Legislation in brief

Depending on their area of application, nanomaterials and nanoproducts fall within the scope of a variety of laws and ordinances. Applicable provisions and planned amendments are outlined in brief below.

Current regulations:

Foodstuffs, cosmetics and packaging

Lebensmittelgeschäft

Nanomaterials in foodstuffs and cosmetics must be declared as in the EU New nanomaterials require authorisation. It must be shown that the substance neither poses a risk to human health nor gives rise to deception for authorisation to be given.

Household products

Verschiedenfarbige Plastikflaschen

Household products such as cleaning products, waterproofing sprays and paints fall within the Chemicals Ordinance irrespective of whether they contain nanomaterials or not. Manufacturers are obliged to assess the safety of their products (self-monitoring). Depending of the toxicity of the substances and nanomaterials they contain, products must be labelled with hazard symbols and display safety advice. There is an obligation to register products classified as hazardous. These products can be viewed in the public product register. The link to it can be found on this page under ‘Links’.

Household textiles

Materials and household textiles that contain hazardous substances or nanomaterials are also subject to the self-monitoring obligation. Manufacturers have to establish whether these substances and nanomaterials could make their way into the environment and endanger people or the environment when they are used and disposed of in the intended or expected manner. There is no obligation to label materials and textiles.

Spraydose

Biocidal products such as disinfectants and wood preservatives require authorisation. They may only contain active ingredients that are approved. (The link to the Active ingredients list can be found on this page under ‘Links’). Nano-forms of active ingredients are assessed separately in the authorisation procedure. If a biocidal product contains nanomaterials, this must be stated on the label.

Planned regulations:

Amendments to the Chemicals Ordinance

The Chemicals Ordinance makes a distinction between old and new substances. It distinguishes between substances that came onto the European market before 1981 and those that came onto the market after that date, and whether they are listed in the European Inventory of Existing Chemical Substances. There is an obligation to register and test new substances, whereas old substances that are classed as hazardous have to be reported. Since the properties of nanomaterials may be different from those of larger particles, nanomaterials will in future be classed as new substances. An appropriate revision to the Chemicals Ordinance is being drawn up.

More Action plan for synthetic nanomaterials

Further information

Current law

Various regulations contain nano-specific amendments. The currently most important Swiss regulations for nanomaterials are listed below.

Action plan for synthetic nanomaterials

The Action plan indicates what work is necessary in Switzerland for the safe handling of nanomaterials. On 17 December 2014, the Federal Council decided to continue the action plan until 2019.

Last modification 20.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Chemical Products
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/nano-im-alltag/rechtliches-in-kuerze.html

Les aspects juridiques en bref

Selon leur utilisation, les nanomatériaux et les nanoproduits entrent dans le champ d’application de lois et d’ordonnances différentes. Les dispositions en vigueur et les compléments prévus sont brièvement présentés ci-après.  

Réglementations actuelles :

Denrées alimentaires, cosmétiques et emballages

Lebensmittelgeschäft

Les nanomatériaux présents dans les denrées alimentaires et les produits cosmétiques doivent être déclarés de la même manière que dans l’UE. S’ils sont nouveaux, ils sont soumis à autorisation. À cette fin, il doit être prouvé que la substance ne présente aucun risque pour la santé humaine et qu’elle ne viole pas l’interdiction de tromperie. 

Produits ménagers

Verschiedenfarbige Plastikflaschen

Les produits ménagers tels que produits nettoyants, sprays imperméabilisants ou peintures relèvent de l’ordonnance sur les produits chimiques, qu’ils contiennent ou non des nanomatériaux. Les fabricants sont tenus d’évaluer la sécurité de leurs produits (contrôle autonome). Selon la toxicité des substances et nanomatériaux contenus dans leurs produits, ils doivent y apposer des symboles de danger et les accompagner de conseils de sécurité. Par ailleurs, les produits considérés comme dangereux sont soumis à l’obligation de communiquer. Le registre public des produits permet de voir quels produits sont concernés. Vous trouverez le lien vers ce registre dans la rubrique « Liens ».

Textiles

Les objets et textiles qui contiennent des substances dangereuses ou des nanomatériaux sont également soumis à l’obligation de contrôle autonome. Les fabricants doivent déterminer si ces substances et nanomatériaux sont libérés dans la nature et peuvent présenter un danger pour l’être humain et l’environnement lorsqu’ils sont employés conformément à l’usage prévu ou attendu, ou lorsqu’ils sont éliminés selon les prescriptions. Les objets et les textiles ne sont soumis à aucune obligation d’étiquetage.

Produits biocides

Les produits biocides tels que les désinfectants ou les produits de protection du bois sont soumis à autorisation. Ils ne peuvent contenir que des substances actives autorisées (Vous trouverez le lien vers la liste des substances actives dans la rubrique « Liens »). La forme nano d’une substance active est évaluée spécifiquement dans le cadre de la procédure d’autorisation. Si un produit biocide contient des nanomatériaux, celà doit être déclaré sur son étiquette.

Réglementations prévues:

Compléments à l’ordonnance sur les produits chimiques

L’ordonnance sur les produits chimiques fait la distinction entre substances existantes et nouvelles. Une substance est dite existante ou nouvelle selon si elle a été introduite sur le marché européen avant ou après 1981 et si elle figure dans l’Inventaire européen des substances chimiques commercialisés de l’UE. Une obligation d’enregistrement et de contrôle s’applique aux substances nouvelles et une obligation de communiquer aux substances existantes classées comme dangereuses. Les propriétés des nanomatériaux pouvant différer de celles de particules plus grandes, les nanomatériaux doivent être considérés à l’avenir comme des substances nouvelles. Un projet de révision dans ce sens de l’ordonnance sur les produits chimiques est en cours de préparation.

En savoir plus  Plan d’action Nanomatériaux synthétiques

Informations complémentaires

Droit en vigueur

Différentes ordonnances contiennent des compléments nanospécifiques. Les principales dispositions qui s’appliquent en Suisse aux nanomatériaux sont présentées ci-après.

Plan d’action Nanomatériaux synthétiques

Le plan d’action précise quels sont les travaux nécessaires en Suisse pour garantir une utilisation sûre des nanomatériaux. Le 17 décembre 2014, le Conseil fédéral a décidé de le prolonger jusqu’en 2019.

Dernière modification 20.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Produits chimiques
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/nano-im-alltag/rechtliches-in-kuerze.html