Inspection, measurement and assessment methods

The effects of nanomaterials depend on their size, shape and composition. Reliable methods are needed to determine the effects and behaviour of nanomaterials in the human body and in the environment.

 
Fotolia_81127091_XS

Various international organisations such as the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) are developing standardised inspection, measurement and assessment methods in order to evaluate the health and environmental risks of nanomaterials.

OECD Working Party on Manufactured Nanomaterials (WPMN)

The aim of the WPMN, which was established in 2006, is to develop methods and strategies that contribute towards the safety of nanomaterials for people and the environment. This involves, among other things:

  • Reviewing existing OECD test guidelines to assess their suitability for nanomaterials. If necessary, amending existing test guidelines or developing new ones.
  • Providing freely available documents that present the research activities and strategies of OECD member countries on the safe use of nanomaterials, so called "Tour de Table" documents.
  • Supporting international partnerships that are investigating risk assessment strategies.
  • Developing guidelines on measuring and minimising exposure for employees, consumers and the environment.
  • Promoting the sustainable use of nanotechnology by enhancing and expanding inventory data and lifecycle assessment (LCA) methods.

The methods used to test conventional chemicals can generally also be used for nanomaterials. Modification is necessary in some cases, for example to enable correct sample preparation or determine the correct dose of nanomaterials. Furthermore, new methods will have to be developed, in particular to characterise nanomaterials.

In 2007, a test programme was started to test in vivo & in vitro the potential risk that eleven different nanomaterials (fullerenes, S-MWNT, silver, iron, titanium dioxide, cerium oxide, zinc oxide, silicon dioxide, dendrimers, clay and gold) posed to people and the environment. Thanks to assistance from public authorities, industry and research bodies in equal measure, the results have been available since June 2015.

 

International standardisation organisations

The technical committees ISO TC 229 Nanotechnologies and CEN TC 352 are developing standards for nanotechnology terminology and naming conventions. These expert groups are also drawing up methods for measuring, characterising and testing the toxic properties of nanomaterials, and are preparing guidelines on handling nanomaterials safely. Measuring exposure to nanoparticles and assessing toxicity throughout their lifecycle is playing an increasingly important role. The NK 0201 standards committee of the Swiss Association for Standardization (SNV) is enabling its members to work directly with ISO TC 229 and CEN 352.

Chemicals: Guidance on information requirements and chemical safety assessment for nanomaterials under REACH

The European chemicals agency ECHA has published several nano-specific appendices to its guidelines on information requirements and chemical safety assessment under REACH.

Nano-specific appendices (available in English only):

 

Foods: Guidelines for assessing the possible risks of nanotechnology

The European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) published guidelines for assessing the possible risks of nanotechnology in food and feed in 2011.

Cosmetic products: Guidance on assessing the risks of nanomaterials

The Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS) published guidance on assessing the risks of nanomaterials in cosmetics in 2012. This guidance forms the methodological basis for the safety report that has to be submitted as part of the registration process in accordance with the European Regulation on Cosmetic Products. The document can be found on this page under ‘Documents’.

Medical devices: Guidance on assessing the risks of nanomaterials

In 2015, the Scientific Committee on Emerging and Newly Identified Health Risks (SCENIHR) published guidance on assessing the risks of nanomaterials in medical devices. This highlights what needs to be specifically taken into account for nanomaterials. This guidance can also be used for particles larger than 100 nm.

Last modification 15.01.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Chemical Products
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/rechtsetzung-und-vollzug/pruef-mess-und-beurteilungsmethoden.html

Méthodes de contrôle, de mesure et d’évaluation

Les effets des nanomatériaux dépendent de leur taille, de leur forme et de leur composition. Des méthodes fiables sont nécessaires pour déterminer l’effet des nanomatériaux dans le corps humain et dans l’environnement.

 
Fotolia_81127091_XS

Différentes organisations internationales telles que l’Organisation de Coopération et de Développement Economiques (OCDE) ou l’Organisation internationale de normalisation (ISO) travaillent à mettre au point des méthodes standardisées de contrôle, de mesure et d’évaluation afin d’estimer les risques présentés par les nanomatériaux pour la santé et l’environnement.

OECD Working Party on Manufactured Nanomaterials (WPMN)

L’objectif du WPMN, fondé en 2006, consiste à développer des méthodes et des stratégies pour améliorer la sécurité des nanomatériaux pour l’homme et l’environnement. Il est notamment chargé des tâches suivantes:

  • examen de la compatibilité des directives de test de l’OCDE avec les nanomatériaux; éventuellement perfectionnement des directives ou élaboration de nouveaux textes;
  • documents librement accessibles permettant de documenter les activités de recherche et les stratégies des pays membres de l’OCDE pour une utilisation sûre des nanomatériaux, documents de «tour de table»;
  • soutien de coopérations internationales à des stratégies d’évaluation des risques;
  • élaboration de directives de mesure et de minimisation de l’exposition pour les travailleurs, les consommateurs et l’environnement;
  • promotion de l’utilisation durable des nanotechnologies par le biais du développement et l’élargissement de données d’inventaire et de méthodes d’analyse du cycle de vie.

Les méthodes de test pour les produits chimiques conventionnels peuvent généralement aussi être appliquées aux nanomatériaux. Dans certains cas, des adaptations sont nécessaires, par exemple pour une préparation correcte des échantillons ou une dosimétrie appropriée des nanomatériaux. De nouvelles méthodes doivent cependant être élaborées, particulièrement pour la caractérisation des nanomatériaux.

Un programme de tests a été créé en 2007 pour tester onze nanomatériaux différents (fullerène, S/MWNT, argent, fer, dioxyde de titane, oxyde de cérium, oxyde de zinc, dioxyde de silicium, dendrimère, argile, or) et les évaluer afin de déterminer leur potentiel de risque pour l’homme et l’environnement (in vivo et in vitro). Grâce à la contribution des autorités, de l’industrie et du monde de la recherche les résultats sont disponibles depuis juin 2015.

 

Organisations internationales de normalisation et de standardisation

Les comités techniques Nanotechnologies ISO TC 229 et CEN TC 352 mettent au point des standards de terminologie et de nomenclature des nanotechnologies. Les groupes d’experts élaborent en outre des méthodes de mesure, de caractérisation et de contrôle des propriétés toxiques des nanomatériaux, et rédigent des guides visant à garantir une utilisation sûre des nanomatériaux. La mesure (de l’exposition) et l’évaluation toxicologique des nanoparticules tout au long de leur cycle de vie jouent ici un rôle toujours plus important. Le comité CN 0201 de l’Association suisse de normalisation (SNV) permet à ses membres de collaborer directement au sein des comités ISO TC 229 et CEN 352.

Produits chimiques: Guide des exigences d’information et évaluation de la sécurité chimique des nanomatériaux selon REACH

L’Agence européenne des produits chimiques (ECHA) a publié différentes annexes au Guide des exigences d’information et évaluation de la sécurité chimique selon REACH, qui sont spécifiques aux nanomatériaux.

Annexes spécifiques aux nanomatériaux (uniquement disponibles en anglais):

 

Denrées alimentaires: guide d’évaluation des risques potentiels des nanotechnologies

L’Autorité européenne de sécurité des aliments (EFSA) a publié en 2011 un guide d’évaluation des risques potentiels des nanotechnologies en matière d’alimentation humaine et animale.

 

Produits cosmétiques: guide d’évaluation des risques des nanomatériaux

Le Comité scientifique pour la sécurité des consommateurs (SCCS) a publié en 2012 un guide d’évaluation des risques des nanomatériaux dans les produits cosmétiques. Ce guide sert de base méthodologique pour l’élaboration du rapport de sécurité qui doit être soumis dans le cadre de l’enregistrement conformément au règlement CE n° 1223/2009 relatif aux produits cosmétiques. Vous trouverez le document dans la rubrique « Documents ».

Dispositifs médicaux: guide d’évaluation des risques des nanomatériaux

Le Comité scientifique des risques sanitaires émergents et nouveaux (CSRSEN) a publié en 2015 un guide d’évaluation des risques des nanomatériaux dans les dispositifs médicaux. Ce document présente les points à prendre tout particulièrement en compte en matière de nanomatériaux. Il peut également être appliqué aux particules de plus de 100 nm.

Dernière modification 15.01.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Produits chimiques
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/rechtsetzung-und-vollzug/pruef-mess-und-beurteilungsmethoden.html