Research nanotechnology

Developing innovative products and protecting our health and the environment against potential risks posed by nanotechnology require a scientific and methodical approach. Here the federal government offers targeted support.

Fotolia_90379285_S_F

Switzerland

Switzerland attaches a great deal of importance to research into nanotechnology. Numerous programmes have been created for both basic and applied research.

Research in the fields of nanotechnology and nanomaterials is currently being supported by the Swiss National Science Foundation via a National Research Priority project. Furthermore, two National Research Programmes have been carried out in this area.

Swiss Nanoscience Institute SNI

The aim of the “Nanosciences” National Research Priority project is to create impulses for “life sciences, sustainability and new information & communication technologies”. It also formed the basis for the establishment of the Swiss Nanoscience Institute (SNI) at the University of Basel. 

SNI - Swiss Nanoscience Institute
intelligente_materialien_nfp62

“Smart Materials” – National Research Programme NRP 62

Smart materials have enormous innovation potential. Finding ways to use new smart materials could greatly benefit many companies in Switzerland, especially those in the watch making, mechanical engineering, medical technology, pharmaceuticals, energy and construction industries. The objectives of National Research Programme NRP 62, “Smart Materials” – which was initiated jointly by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) and the Commission for Technology and Innovation (CTI) – were to promote the development of new smart materials and transfer promising findings into CTI research and development projects. NRP 62 was concluded in spring 2015.

“Smart Materials” – National Research Programme NRP 62
nationales_forschungsprogramm_nfp64

National Research Programme NRP 64 – “Opportunities and Risks of Nanomaterials”

The aim of National Research Programme NRP 64, “Opportunities and Risks of Nanomaterials”, was to identify and promote necessary areas of research in order to gain a better understanding of the main opportunities and potential risks associated with products based on synthetic nanoparticles.
The research carried out within the scope of this programme provided scientific bases for formulating recommendations and proposing suitable measures relating to the production, use and disposal of these nanoparticles. In this way, society can benefit from scientific progress in the field of synthetic nanoparticles and their applications, and consumers and the environment can be better protected against their potentially undesirable effects. NRP 64 was initiated in December 2010 and concluded 2017.

National Research Programme NRP 64 – “Opportunities and Risks of Nanomaterials”
Logo Swiss Confederation

Innosuisse – Swiss Innovation Agency and the Environmental Technology Fund of the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN) are supporting application-based research and development and promoting entrepreneurship. Innosuisse is supporting application-oriented projects in all areas of research-based innovation. Its support is divided into a variety of areas, including micro- and nano- technologies.

Innosuisse - Swiss Innovation Agency

Intensive basic and applied research in the fields of nanosciences and nanomaterials is also being carried out in Switzerland outside the scope of the national priority and research programmes, namely at the two Federal Institutes of Technology, and at various universities and colleges of technology.

International research activities

The potentials of nanotechnology and nanomaterials are being researched all over the world. The objectives here are to identify potential risks for human beings and the environment, and to examine ethical, economic, regulatory and social issues. Below is an overview of some of the major EU research programmes in which researchers from Switzerland are involved.

RP7

Approximately 400 projects relating to nanotechnology and nanomaterials were supported in the period from 2002 to 2006 within the scope of the Sixth Framework Programme (RP6). And around 700 research projects are currently being carried out within the scope of the EU’s Seventh Framework Programme (RP7). These include projects aimed at studying toxic effects, and others that are focusing on the applications and processes that could be harmful to human beings and the environment. Various other projects are studying the development of test strategies for identifying the properties of nanomaterials and the preparation of risk assessment methods.

The FOEN, the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) and the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) are participating in individual projects within the scope of the EU ERA-NET SIINN (Safe Implementation of Innovative Nanoscience and Nanotechnology) research programme. Here the FOEN was involved in the NanoHETER “Fate of Engineered Nanoparticles” project at the Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich, in which the interactions of synthetic nanoparticles with natural solids in surface bodies of water were modelled. Another SIINN project, “Assessment of individual exposure to engineered nanomaterials by means of personal monitors and samplers (nanoIndEx)”, was co-financed by the FOPH and SECO. This project studied the exposure of individuals to synthetic nanoparticles at the workplace with the aid of portable measuring devices. The North-West Switzerland University of Applied Sciences was a partner in this project. The SIINN projects were concluded in 2016.

SIINN NanoHETER project (Heteroaggregation of Manufactured Nanoparticles with Naturally Occurring Colloids in Surface Waters)

The EU’s NANoREG (Regulatory Testing of Nanomaterials) research project focused on issues of relevance to legislation. The FOEN, FOPH and SECO were involved in this project together with various Swiss research partners, who participated in the development of models for assessing exposure at the workplace (IST, Lausanne), as well as in the identification of methods for characterising nanomaterials (Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne) and the development of high throughput screening methods (EMPA laboratories). NANoREG was concluded in 2017.

NANoREG project (A common European approach to the regulatory testing of manufactured nanomaterials)
horizon2020

To continue its co-financing of EU projects, Switzerland is now participating in the Horizon 2020 PROSAFE project, which is to be concluded in 2017 and is focusing on the development of a “safe by design” methodology for nanomaterials.

PROSAFE project (Promoting the Implementation of Safe by Design)

Last modification 09.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Chemical Products
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/forschung-nanomaterialien.html

Recherche Nanotechnologies

Élaborer des produits innovants et protéger la santé et l’environnement contre les dangers potentiels de la nanotechnologie requièrent des bases scientifiques et méthodologiques. La R&D a donc le soutien ciblé de la Confédération.

Fotolia_90379285_S_F

Suisse

La place scientifique suisse accorde une grande importance à la nanotechnologie. Il existe de nombreux programmes encourageant non seulement la recherche fondamentale mais aussi la recherche appliquée.

Actuellement, la recherche dans le domaine de la nanotechnologie et des nanomatériaux bénéficie du soutien du Fonds national suisse, par le biais d’un Pôle de recherche national (PRN).

Logo_SNI

Le Pôle de recherche national «Nanosciences», qui entend générer des «impacts pour les sciences de la vie, la pérennité et les nouvelles technologies d’information et de communication», a constitué le point de départ de la fondation du Swiss Nanoscience Institute (SNI) de l’Université de Bâle.

SNI - Swiss Nanoscience Institute
intelligente_materialien_nfp62

Matériaux intelligents – Programme national de recherche PNR 62

Le potentiel d’innovation des matériaux intelligents est énorme. La maîtrise de ces nouveaux matériaux est un gage de compétitivité pour l’industrie suisse, particulièrement dans le domaine de l’horlogerie, des machines, des technologies médicales, de la pharmaceutique, de l’énergie et de la construction. Programme de coopération entre le Fonds national suisse (FNS) et l’agence pour la promotion de l’innovation (CTI), le Programme national de recherche « Matériaux intelligents » (PNR 62) entend développer de nouveaux matériaux intelligents et amener les projets prometteurs au stade R&D. Le PNR 62 s’est achevé au printemps 2015.

Matériaux intelligents – Programme national de recherche PNR 62
nationales_forschungsprogramm_nfp64

Opportunités et risques des nanomatériaux – Programme national de recherche PNR 64

Le Programme national de recherche « Opportunités et risques des nanomatériaux » (PNR 64) identifie et encourage des secteurs où une recherche additionnelle est nécessaire afin de mieux comprendre les opportunités et les risques des produits à base de nanoparticules synthétiques.

La recherche effectuée doit fournir la base scientifique à des recommandations et des mesures appropriées quant à la fabrication, à l’utilisation et à l’élimination des nanomatériaux. Elle permet à la société de bénéficier des progrès scientifiques liés à la recherche sur les produits dérivés des nanomatériaux synthétiques, tout en assurant la protection des consommateurs et de l’environnement. Le PNR 64 a été lancé en décembre 2010 et s’est achevé 2017.

Opportunités et risques des nanomatériaux – Programme national de recherche PNR 64
Logo Confédération

Innosuisse – Agence suisse pour l’encouragement de l’innovation et la promotion des technologies environnementales de l’Office fédéral de l’environnement (OFEV) encouragent la recherche et le développement appliqués, et l’entrepreneuriat. Innosuisse encourage les projets innovants orientés vers l’application dans tous les domaines d’innovation basés sur la recherche. Les projets soutenus sont répartis en différents domaines thématiques, dont les microtechnologies et les nanotechnologies.

Innosuisse - Agence suisse pour l'encouragement de l'innovation

En Suisse, en dehors des PNR et PRN, les écoles polytechniques fédérales (EPF), les universités et les hautes écoles spécialisées mènent des recherches fondamentale et appliquée intensives sur les nanosciences et les nanomatériaux.

International

Les possibilités offertes par la nanotechnologie et les nanomatériaux font l’objet de recherches dans le monde entier. Les enjeux sont multiples : déterminer les risques potentiels pour l’homme et l’environnement, mais aussi répondre aux questions éthiques, économiques, réglementaires et sociales ainsi soulevées. Voici une sélection de grands programmes de recherche de l’UE auxquels participent des chercheurs suisses.

RP7

Dans le 6e programme-cadre (6e PC), environ 400 projets ont été soutenus entre 2002 et 2006 dans le domaine de la nanotechnologie et des nanomatériaux. Dans le 7e programme-cadre (7e PC), quelque 700 projets de recherche sont actuellement menés. Certains projets étudient les effets toxiques ou examinent les applications et les processus susceptibles de porter atteinte à l’homme et à l’environnement. D’autres s’intéressent au développement de stratégies de test visant à contrôler les propriétés des nanomatériaux et à l’élaboration de méthodes d’évaluation des risques.

L’OFEV, l’OFSP et le SECO participent à différents projets faisant partie du programme de recherche de l’Union européenne ERA-NET SIINN (Safe Implementation of Innovative Nanoscience and Nanotechnology). Dans ce cadre, l’OFEV participe au projet «Fate of Engineered Nanoparticles» NanoHETER de l’EPF de Zurich, qui modélise les interactions des nanoparticules synthétiques avec les solides naturels dans les eaux de surface. Un autre projet SIINN, « Assessment of individual exposure to engineered nanomaterials by means of personal monitors and samplers » (nanoIndEx), est cofinancé par l’OFSP et le SECO. Le projet analyse l’exposition personnelle aux nanoparticules synthétiques dans le milieu professionnel, à l’aide d’appareils de mesure portatifs. Le partenaire de recherche est la Haute école spécialisée de la Suisse du Nord-Ouest. Les projets SIINN se sont achevés en 2016.

Dans le projet de recherche de l’Union européenne NANoREG (Regulatory testing of nanomaterials), certaines questions pertinentes pour la réglementation sont abordées. L’OFEV, l’OFSP et le SECO y participent, en collaboration avec des partenaires suisses de la recherche. Ces partenaires sont impliqués dans le développement de modèles visant à estimer les expositions au poste de travail (IST, Lausanne), dans l’élaboration de méthodes de caractérisation des nanomatériaux (EPFL) et dans le développement de méthodes de criblage à haut débit (EMPA). Le projet NANoREG s’est achevé en 2017.

Projet NANoREG (A common European approach to the regulatory testing of Manufactured Nanomaterials) (en anglais)
horizon2020

Dans le prolongement des projets cofinancés au titre de NANoREG, la Suisse participe au projet PROSAFE du programme-cadre Horizon 2020. Se poursuivant jusqu’en 2017, ce projet met en place une méthodologie « safe by design » (approche visant à minimiser les risques des nanomatériaux dès leur conception).

Projet PROSAFE (Promoting the Implementation of Safe by Design) (en anglais)

Dernière modification 01.07.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Produits chimiques
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/forschung-nanomaterialien.html