Dialogue-based events

Dialogue is a key element in developing new technologies. Opportunities and risks have to be discussed and ways have to be found to safely and sensibly handle new technologies.  

Dialogveranstaltung

Various dialogue-based events involving the public, industry, academia and the authorities have taken place in Switzerland and internationally. Some of these dialogue forums are listed and described below. You will find the relevant documentation under “Documents” or “Links”.

Dialogue-based events in Switzerland

Nanotechnology from the consumer's viewpoint:

In 2010 and 2011, a total of 103 interviews were conducted with consumers as part of a study supported by the Federal Office of Public Health. The interview questions focused on people's level of knowledge, their assessment of the risks and opportunities, and the need for information about nanotechnology.


Dialogue-based event on consumer information:

In 2009 the Federal Office of Public Health invited consumer organisations, industry, retailers and public authorities to take part in a dialogue. The intention was to find ways of providing the public with transparent, comprehensible information about nanotechnology and its uses. The event demonstrated that the public want to be told which products contain nanomaterials. They would like easy-to-understand, neutral information on the uses of nanomaterials and their safety, and want the declaration of nanoproducts to be introduced in coordination with the EU.


Centre for Technology Assessment (TA-SWISS):

As a centre of excellence for the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences, TA-SWISS held a "publifocus" event on "Nanotechnology and what it means for health and the environment" in 2006. The aim was to obtain an initial assessment of the participants’ acceptance, wishes and reservations with respect to nanotechnology and to identify any unanswered questions.

International dialogue-based events

Strategic Approach to International Chemicals Management (SAICM):

The objective of SAICM, which involves the member countries of the United Nations, is to promote the safe use of chemicals. At the Second International Conference on Chemicals Management (ICCM2) in May 2009, nanotechnology and synthetic nanomaterials were included on the agenda for the first time. The focus here is on exchanging information with developing and emerging nations.

Considerations on information needs for nanomaterials in consumer products:

Discussion of a labelling and reporting scheme for nanomaterials in consumer products in the EU, April 2014

BASF's Nano Dialogue Forum:

At this forum, which was held during 2011 and 2012, consumers' needs for information on nanoproducts were discussed and recommendations developed on how to increase transparency on nanomaterials in products.

International Nano-Authorities Dialogue

The International Nano-Authorities Dialogue, which was first held in Munich in 2006, is a transnational platform on the safe and sustainable use of nanotechnology. Its members are the environmental protection, health and occupational safety authorities from the German-speaking world.
The aim of this platform is to provide a space for these authorities to share experiences and pursue transnational dialogue on current issues surrounding nanotechnology and nano governance.
Once a year, the authorities from Switzerland, Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein and Luxembourg (a member since 2016) meet with NGOs, organisations and companies.

Last modification 09.08.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Chemical Products
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/dialogforen-nanotechnologie.html

Espaces de dialogue

Le dialogue est un élément essentiel pour l’évolution des nouvelles technologies. Il convient de débattre des opportunités et des risques, et de trouver des solutions pour une utilisation sûre et rationnelle des nanomatériaux.  

Dialogveranstaltung

Différentes rencontres ont eu lieu en Suisse et à l’étranger entre le public, l’industrie, le monde scientifique et les autorités. Vous trouverez ci-après une brève description de ces manifestations. Les documents à ce sujet peuvent être consultés à la rubrique « Documents » et « Liens ».

Rencontres en Suisse

Les nanotechnologies vues par les consommateurs :

dans le cadre d’une étude soutenue par l’Office fédéral de la santé publique, 103 entretiens avec des consommateurs ont été menés en 2010 et 2011. Les questions portaient sur les connaissances personnelles, l’évaluation des chances et des risques ainsi que le besoin d’information sur les nanotechnologies.


Plate-forme de dialogue pour l’information des consommateurs :

en 2009, l’Office fédéral de la santé publique a invité au dialogue des organisations de consommateurs ainsi que des représentants de l’industrie et du commerce de détail et des autorités. Cette démarche avait pour but de rechercher des possibilités d’informer le public de manière transparente et compréhensible sur les nanotechnologies et leurs applications. Elle a montré que la population aimerait être informée si des produits contiennent des nanomatériaux et les lesquels. Elle souhaiterait des informations neutres et compréhensibles sur les applications et la sécurité des nanomatériaux. La déclaration des nanoproduits en Suisse doit être harmonisée avec celle de l’UE.  

Centre d’évaluation des choix technologiques (TA-SWISS):

en tant que centre de compétences des Académies suisses des sciences, TA-SWISS a organisé en 2006 une série de débats (publifocus) sur «Les nanotechnologies et leur importance pour la santé et l’environnement». Ces débats visaient à recueillir chez les participants de premières évaluations sur l’acceptation, les souhaits, les préoccupations et les questions ouvertes concernant les nanotechnologies.

Rencontres internationales

Strategic Approach to International Chemicals Management (SAICM)

le SAICM, auquel participent les pays membres de l’ONU, a pour objectif de promouvoir une utilisation sûre des produits chimiques. En mai 2009, la deuxième «International Conference on Chemicals Management (ICCM2)» a été l’occasion d’ajouter une nouvelle thématique aux débats, celle des nanotechnologies et des nanomatériaux synthétiques. Cette rencontre a donné la priorité aux échanges d’informations avec les pays émergents et en développement.  

Considerations on information needs for nanomaterials in consumer products

Rapport de la commission européenne, avril 2014.

Dialogforum Nano BASF

ce forum organisé en 2011/2012 a été l’occasion de discuter du besoin d’informations des consommateurs sur les nanoproduits et d’élaborer des recommandations sur la manière d’améliorer la transparence en matière de produits contenant des nanomatériaux.

International Nano-Authorities Dialogue

L’International Nano-Authorities Dialogue, dont la première édition s’est tenue en 2006 à Munich, est une plate-forme de dialogue réunissant les autorités chargées de l’environnement, de la santé publique et de la protection des travailleurs des États germanophones. Elle vise à assurer une utilisation sûre et durable des nanotechnologies.
Il s’agit d’un rendez-vous annuel durant lequel des représentants des autorités suisses, autrichiennes, allemandes, liechtensteinoises et, depuis 2016, luxembourgeoises s’entretiennent avec diverses ONG, associations et entreprises.
Son objectif est de favoriser le dialogue à l’échelle internationale et de permettre aux participants d’échanger leurs expériences sur des questions d’actualité liées aux nanotechnologies et à leur réglementation.

Dernière modification 06.11.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Produits chimiques
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/nanotechnologie/dialogforen-nanotechnologie.html