Human biomonitoring projects in Switzerland

Switzerland is launching a pilot phase to assess the feasibility of a nationwide human biomonitoring (HBM) project (cohort study).

Current situation

In May 2017, a report was submitted to the Federal Council on the current situation and outlook for biomonitoring in Switzerland. An initial report, the Federal Council’s response to the parliamentary intervention Moser 08.3223, was published in 2009 and gave an overview of the HBM projects in Switzerland up to that time. The new report takes stock of the current situation and provides an outlook for the future.

Between 2010 and 2012, Switzerland participated in DEMOCOPHES, the first HBM study coordinated at a European level. In each of the 17 participating countries, up to 120 mother-child couples were invited to provide urine and hair samples, which were then analysed for several known chemicals. In addition, the mothers filled in a questionnaire about behaviours and habits relevant for the exposure to these substances.

In Switzerland, some larger studies such as SAPALDIA or CoLaus associate biomonitoring data to clinical data and thorough interviews about life style, dietary habits or socio-economic factors. A regular follow-up of the volunteers can bring to light risk factors and behaviours for known diseases.

However, projects in this area are sporadic, and are limited in duration and scope. They often focus on a specific issue, e.g. the Swiss Transplant Cohort Study (STCS). There is thus no study giving a global and representative picture of exposure to chemical products among the Swiss population.

Towards a national programme?

In close collaboration with academic researchers, the Federal Office of Public health plans to establish a national programme to collect human biomonitoring data as well as health data. This multidisciplinary study would give an overview of the health status, chemical exposure and nutritional status of the general population in Switzerland.

The goal of this programme is not only to provide reference data for the Swiss population but also to better understand the impact of the environment and behaviours on our health, and thus to support health policy.

Pilot phase

The Federal Council report published in May 2017 means that a pilot phase can now be launched. The main objectives of this four-year preparatory phase are to test the feasibility of a national project, to validate the necessary procedures and infrastructures, and to evaluate the willingness of volunteers to participate. In the pilot phase use will be made of the Swiss Biobanking Platform (SBP), a structure set up by the Swiss National Science Foundation for the purposes of scientific research. The pilot phase will be conducted in collaboration with the Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute (SwissTPH) in Basel and the Institute of Social and Preventive Medicine (IUMSP) in Lausanne.

Last modification 01.11.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Chemical Products
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/chemikalien-im-alltag/human-biomonitoring/human-biomonitoring-projekte-in-der-schweiz.html

Projets de biosurveillance humaine en Suisse

La Suisse débute une phase pilote afin d’évaluer la faisabilité d’un projet d’ampleur nationale de biosurveillance humaine (BSH) avec suivi (étude de cohorte). 

Situation actuelle

En mai 2017, un rapport a été remis au Conseil fédéral faisant état de la situation actuelle de la biosurveillance en Suisse et de ses perspectives d’avenir. Un premier rapport, en réponse au postulat Moser 08.3223, avait été publié en 2009 par le Conseil fédéral donnant un aperçu des différents projets de BSH menés jusqu’alors. Ce nouveau rapport tire un bilan de la situation actuelle et propose une perspective d’avenir.

Entre 2010 et 2012, la Suisse a pris part à l’étude européenne DEMOCOPHES, visant à harmoniser la biosurveillance en Europe. Chacun des 17 pays participant a recruté 120 couples mère-enfant, chez qui diverses substances ont été mesurées dans des échantillons d’urine et de cheveux. En parallèle, les mères ont répondu à des questionnaires décrivant tout comportement susceptible d’influencer l’exposition aux substances en question.

Il y a également plusieurs études telles que SAPALDIA et CoLaus qui couplent des données de biosurveillance à des examens cliniques ainsi qu’à des questionnaires sur le mode de vie, les habitudes alimentaires et les facteurs socio-économiques. Le suivi régulier de ces cohortes de volontaires devrait permettre la mise en évidence de facteurs et de comportements à risque pour certaines maladies.

Cependant, les initiatives dans le domaine restent ponctuelles, limitées en nombre de participants et en durée de suivi. Elles sont souvent liés à une problématique particulière comme la cohorte des transplantés (étude STCS). Il n’existe de ce fait pas d’étude donnant une image globale et représentative de l’exposition de la population suisse aux produits chimiques.

Un programme national?

En collaboration avec la recherche académique, l’OFSP envisage de mettre sur pied un programme national pour récolter des données de santé ainsi que des données de biosurveillance humaine. Il s’agirait d’une étude de suivi interdisciplinaire permettant de récolter des données sur l’état de santé, l’exposition à certains polluants et la présence de carences alimentaires de la population générale adulte.

Les objectifs d’une telle étude sont non seulement de fournir des données de santé de référence de la population suisse mais aussi de mieux comprendre l’impact sur la santé de notre environnement et de certains comportements et ainsi de soutenir la politique santé.

Phase pilote

Avec le rapport au Conseil fédéral de mai 2017, le feu vert est donné à une phase pilote de 4 ans. Cette phase préparatoire a pour but de vérifier la faisabilité d’une initiative nationale, de valider les infrastructures et les procédures nécessaires. Elle doit permettre également d’évaluer la participation des volontaires. La phase pilote s’appuiera sur la Swiss Biobanking Platform (SBP), une structure mise en place par le Fond National Suisse pour la recherche scientifique et se déroulera en collaboration avec l’Institut universitaire de Médecine sociale et préventive de Lausanne (IUMSP) et l’Institut tropical et de santé publique de Bâle (SwissTPH).

Dernière modification 29.11.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Produits chimiques
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 96 40
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/chemikalien/chemikalien-im-alltag/human-biomonitoring/human-biomonitoring-projekte-in-der-schweiz.html