Nanomaterials : Occupational health protection

The same prevention principles are relevant for occupational health protection in connection with the use of manufactured nanomaterials as for any other substances with as-yet unknown health risks.

The health risks associated with chemicals are determined by their harmfulness and the level of exposure that occurs during handling.

Based on the current state of knowledge, it is not yet possible to assess comprehensively the health risks associated with manufactured nanomaterials. At present there is still too little data on most nanomaterials from which to derive specific threshold values, while sufficient knowledge of exposure levels has yet to be acquired in many cases.

Occupational health protection is regulated by the Labour Act, the Accident Insurance Act and the associated ordinances. However, these regulations do not specifically address nanomaterials.

It is still possible to handle nanomaterials safely even if full health protection data is not available for them. However, different principles should be observed. It can be assumed that there is a very strong probability of health being adequately protected if these principles are complied with.

The precautionary principle

The precautionary principle stipulates that substances with an unknown hazard potential should be handled the same way as harmful substances. This approach has proven effective and should therefore be applied to nanomaterials as well.

The STOP principle

The STOP principle is hierarchically structured and contains a step-by-step description of the procedure for protecting employees from harmful substances:

  1. Substitution: Harmful substances should be replaced with less harmful ones. This especially relates to the early integration of occupational safety-related aspects during the research and development of products and production methods.
  2. Technical measures: Collective technical measures used to detect, limit and divert hazardous gases, vapours and aerosols.
  3. Organisational measures: The number of employees in a work environment where exposure may potentially occur and the time they spend there should be limited. Employees must receive specific training.
  4. Personal protective measures: Appropriate protective equipment must be selected. The use of personal protective equipment (PPE) is often strenuous, and individual errors quickly result in a failure of protection. Use of PPE should therefore be considered strictly an add-on measure to the collective protective measures mentioned above.

This procedure helps minimise unnecessary contact with nanomaterials, as well as other materials.

SUVA factsheet on nanomaterials

SUVA’s factsheet provides a description of how to handle nanomaterials safely. Its recommendations are based on the STOP principle described above.

Expert support from ASA specialists

According to FCOS Directive 6508 (ASA [occupational physicians and other occupational safety specialists] Directive), employers are obligated where necessary to bring in occupational hygienists, occupational physicians or other occupational safety specialists to determine the hazards in the company and to implement corresponding measures (Art. 11a Ordinance on the Prevention of Accidents and Occupational Diseases, APO).

Focussing on airborne nanomaterials

Nanomaterials can enter the human body via different pathways (exposure routes): via the airways (inhalation exposure), through the skin (dermal exposure) or by swallowing (oral exposure). Based on current knowledge, inhalation exposure presents the greatest risk to workers, and protection for people who handle nanomaterials should therefore focus on protecting the airways. However, care must be taken to ensure that the other absorption routes are protected if the working situation requires it.

Occupational safety research

Numerous institutions around the globe are researching possible health risks associated with nanomaterials and the corresponding basic principles for occupational health protection. The Compendium of the NanoSafetyCluster contains a detailed description of current European research projects.

For further information, see Risk research.

Last modification 12.08.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Chemical Products
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/sicherer-umgang-mit-nanomaterialien/gesundheitsschutz-am-arbeitsplatz.html

Nanomatériaux : Protection de la santé au poste de travail

Lors de l’utilisation de nanomatériaux synthétiques, on applique, pour la protection de la santé au poste de travail, les mêmes principes de prévention que pour les autres substances dont les dangers pour la santé ne sont pas encore connus.

Dans le domaine des produits chimiques, on calcule les risques pour la santé en fonction de la dangerosité d’un produit et de l’exposition lors de l’utilisation de ce produit.

Les dangers pour la santé associés aux nanomatériaux synthétiques ne peuvent pas encore être évalués de manière définitive sur la base des connaissances actuelles. Nous ne disposons aujourd’hui encore que de trop peu de données en ce qui concerne la plupart des nanomatériaux pour pouvoir définir des valeurs limites concrètes et l’exposition n’est souvent pas suffisamment connue.

La protection de la santé au poste de travail est réglementée par la loi sur le travail et par la loi sur l’assurance-accidents, ainsi que par les ordonnances qui leur sont associées. Cette réglementation n’aborde pas spécifiquement les nanomatériaux.

Il est possible d’utiliser les nanomatériaux de manière sûre même en l’absence de données complètes en matière de protection de la santé. Il convient toutefois de respecter certains principes pour cela. Quiconque les respecte peut supposer qu’il est fortement probable que sa santé soit suffisamment protégée.

Principe de précaution

Le principe de précaution exige que les substances dont le risque est inconnu soient manipulées comme des substances dangereuses. Ce procédé a fait ses preuves pour faire face à une situation d’incertitude et devrait aussi être appliqué dans le cas des nanomatériaux.

Le principe STOP

Le principe STOP a une structure hiérarchique et décrit la procédure étape par étape, en vue de la protection des travailleurs contre les substances dangereuses :

  1. Substitution : Les substances dangereuses pour la santé sont à remplacer par des produits plus sûrs. Ceci nécessite la mise en place précoce de mesures de sécurité au travail dans la recherche et lors du développement de produits ou de processus de production.
  2. Technique : Il s’agit de prendre les mesures techniques collectives possibles afin de limiter la production de gaz, de vapeurs et d’aérosols dangereux, de les capturer et les évacuer.
  3. Organisation : On limitera le séjour des personnes dans le secteur de travail présentant un risque d’exposition et le personnel devra recevoir une instruction spéciale.
  4. Personnel : Il faut utiliser un équipement de protection individuelle (EPI) adéquat. Son utilisation est souvent pénible et des erreurs individuelles peuvent rapidement conduire à l’inefficacité de la protection. C’est la raison pour laquelle l’utilisation d’EPI n’est par principe qu’une disposition complémentaire aux mesures collectives de protection indiquées ci-dessus.

Cette démarche permet d’éviter tout contact inutile avec les produits impliqués, ici les nanomatériaux.

Factsheet de la SUVA sur les nanomatériaux

La Suva a établi une notice dans laquelle elle explique comment procéder pour une utilisation sûre des nanomatériaux. Ce document repose sur le « principe STOP » décrit plus haut.

Appui technique de la part de spécialistes MSST

Conformément à la directive 6508 de la CFST (directive MSST), l’employeur doit, le cas échéant, faire appel à des hygiénistes du travail, à des médecins du travail ou à d’autres spécialistes de la sécurité au travail (art. 11a de l’ordonnance sur la prévention des accidents et des maladies professionnelles (OPA)). L’objectif est de repérer les dangers existant dans l’entreprise en lien avec les nanomatériaux et de prendre les mesures nécessaires.

Accent sur les nanomatériaux véhiculés par l’air

Les nanomatériaux peuvent pénétrer dans l’organisme humain par trois voies : à travers la respiration (par inhalation), à travers la peau (par voie dermale) ou par ingestion (par voie orale). En l’état des connaissances actuelles, c’est l’exposition par inhalation qui représente le plus grand risque pour les travailleurs ; c’est pourquoi il faut protéger en priorité les voies respiratoires lors de l’utilisation de nanomatériaux. Selon la situation de travail, il ne faut toutefois pas négliger les autres voies d’absorption.

Recherche sur la sécurité au travail

Au niveau mondial, beaucoup d’institutions sont actives dans la recherche sur les risques possibles des nanomatériaux pour la santé et sur les principes de protection de la santé au travail qui en découlent. Une description détaillée des projets européens de recherche se trouve dans le Compendium 2011 du « NanoSafetyCluster ».

Informations complémentaires à la page La recherche sur le risque.


Dernière modification 15.01.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Produits chimiques
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/sicherer-umgang-mit-nanomaterialien/gesundheitsschutz-am-arbeitsplatz.html