Risk research Nanotechnology

Risk research studies potential harmful effects of nanomaterials on human beings and the environment. It is intended to provide the basis for risk assessment and the creation of development and testing methods and strategies. 

1. Overview

Risk assessment ensures that harmful effects of nanomaterials can be avoided at the production, application and waste disposal stages. It also facilitates the identification of safe utilisation options and the initiation of risk-free innovation processes.

For the risk assessment of conventional chemicals, a comparison is made between the toxicologically tolerable exposure levels and the anticipated exposure of human beings and the environment. A risk exists if the exposure level is higher than the level that is deemed to be safe. To assess the level of risk associated with chemicals, numerous physical, chemical, toxicological and eco-toxicological properties have to be determined with the aid of internationally standardised test methods.

Within the scope of the existing certification and registration procedures, an assessment strategy has to be applied that is based on the following principles:

  • If the sales volume is low, the required quantity of data is lower than that required for chemicals with a high sales volume;
  • An initial risk assessment is made on the basis of the acute toxicity, the physical-chemical properties and the persistence of a chemical;
  • Predictions regarding long-term risks are based on findings obtained from well-studied chemicals with a similar structure or similar properties (quantitative structure activity relationship and read-across criteria);
  • In the case of high production volumes, or if there are indications of chronic effects, test data regarding long-term toxicity and accumulation in organisms (bio-accumulation) will be requested.

2. Risk evaluation of nanomaterials

To assess the risks associated with nanomaterials, the same methodology can be applied as that used for conventional chemicals. However, attention has to be paid to certain specific characteristics of nanomaterials:

  • Nanomaterials find their way into cells via different routes than conventional chemicals or particles in the micrometre range. They can reach other organs via the bloodstream and potentially trigger toxic effects;
  • It is not yet possible to assess the bio-accumulation tendency on the basis of physical-chemical properties, and this means it has to be done experimentally;
  • Not all test methods developed for conventional chemicals can be used for examining the properties of nanomaterials;
  • Existing QSAR (quantitative structure activity relationship) methods and read-across criteria cannot be applied to nanomaterials;
  • Existing models for assessing environmental behaviour cannot be used for nanomaterials.

This means that decisions concerning the data that are required for carrying out a risk assessment currently have to be taken on a case-by-case basis. This procedure is feasible, but it is too complex for both the industry and the relevant authorities. The methodology for risk assessment needs to be further developed and refined so that it takes account of the specific characteristics of nanomaterials. Future test strategies should ensure that nanomaterials that trigger long-term effects can be identified at an early stage, and tests will then only be required on animals if these are required for a more comprehensive risk assessment. Wherever possible, models should replace measurements and the “3 Rs” principle (replace, reduce, refine) should be applied in order to minimise the need for tests on animals and the use of resources.

3. Questions relating to risk research

Despite intensive research activity there are still gaps in knowledge that need to be filled by carrying out research. At both the national and the international level, research projects and joint efforts aimed at further developing test methods and strategies (e.g. OECD WPNM) are currently in progress. Research questions serve as the basis for planning and implementing projects in a targeted manner. To illustrate the areas of research that are ongoing or to be addressed in the near future, and which are of relevance to the authorities, a selection of questions is presented below:

Scientific questions relating to the assessment of the toxicity of nanomaterials

  • How can the methodology for the assessment of the risks associated with nanomaterials be refined so that it will be possible to reliably identify those nanomaterials that potentially cause long-term effects, efficiently and without the needs for tests on animals?
  • In the same way as conventional chemicals, the effects of hazardous nanomaterials are caused via toxicological chains (or “adverse outcome pathways”). By studying cell cultures (in vitro) it is possible to describe the individual steps of an adverse outcome pathway (referred to as “key events”) and examine whether any of these apply to a given nanomaterial. Which adverse outcome pathways are relevant for nanomaterials and which cell cultures can be used for measuring their key events?
  • Which existing test methods for conventional chemicals need to be adapted in view of the special physical-chemical properties of nanomaterials, and how can this be done? Which new test methods need to be developed in order to measure nano-specific properties?
  • What would be the minimal set of physical-chemical parameters that unequivocally describes a nanomaterial and enables its toxicological assessment?
  • The distribution behaviour of nanomaterials in the human body and the environment is determined by other physical-chemical properties than those of conventional chemicals. Which properties determine distribution behaviour such as the bio-accumulation of nanomaterials, and how do existing models for predicting this behaviour need to be adapted?

Questions regarding the regulation of nanomaterials

  • Chemicals legislation stipulates that chemicals and nanomaterials must be classified and labelled as hazardous substances. Do the classification criteria for chemicals (GHS, PBT) need to be adapted for nanomaterials, and if so, how?
  • What form could harmonised datasets take for certification and registration procedures?
  • Can adverse outcome pathways be used as the basis for forming groups of nanomaterials that can be tested using the same strategy?

4. Risk assessment tools

The development and standardisation of test methods and strategies for examining the specific properties of synthetic nanomaterials are currently in progress within both national and international bodies. Until such time as this process has been completed, a variety of tools for assessing risks and safely handling nanomaterials are available that have been developed within the scope of the “Synthetic Nanomaterials Action Plan”:

Safe handling

Testing, measurement and assessment methods

5. Risk information

The results of research on nanomaterials and their impacts on human beings and the environment may be viewed on the platform of the “DaNa – Data and Knowledge on Nanomaterials” project, which is receiving the support of the Federal Office of Public Health and the FOEN. This platform provides information about the nanomaterials contained in various products. For more detailed information, please refer to the links below.

Last modification 20.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Chemical Products
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/forschung-nanomaterialien/risikoforschung-nanomaterialien.html

La recherche sur le risque Nanotechnologies

La recherche sur le risque examine les effets des nanomatériaux sur l’homme et sur l’environnement. Elle doit jeter les bases de l’évaluation des risques ainsi que du développement de méthodes et de stratégies de test. 

1. Vue d'ensemble

Non seulement l’évaluation des risques garantit que les effets nocifs des nanomatériaux peuvent être évités lors de leur production, de leur utilisation et de leur élimination, mais elle permet aussi d’identifier des possibilités d’exploitation sûres et de s’engager dans des processus d’innovation appropriés.

Lors de l’évaluation des risques des produits chimiques conventionnels, on compare l’exposition tolérable du point de vue toxicologique avec l’exposition attendue de l’homme et de l’environnement. On considère qu’il y a un risque lorsque l’exposition est plus élevée que celle qui est estimée inoffensive. Pour évaluer la dangerosité des produits chimiques, il faut déterminer nombre de leurs propriétés physiques, chimiques, toxicologiques et écotoxicologiques au moyen de méthodes de test standardisées au niveau international.

Dans le cadre des procédures de notification et d’enregistrement en vigueur, on applique une stratégie d’évaluation basée sur les principes suivants :

  • Pour de petites quantités vendues, on exige moins de données que pour les hauts tonnages.
  • Une première évaluation des risques est effectuée sur la base de la toxicité aiguë, des propriétés physico-chimiques et de la persistance du produit chimique. Pour prévoir les risques à long terme, on utilise des valeurs basées sur l’expérience concernant des produits chimiques connus et ayant une structure ou des propriétés analogues (approche QSAR [quantitative structure-activity relationship], qui porte sur la relation quantitative entre la structure et l’activité, et approche read-across, soit la lecture croisée).
  • Pour de grandes quantités produites ou en cas d’indications sur des effets chroniques, on exige des données de test sur la toxicité à long terme et sur l’enrichissement dans des organismes (bioaccumulation).

2. Evaluation des risques des nanomatériaux

En principe, la méthode d’évaluation des risques des nanomatériaux peut être identique à celle utilisée pour les produits chimiques conventionnels. Elle doit toutefois prendre en compte différentes propriétés spécifiques des nanomatériaux :

  • Les nanomatériaux pénètrent les cellules par d’autres voies que celles empruntées par les produits chimiques conventionnels ou par les microparticules. De ce fait, ils peuvent accéder à d’autres organes en passant dans la circulation sanguine et sont susceptibles d’entraîner des effets toxiques.
  • La tendance à la bioaccumulation des nanomatériaux ne pouvant pour l’instant pas être évaluée sur la base des propriétés physico-chimiques, elle doit être déterminée de manière expérimentale.
  • Toutes les méthodes de test développées pour les produits chimiques conventionnels ne peuvent pas être utilisées pour contrôler les propriétés des nanomatériaux.
  • Les approches QSAR et read-across existantes ne sont pas applicables aux nanomatériaux.
  • Les modèles de comportement écologique existants ne sont pas transposables aux nanomatériaux.

Cela signifie qu’à l’heure actuelle, il faut décider au cas par cas des données requises pour l’évaluation des risques. Cette manière de procéder est certes possible, mais fastidieuse tant pour les industriels que pour les autorités. Il est donc indispensable de perfectionner et d’affiner la méthode d’évaluation des risques, méthode qui prend en compte les propriétés spécifiques des nanomatériaux. À l’avenir, les stratégies de test devraient veiller à ce que les nanomatériaux provoquant des effets à long terme puissent être identifiés de manière précoce et que des tests sur des animaux ne soient exigés que s’ils sont nécessaires à une évaluation plus fiable des risques. Dans la mesure du possible, des modèles doivent remplacer des mesures et le principe des trois R (remplacer, réduire et réformer) doit être appliqué afin que l’utilisation des animaux de laboratoire et des ressources soit limitée à un minimum.

3. Questions de la recherche sur le risque

Malgré d’importants travaux de recherche, il subsiste des lacunes de connaissances, qui devront être comblées par des projets de recherche. Aux niveaux national et international, des projets ont été lancés et des coopérations ont été établies afin de mettre au point de nouvelles méthodes et stratégies de test (p. ex. Groupe de travail de l’OCDE sur les nanomatériaux manufacturés). Les questions de recherche servent à planifier et à réaliser les projets de manière ciblée. Pour illustrer les thèmes pertinents pour les autorités qui sont traités actuellement ou qui le seront prochainement, voici une sélection des questions posées :

Questions scientifiques sur l’évaluation de la toxicité des nanomatériaux :

  • Comment affiner la méthode d’évaluation des risques des nanomatériaux pour que les nanomatériaux susceptibles de provoquer des effets à long terme soient identifiés de manière efficace et fiable, si possible sans effectuer d’expériences sur les animaux ?
  • Les nanomatériaux dangereux comme les produits chimiques conventionnels agissent à travers des chaînes d’effets toxicologiques néfastes (appelées AOP, Adverse Outcome Pathways). Grâce à des études réalisées avec des cultures cellulaires in vitro, il est possible de décrire les différentes étapes d’un AOP, c’est-à-dire les événements clés, et de contrôler les nanomatériaux en fonction de ces événements clés. Quels AOP sont pertinents pour les nanomatériaux et quelles cultures cellulaires permettent de mesurer leurs événements clés ?
  • Quelles méthodes de test utilisées pour les produits chimiques conventionnels doivent faire l’objet d’une adaptation en raison des propriétés physico-chimiques spécifiques des nanomatériaux, et comment ? Quelles méthodes de test doivent être développées afin de mesurer les propriétés spécifiques des nanomatériaux ?
  • Quel jeu minimal de paramètres physico-chimiques définit clairement un nanomatériau et permet une évaluation toxicologique des nanomatériaux ?
  • Dans le cas des nanomatériaux et des produits chimiques conventionnels, les propriétés physico-chimiques qui déterminent le comportement de dispersion dans le corps humain et dans l’environnement ne sont pas les mêmes. Quelles propriétés déterminent le comportement de dispersion des nanomatériaux, tel que la bioaccumulation, et comment faut-il adapter les modèles existants de prévision du comportement ?

Questions sur la réglementation des nanomatériaux :

  • La législation en matière de produits chimiques exige la classification et l’étiquetage des produits chimiques et des nanomatériaux en tant que substances dangereuses. Les critères de classification mis au point pour les produits chimiques (SGH, PBT) doivent-ils être adaptés pour les nanomatériaux et, si oui, comment ?
  • Une fois harmonisés, quels ensembles de données seraient utilisés pour les procédures de notification et d’autorisation ?
  • Les AOP peuvent-ils servir de base à la constitution de groupes de nanomatériaux contrôlables avec la même stratégie de test ?

4. Outils pour l’estimation du risque

Le développement de méthodes de test et leur standardisation, de même que de stratégies de test visant à contrôler les propriétés spécifiques des nanomatériaux synthétiques est poursuivi au niveau national ainsi que dans les organismes internationaux. Jusqu’à ce que les résultats soient disponibles, différents instruments pour l’estimation du risque et pour une utilisation sûre des nanomatériaux ont été élaborés dans le cadre du «Plan d’action Nanomatériaux synthétiques» :

Utilisation sûre

Méthodes de contrôle, de mesure et d’évaluation

5. Information sur le risque

Les résultats des recherches relatifs aux nanomatériaux et à leurs effets sur l’homme et sur l’environnement peuvent être consultés sur la «Plate-forme des connaissances sur les nanomatériaux» du projet «DaNa» (Daten und Wissen zu Nanomaterialien). Le projet est soutenu par l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) et l’Office fédéral de l’environnement (OFEV). La plate-forme donne aussi des indications sur les différents produits contenant des nanomatériaux. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations à ce sujet sous les liens pertinents.

Dernière modification 20.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Produits chimiques
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/forschung-nanomaterialien/risikoforschung-nanomaterialien.html