Poliomyelitis Eradication

A world without poliomyelitis: The WHO, with its global initiative, is pursuing this objective. High vaccination rates, constant monitoring and safe handling of polio viruses in laboratories are the key elements in the worldwide eradication of poliomyelitis.

In 1988 the WHO adopted the global initiative to eradicate poliomyelitis. The eradication of poliomyelitis is considered achieved if no new case of illness caused by wild type polio viruses has occurred in the world for three consecutive years. Further-more, still existing polio viruses and infectious material may only be stored and used under strict containment conditions. At present, Europe, America, South-East Asia and the West Pacific are considered to be free of polio.

Eradication of polio virus type 2

Worldwide, the last case of an infection with wild type 2 polio virus occurred in 1999. Since then reported cases of infection with this virus are entirely attributed to the attenuated Sabin strain Type 2 that is contained in the live vaccine. Consequently, in September 2015 the WHO declared the worldwide eradication of wild type 2 polio virus. Renewed occurrence of cases of illness caused by type 2 polio virus should be prevented, in that

  • the Sabin strain type 2 is removed from the live vaccine,
  • the use and storage of poliovirus type 2 (wild type and vaccine strain) is allowed only in laboratories specifically certified for this (poliovirus-essential facility) and
  • any unneeded poliovirus type 2 material still present in the laboratories is destroyed.

Tasks of the FOPH

The FOPH is responsible for the safe handling of polio viruses in laboratories. In collaboration with the cantons, the FOPH must ensure that the required containment measures are strictly observed. As the national coordination centre it registers all laboratories that possess wild type polio viruses, live polio vaccines or potentially infectious material. By conducting the inventory of the laboratories the FOPH has successfully implemented the first phase of the WHO Action Plan. At present there are no laboratories in Switzerland which want to be certified as a poliovirus-essential facility. Consequently, up to the middle of 2016 the FOPH also coordinated and oversaw the Swiss-wide destruction of type 2 polio viruses (wild type and vaccine strain; infectious and potentially infectious material).

Legislation

Biosafety legislation

The Ordinance on Handling Organisms in Contained Systems (ContainO) as well as various acts and additional ordinances govern activities with genetically modified, pathogenic or alien organisms in contained systems.

Last modification 23.10.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Biomedical Department
Biosafety, Human Genetics and Reproductive Medicine Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
Fax-Nr +41 58 462 62 33
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/biosafety/polio-ausrottung.html

Eradiquer la paralysie infantile

Un monde sans paralysie infantile (poliomyélite) : tel est l'objectif de l'initiative mondiale de l'OMS. Des taux de vaccination élevés, un monitorage constant et la manipulation en toute sécurité des poliovirus en laboratoire : ce sont les fondements permettant d’éradiquer la poliomyélite dans le monde.

En 1988, l'OMS a approuvé l'Initiative mondiale pour l'éradication de la poliomyélite. Celle-ci est considérée comme réussie si, durant trois ans successifs, aucun nouveau cas de maladie n'a été provoqué par un poliovirus sauvage. De plus, les poliovirus encore disponibles et le matériel infectieux peuvent uniquement être conservés et utilisés sous des prescriptions de confinement strictes. La poliomyélite est considérée comme éradiquée en Europe, en Amérique, en Asie du sud-est et dans le Pacifique occidental.

Eradication du poliovirus de type 2

Le dernier cas d'infection constaté avec un poliovirus sauvage de type 2 remonte à 1999. Les cas de maladie déclarés depuis avec ce virus sont uniquement dus à la souche atténuée Sabin de type 2, contenue dans le vaccin vivant. En septembre 2015, l'OMS a déclaré que le poliovirus sauvage de type 2 avait été éradiqué au niveau mondial. Il s'agit d'empêcher une nouvelle apparition de la maladie provoquée par le poliovirus de type 2,

  • en supprimant la souche Sabin de type 2 du vaccin vivant,
  • en permettant l’utilisation et le stockage du poliovirus de type 2 (type sauvage et souche vaccinale) uniquement dans des laboratoires certifiés spécifiquement dans ce but (établissements-pivots pour la poliomyélite) et
  • en détruisant tout matériel poliovirus de type 2 encore présent dans les laboratoires et inutile.

Tâches de l’OFSP

L'OFSP est compétent en ce qui concerne la manipulation sûre des poliovirus en laboratoire. En collaboration avec les cantons, il doit s'assurer que les mesures de confinement sont strictement respectées. En tant que centre de coordination national, il recense tous les laboratoires en possession de poliovirus sauvages, de vaccins vivants contre la poliomyélite ou de matériel potentiellement infectieux. En dressant l'inventaire des laboratoires, l'OFSP a mis en œuvre avec succès la première phase du plan d'action de l'OMS. En Suisse, il n'existe actuellement pas de laboratoire disposé à être certifié en tant qu'établissement-pivot pour la poliomyélite. C'est pourquoi, jusqu'en été 2016, l'OFSP a coordonné et vérifié l'élimination des poliovirus de type 2 (type sauvage et souche vaccinale ; matériel infectieux ou potentiellement infectieux).

Informations complémentaires

Poliomyélite / paralysie infantile

De grands progrès ont été faits sur la voie de l’éradication de la poliomyélite, mais les avancées ne sont pas encore consolidées dans tous les pays. De ce fait, il faut poursuivre la vaccination contre la poliomyélite en Suisse.

Dernière modification 29.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Biomédecine
Section sécurité biologique, génétique humaine et procréation médicalement assistée
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 51 54
Fax-Nr +41 58 462 62 33
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/gesund-leben/umwelt-und-gesundheit/biosafety/polio-ausrottung.html