in minute nanoparticles, the electrons only adopt certain energy states. Particles of identical size then show a similar behaviour to that of atoms or molecules. Such properties play a major role for applications in the fields of electronics, optics and chemistry.


It is often the case that no free nanomaterials are used in nanotechnology. With nanoscale-thin structures or coatings, it is possible to change the properties of surfaces in a targeted manner, for example in the fields of electronics, optics, chemistry and medicine. Composite materials can be nanostructured in order to increase their stability and functionality and simultaneously reduce their weight. This saves resources in the production process and increases energy efficiency at the application stage.

Rendering nanomaterials visible

Fotolia_82316956_S

Visible light has a wavelength in the range of a few hundred nanometres (nm). Additional electromagnetic rays occur above and below the wavelength range of visible light:

  • wavelengths ranging from 10 to 380 nm: ultraviolet (UV) light
  • wavelengths ranging from 380 to 780 nm: visible light
  • wavelengths greater than 780 nm: infrared radiation

Nanomaterials are smaller than the wavelengths of visible light, and this means they are invisible in a conventional optical microscope. However, nanoparticles can be rendered visible through the use of certain scattering effects (Rayleigh scattering) of laser light.
Electron microscopes are another option thanks to the fact that their electron radiation has a much shorter wavelength than visible light, which means they can render even the tiniest nanoparticles visible.

Interference effects

morpho_peleides

Interference effects occur when nanoscale layers of materials that refract light to differing degrees are applied precisely on top of one another. Here, the incident light can be suppressed if it overlaps with the reflected light. Different wavelengths of the light are affected, depending on the layer thickness, and this results in colour effects.

These effects can be used for producing colour filters, mirrors and prisms. Nanocoated glass reflectors of halogen lamps only reflect the visible range of light, while the heat is emitted via the reflector.

Specially coated window panes can reflect heat and thus protect interiors against excessive heat from the sun while letting in the visible light.

Protection of the skin thanks to optimal grain size

Fotolia_103209787_S
© Fotolia / BillionPhotos.com

Nanoscale titanium dioxide is used as a UV filter in sun creams. It absorbs ultraviolet light, but thanks to its extremely small particle size it is permeable for visible light. Thus to the human eye, sun creams appear to be transparent. Here, nanomaterial replaces UV filtering substances that often have problematic chemical properties for humans and the environment. Coarse-grained titanium dioxide is used as a white pigment in wall paint: in contrast to the nanoscale form, it scatters visible light.

Water repellent lotus effect

gruenes_blatt

If surfaces are coated with a finely structured three-dimensional layer (wax pellets, silicon pellets, etc.), it is almost impossible for them to become wet. Liquid forms droplets that run off and take dirt particles with them. This is known as the lotus effect, and it means that cleaning agents are required less frequently and in lower quantities. This effect is utilised for preventing the fogging up of window panes and mirrors, as well as for rendering textiles resistant to water and dirt. The lotus effect is not necessarily nano-specific: it can also occur with significantly larger surface structures in the 20 micrometre range.

Utilisation of photocatalysis

Fotolia_72109401_S
© Fotolia / Tiberius Gracchus

Titanium dioxide is a semiconductor material that is made conductive by means of UV radiation (above all anatase crystalline structure). Through UV radiation, pairs of electron holes are created in the crystalline grid. In this state, the titanium dioxide is highly reactive and this renders it extremely hydroscopic and gives it an oxidising effect. A titanium dioxide layer can therefore be used for self-cleaning surfaces, coatings and paints: dirt particles are gradually broken down on the titanium dioxide that is activated by sunlight, and this reduces the need for the use of problematic cleaning chemicals. Wherever UV light absorption is required, but photocatalytic effects need to be avoided, titanium dioxide is coated with a non-reactive layer, e.g. in products such as sun creams.

Transporting medicaments directly to the intended target

Fotolia_21769128_S
© Fotolia / Andrea Danti

In the field of medicine, efforts are being pursued to utilise the properties of nanoparticles to overcome endogenous barriers. The objectives here are to be able to directly transport active substances to the intended target and bypass endogenous defence mechanisms that would destroy these substances. If active pharmaceutical substances are packaged in nanomaterials and their coating is “addressed” with protein or nucleic acid molecules, they can be transported to the intended target in the body and only become active after they arrive at their destination. The ferromagnetic effects of nanoparticles can also be utilised in medicine: here, such particles can be heated using the effect of a magnetic field from outside the body and can then be used to destroy tumours directly at their location. In the field of diagnostics, quantum dots are opening up new ways of rendering structures and processes inside the body visible in great detail. Nanostructures and composite materials also enhance the degree of tolerability to implants and make them more durable.

Electronics and energy technology

Fotolia_79091911_S
© Fotolia / Pavel Kirichenko

Nanotechnology facilitates the construction of very small electronic circuits. With the aid of suitable materials and a lithographic technique using UV light in the extreme shortwave range it is now possible to produce functional elements with a degree of fineness up to a resolution of around 10 nm. This means that computers can operate faster and more energy-efficiently. Transparent nanostructured electrode materials make it possible to read and operate touch screens, and highly porous nanomaterials can be used for producing smaller and lighter batteries and accumulators with a higher capacity, which in turn reduces the consumption of resources. Thanks to nanomaterials capable of conducting electricity, e.g. graphene layers and carbon nanotubes, it is possible to produce highly flexible ultra-thin circuits with the aid of an inkjet printer, for example for use in medical diagnostics or for rendering materials of all kinds (e.g. textiles) functional. Quantum dots can be used to make more efficient LEDs. They also additionally reduce the consumption of energy and materials utilised in lighting, as well as in existing LEDs. With nanomaterials it is possible to increase the degree of efficiency of thin-film photovoltaic cells, which reduces the consumption of energy and materials during the manufacturing process. Composite materials reinforced with nanofibres can be used for constructing lighter and more stable structures, e.g. to increase the efficiency of wind turbines or save weight in the field of aircraft and vehicle construction, which results in lower fuel consumption.

Environmental technology

Fotolia_92352329_S
© Fotolia / DutchScenery

Numerous hazardous pollutants are highly mobile and accumulate in living organisms. In most cases they occur in greatly diluted form and are spread over a broad area. Using conventional methods they are almost impossible to eliminate from the environment. If nanoparticles are introduced into groundwater they can spread into the environment in the same way as pollutants, and break the latter down thanks to their specific reactivity. With the aid of iron oxide nanoparticles, for example, it is possible to separate arsenic from drinking water and subsequently filter it out.

Last modification 09.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Chemical Products
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/wissen-zu-nanomaterialien.html

Les connaissances en nanotechnologies

Les nanomatériaux sont de minuscules particules et surfaces utilisées dans nombre de produits et technologies. On n’en connaît pas tous les effets physiques et biologiques, mais on développe sans cesse de nouvelles connaissances. 

Fotolia_89425809_S

Les matériaux macroscopiques possèdent, indépendamment de leur masse, des propriétés physico-chimiques constantes. Pour les nanomatériaux, ce sont au contraire les propriétés liées au volume et à la surface qui sont déterminantes.

Les nanomatériaux peuvent présenter d’autres propriétés

Fotolia_68383260_S
© Fotolia / Elena Pankova

Les nanomatériaux peuvent présenter des propriétés modifiées par rapport aux matériaux macroscopiques. Leur surface spécifique est bien plus grande. Comme la capacité de réagir chimiquement dépend de la surface, les nanomatériaux ont une plus forte réactivité que les matériaux macroscopiques. Cette capacité d’accélérer les réactions chimiques est utilisée dans les processus technologiques (p. ex., catalyseurs, piles et accumulateurs, matériaux de construction, matériaux filtrants). Les catalyseurs nanostructurés contribuent à réduire la consommation d’énergie et les déchets de production dans les processus industriels.

Dans le cas des particules de la taille de quelques nanomètres, on observe aussi des effets dits quantiques. Dans les petites nanoparticules, les électrons ne possèdent plus que certains niveaux d’énergie. Des particules de taille identique ont alors un comportement comparable à celui de certains atomes ou molécules. De telles propriétés jouent un rôle important dans des applications en électronique, optique et chimie.

Les nanotechnologies n’utilisent souvent pas de nanomatériaux libres. Les propriétés des surfaces peuvent être modifiées de manière ciblée à l’aide de structures ou revêtements d’épaisseur nanométrique – que ce soit en électronique, optique, chimie ou médecine. Les matériaux composites sont nanostructurés pour augmenter leur stabilité et leur fonctionnalité, de même que réduire leur poids. Cela permet d’économiser des ressources lors de la fabrication et de renforcer l’efficacité énergétique dans le cadre de l’application.

Rendre les nanomatériaux visibles

Fotolia_82316956_S

La lumière visible possède une longueur d’onde de l’ordre de quelques centaines de nanomètres (nm). En dehors du spectre visible, on trouve d’autres rayonnements électromagnétiques :

  • longueurs d’onde de 10 à 380 nm : rayonnement ultraviolet (UV)
  • longueurs d’onde de 380 à 780 nm : lumière visible
  • longueurs d’onde supérieures à 780 nm : rayonnement infrarouge

Les nanomatériaux sont donc plus petits que les longueurs d’onde de la lumière visible. C’est la raison pour laquelle ils ne sont pas visibles avec un microscope traditionnel. Ils peuvent cependant être rendus visibles par l’utilisation de certains effets de diffusion (diffusion de Rayleigh) de la lumière laser.

Les microscopes électroniques, dont le rayonnement électronique possède une longueur d’onde beaucoup plus petite que celle de la lumière visible, peuvent eux aussi rendre visibles les nanomatériaux les plus petits.

Effets d’interférence

morpho_peleides

Lorsqu’on superpose de façon très précise des couches de matériaux d’épaisseur nanométrique qui réfractent plus ou moins la lumière, des effets dit d’interférence ont lieu. La lumière incidente peut être supprimée lorsqu’elle se superpose à la lumière réfléchie. Selon l’épaisseur de la couche, ce sont différentes longueurs d’onde lumineuses qui sont influencées et font apparaître des colorations.

De cette manière, on peut fabriquer des filtres de couleur, des miroirs et des prismes particuliers. Ainsi, les réflecteurs de verre avec revêtement nanoscopique des lampes halogènes ne réfléchissent que le domaine visible de la lumière, mais laisse passer le rayonnement thermique.

Le verre d’une vitre revêtu d’une couche spéciale peut réfléchir la chaleur et protéger ainsi les locaux intérieurs, tout en laissant passer la lumière.

Protection de la peau par une grandeur de particule convenable

Fotolia_103209787_S
© Fotolia / BillionPhotos.com

Le dioxyde de titane nanoscopique est utilisé comme filtre UV dans des crèmes solaires. Il absorbe la lumière ultraviolette alors qu’il est transparent pour la lumière visible en raison de la faible taille de ses particules. La crème solaire paraît donc transparente à l’œil humain. Dans cette fonction, le nanomatériau remplace des substances synthétiques qui filtrent les UV et possèdent souvent des propriétés chimiques problématiques pour l’être humain et l’environnement. Le dioxyde de titane macroscopique est par exemple utilisé comme pigment blanc dans les peintures murales. Contrairement à la forme nanoscopique, il réfléchit toute la lumière visible.

Effet lotus hydrophobe

gruenes_blatt

Lorsque des surfaces sont revêtues avec une couche tridimensionnelle à structure fine comme des billes de cire ou de silicone, elles ne peuvent quasiment plus être mouillées. L’eau perle et enlève les particules de saleté, ce qui permet d’utiliser moins de produit de nettoyage. Cet « effet lotus » est utilisé dans les couches antibuée sur les vitres et les miroirs, de même que dans les textiles hydrofuges et anti-salissures. L’effet lotus n’est pas nécessairement nanoscopique et peut déjà apparaître pour des structures de surface plus grossières, de l’ordre de 20 micromètres.

Utilisation de la photocatalyse

Fotolia_72109401_S
© Fotolia / Tiberius Gracchus

Le dioxyde de titane (en particulier sa forme cristalline appelée anatase) est un matériau semi-conducteur qui devient conducteur lors de son exposition au rayonnement UV. Dans le réseau cristallin, des paires d’électron-trou sont formées par le rayonnement UV. Dans cet état, le dioxyde de titane est très réactif ; il peut donc être extrêmement hydrophile et oxydant.

Une couche de dioxyde de titane peut ainsi être utilisée pour des surfaces, des revêtements et des peintures autonettoyants : les particules de saleté sont lentement dégradées par le dioxyde de titane, qui est activé par la lumière solaire, ce qui permet de réduire l’utilisation de produits chimiques problématiques. Pour d’autres applications, comme les crèmes solaires, le dioxyde de titane est recouvert d’une couche de protection non réactive afin d’absorber la lumière ultraviolette et éviter les effets photocatalytiques.

Transporter directement les médicaments jusqu’au site d’action

Fotolia_21769128_S
© Fotolia / Andrea Danti

La médecine tente d’exploiter la faculté des nanoparticules de passer à travers les barrières du corps. Cela doit permettre d’amener les principes actifs de manière plus ciblée jusqu’au site d’action et de contourner les mécanismes de défense du corps qui les détruiraient. Si des principes actifs pharmaceutiques sont emballés dans des nanomatériaux et que leur enveloppe est « adressée » avec des molécules protéiques ou d’acide nucléique, ils sont transportés jusqu’à l’endroit du corps où ils doivent déployer leur effet. Les effets ferromagnétiques des nanoparticules peuvent aussi avoir des applications médicales : pour cela, les particules sont chauffées par un champ magnétique à l’extérieur du corps et peuvent détruire des tumeurs sur-le-champ. Dans le domaine des diagnostics, les boîtes quantiques ou quantum dots ouvrent de nouvelles possibilités ultra-sensibles de rendre des structures et processus visibles dans le corps. Par ailleurs, les nanostructures et matériaux composites améliorent la compatibilité et la durabilité des implants.

Électronique et techniques énergétiques

Fotolia_79091911_S
© Fotolia / Pavel Kirichenko

Les nanotechnologies permettent la construction de circuits électroniques plus petits. Grâce à l’utilisation de matériaux appropriés et à une technique de lithographie avec rayonnement ultraviolet à ondes très courtes, il est aujourd’hui possible de fabriquer des éléments fonctionnels avec une résolution de près de 10 nm. Les ordinateurs sont ainsi plus rapides et efficaces sur le plan énergétique. Les électrodes transparentes et nanostructurées facilitent la lisibilité et l’ergonomie des écrans tactiles, les nanomatériaux à forte porosité permettent la production d’accumulateurs et de piles plus petits, légers et performants, ce qui économise les ressources. Grâce à des nanomatériaux conducteurs (couches de graphène, nanotubes de carbone), on peut fabriquer des circuits très flexibles et extrêmement fins à l’aide d’imprimantes à jet d’encre, par exemple dans les diagnostics médicaux ou pour la fonctionnalisation de matériaux en tout genre (p. ex. textiles). Les boîtes quantiques permettent de produire des LED plus efficaces et de réduire encore la consommation d’énergie et de matériaux de l’éclairage et des LED actuels. Les nanomatériaux offrent un meilleur rendement des cellules photovoltaïques à couche mince, ce qui diminue la consommation d’énergie et de matériaux lors de la fabrication. Des matériaux composites renforcés par des nanofibres permettent des constructions plus légères et stables, que ce soit pour augmenter l’efficacité des éoliennes ou réduire le poids dans la construction automobile et aéronautique, et donc diminuer la consommation de carburant.

Techniques de l’environnement

Fotolia_92352329_S
© Fotolia / DutchScenery

Nombre de polluants dangereux sont très mobiles et s’accumulent dans les organismes. Ils ne sont très souvent présents dans l’environnement que de manière fortement diluée et dispersée. Les méthodes traditionnelles ne permettent guère de les éliminer. Si l’on infiltre les bonnes nanoparticules dans les eaux souterraines, celles-ci peuvent se répartir aussi bien dans l’environnement que les polluants et les dissoudre grâce à leur réactivité spécifique. Avec des nanoparticules d’oxyde de fer, par exemple, il est possible d’éliminer l’arsenic toxique de l’eau potable, puis simplement de le filtrer.

Sources : DaNa (lien ci-dessous), Wikipédia.

Dernière modification 09.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Produits chimiques
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/wissen-zu-nanomaterialien.html