Terms and definitions

Definitions create clarity when dealing with new technology, and are a prerequisite for legislation. Various organisations are working on standardising the terms "nanotechnology" and "nanomaterials".  

Fotolia_22880281_XS

Since nanomaterials are used in an extremely wide variety of specialised applications (medicine, chemicals, foodstuffs, etc.), definitions are often specific for the industrial sector of the application in question.

Several definitions are provided below for the two key terms "nanotechnology" and "nanomaterials".

Nanotechnology

Definition according to the International Organization for Standardization ISO:

“Nanotechnology” is the knowledge about how nanoscale materials can be manipulated and controlled in order to utilise their properties resulting from the special size- and structure-related properties of individual atoms and molecules, and which differ from larger-scale macroscopic materials.

Nanomaterials

Definition according to the Swiss Chemicals and Plant Protection Products Ordinance:

Nanomaterial: A material containing particles in an unbound state or as an aggregate or as an agglomerate, where one or more external dimensions is in the size range 1-100 nm, or a material where the specific surface area by volume is greater than 60 m2/cm3. A material is only considered to be a nanomaterial if it is deliberately produced to utilise the properties arising from the defined external dimensions of the particles it contains, or from the defined surface area by volume of the material. Fullerenes, graphene flakes and single-wall carbon nanotubes with one or more external dimensions below 1 nm are considered to be nanomaterials.

Applications for Authorisation or adaptation of medicinal products in Switzerland must state whether the medicinal product contains nano-particles.

The following definition is used in this context: Nanoparticle: at least one dimension in the size range 1-1,000 nm and a function or mode of action based on nanotechnological properties.

European Commission's framework definition:

On 18 October 2011, the EU Commission adopted the following recommendation for a framework definition of nanomaterials (summary):

‘Nanomaterial’ means a natural, incidental or manufactured material containing particles, in an unbound state or as an aggregate or as an agglomerate and where, for 50% or more of the particles in the number size distribution, one or more external dimensions is in the size range 1 to 100 nanometres (nm). In specific cases and where warranted by concerns for the environment, health, safety or competitiveness, the number size distribution threshold of 50% may be replaced by a threshold between 1% and 50%; fullerenes, graphene flakes and single wall carbon nanotubes with one or more external dimensions below 1 nm should be considered as nanomaterials;

Where technically feasible and prescribed by specific legislation, nanomaterials may also be defined on the basis of their specific surface area by volume. A material should be considered as a nanomaterial when its specific surface area by volume is greater than 60 m2/cm3. However, a material which, based on its number size distribution, is a nanomaterial, should be considered as a nanomaterial even if it has a specific surface area lower than 60 m2/cm3.

European regulation on cosmetic products:

The European regulation on cosmetic products contains the following definition of nanomaterials:

"Nanomaterial" means an insoluble or biopersistant and intentionally manufactured material with one or more external dimensions, or an internal structure, on the scale from 1 to 100 nm.

European regulation on the provision of food information to consumers:

This regulation defines engineered nanomaterials as follows:

"Engineered nanomaterial" means any intentionally produced material that has one or more dimensions of the order of 100 nm or less or that is composed of discrete functional parts, either internally or at the surface, many of which have one or more dimensions of the order of 100 nm or less, including structures, agglomerates or aggregates, which may have a size above the order of 100 nm but retain properties that are characteristic of the nanoscale.

Properties that are characteristic of the nanoscale include:
(i) those related to the large specific surface area of the materials considered; and/or
(ii) specific physico-chemical properties that are different from those of the non-nano form of the same material.

Last modification 20.03.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Chemical Products
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/rechtsetzung-und-vollzug/definitionen-begriffe.html

Définitions

Les définitions facilitent la discussion sur les nouvelles technologies et sont indispensables à la législation. Différentes organisations travaillent à normaliser les concepts de «nanotechnologie» et de «nanomatériaux».

Fotolia_22880281_XS

Les nanomatériaux étant utilisés dans des domaines très variés (médecine, chimie, agroalimentaire, etc.), les définitions portent souvent l’empreinte de la discipline considérée.

Quelques définitions des deux concepts clés de «nanotechnologie» et de «nanomatériaux» sont proposées ci-après:

Nanotechnologie

Définition selon l’Organisation internationale de normalisation ISO:

la nanotechnologie est la science qui s’intéresse à la manipulation et au contrôle de la matière nanoscopique, ceci afin d’exploiter les propriétés particulières associées à sa taille et à sa structure. Les propriétés des nanomatériaux se distinguent de celles des atomes et des molécules isolés, de même que de celles des matériaux macroscopiques.

Nanomatériaux

Définition de l’ordonnance sur les produits chimiques et de l’ordonnance sur les produits phytosanitaires:

nanomatériau: matériau contenant des particules libres, sous forme d’agrégat ou d’agglomérat, dont une ou plusieurs dimensions externes se situent entre 1 et 100 nanomètres ou un matériau présentant une surface spécifique par volume supérieure à 60 m2/cm3. Un matériau est considéré comme nanomatériau lorsqu’il est produit intentionnellement afin d’exploiter les propriétés découlant des dimensions externes de ses particules ou de la surface spécifique par volume mentionnées ci-dessus. Les fullerènes, les flocons de graphène et les nanotubes de carbone à paroi simple présentant une ou plusieurs dimensions externes inférieures à 1 nanomètre sont considérés comme des nanomatériaux.

Dans le cas des demandes d’autorisation ou de modification de médicaments en Suisse, il convient en outre d’indiquer si le médicament contient des nanoparticules.

La définition suivante s’applique ici : Nanoparticule : a au moins une dimension comprise entre 1 et 1000 nm et une fonction/un fonctionnement reposant sur des propriétés nanotechnologiques.

Définition-cadre de la Commission européenne:

la Commission européenne a adopté le 18 octobre 2011, la recommandation suivante pour une définition-cadre des nanomatériaux (résumé).

On entend par «nanomatériau» un matériau naturel, formé accidentellement ou manufacturé contenant des particules libres, sous forme d’agrégat ou sous forme d’agglomérat, dont au moins 50% des particules, dans la répartition numérique par taille, présentent une ou plusieurs dimensions externes se situant entre 1 nm et 100 nm. Dans des cas spécifiques, lorsque cela se justifie pour des raisons tenant à la protection de l’environnement, à la santé publique, à la sécurité ou à la compétitivité, le seuil de 50% fixé pour la répartition numérique par taille peut être remplacé par un seuil compris entre 1% et 50%. Les fullerènes, les flocons de graphène et les nanotubes de carbone à paroi simple présentant une ou plusieurs dimensions externes inférieures à 1 nm sont à considérer comme des nanomatériaux.

Lorsque cela est techniquement faisable et requis en vertu d’une réglementation spécifique, un nanomatériau peut aussi être déterminé sur la base de la surface spécifique par volume. Tout matériau est à considérer comme un nanomatériau dès lors qu’il présente une surface spécifique par volume supérieure à 60 mètres carrés par centimètre cube. Cependant, tout matériau qui, sur la base de sa répartition numérique par taille, constitue un nanomatériau est à considérer comme un nanomatériau même s’il présente une surface spécifique par volume inférieure à 60 mètres carrés par centimètre cube.

Règlement européen relatif aux produits cosmétiques:

dans le règlement européen relatif aux produits cosmétiques, une définition provisoire des nanomatériaux est donnée :

«Nanomatériau» : un matériau insoluble ou bio-persistant, fabriqué intentionnellement et se caractérisant par une ou plusieurs dimensions externes, ou une structure interne, sur une échelle de 1 à 100 nm.

Règlement européen concernant l’information des consommateurs sur les denrées alimentaires:

Le règlement définit les nanomatériaux manufacturés comme suit :

«Nanomatériau manufacturé»: tout matériau produit intentionnellement présentant une ou plusieurs dimensions de l’ordre de 100 nm ou moins, ou composé de parties fonctionnelles distinctes, soit internes, soit à la surface, dont beaucoup ont une ou plusieurs dimensions de l’ordre de 100 nm ou moins, y compris des structures, des agglomérats ou des agrégats qui peuvent avoir une taille supérieure à 100 nm mais qui conservent des propriétés typiques de la nanoéchelle.

Les propriétés typiques de la nanoéchelle comprennent:
i) les propriétés liées à la grande surface spécifique des matériaux considérés ; et/ou
ii) des propriétés physico-chimiques spécifiques qui sont différentes de celles de la forme non nanotechnologique du même matériau.

Documents

Dernière modification 20.03.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Produits chimiques
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/rechtsetzung-und-vollzug/definitionen-begriffe.html