Vaccinations and prevention

Infectious diseases can be serious. Vaccinations are the most effective way of protecting not only your own child, but also newborns, pregnant women, and other children and adults. There are also medicinal prophylactic treatments for diseases such as malaria.

Vaccinations and prophylactics protect

Vaccinations can prevent infectious diseases or the resulting complications. They’re the most effective protection against diseases such as:

In the Overview of diseases section you’ll find information on vaccination under the relevant disease.

On the other pages you’ll find information on vaccinations and prophylactics for travel and different stages of life.

How do vaccinations work?

A vaccination is a protective measure. It mimics the natural infection so that the body’s immune system prepares itself. This way it can respond immediately and effectively in the event of subsequent infection by the same pathogen. The pathogen is quickly rendered harmless, and the person who has been vaccinated develops only few symptoms or none at all.

Recommended vaccinations in Switzerland

The Federal Vaccination Commission and the Federal Office of Public Health thoroughly examine all vaccinations available in Switzerland. They use various criteria to decide whether a vaccination is recommended and for whom, and whether the vaccination should be included in the Swiss vaccination schedule. These criteria include things like the severity and prevalence of the disease, and the efficacy and safety of the vaccine. Vaccination will be recommended if the benefits clearly outweigh the risks and side-effects. The recommendations are reviewed regularly and adapted in line with the latest scientific findings.

Protect yourself and other people

Thanks to the high vaccination rates in Switzerland, diseases such as diphtheria and measles have declined considerably or (in the case of smallpox and polio) have even disappeared completely. The more people have been vaccinated, the less frequently such diseases occur. If the proportion of people who have not been vaccinated increases, infectious diseases such as measles can spread again very rapidly.

Getting vaccinated is a personal decision. However, a vaccination not only protects you yourself, but indirectly other people as well – especially newborn babies, pregnant women, and old or chronically ill people. If you’ve been vaccinated for a disease, you can’t infect other people who for medical reasons can’t be vaccinated themselves.

Vaccination infoline: 0844 448 448

(advice free of charge, charge for long distance call in Switzerland)

Side-effects of vaccinations

As a rule vaccinations are well tolerated. But as with drugs, side-effects can occur, with swelling, redness, pain at the injection site and occasionally fever resulting. These side-effects disappear within a few days. Serious side-effects and lasting damage are extremely rare.

No vaccination is without its risks. But the dangers are much less serious than if you become infected naturally. By law the doctor must notify the authorities if serious side-effects occur. The person affected can also report serious side-effects themself.

The Swiss electronic vaccination record

The Swiss electronic vaccination record

Your electronic vaccination record tells you what vaccinations are useful and necessary for you and gives you an overview of the vaccinations you’ve had. Provided you have your vaccinations recorded, you have access to this information at any time. This can be very useful when travelling, and particularly in emergencies, enabling you to avoid being vaccinated twice or unnecessarily. You can also choose to receive email or text message reminders when you’re due for a booster shot.

The Swiss electronic vaccination record: register free of charge at www.myvaccines.ch.

The www.myvaccines.ch platform is run by the foundation myvaccines. All the relevant measures are taken to ensure the system meets the data protection requirements.

Medicinal prophylactics

There are some communicable diseases for which there is no vaccination. Even so, you can take prophylactic medication for some of these diseases. The best-known example is malaria prophylaxis. It substantially reduces the risk of getting the disease.

For some diseases such as hepatitis there’s a prophylactic treatment that can be used even after potential infection (post-exposure prophylaxis or PEP). It’s mainly geared to healthcare personnel and patients.

Information brochures and fact sheets

Our publications give you an overview of and access to brochures and fact sheets on different vaccination-related topics.

Further information

National Vaccination Strategy (NVS)

The Confederation, together with the cantons and other stakeholders, has drawn up a national vaccination strategy (NVS) with the aim of guaranteeing that the population is sufficiently protected from vaccine-preventable diseases.

Last modification 22.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Prevention and Promotion Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesund-leben/gesundheitsfoerderung-und-praevention/impfungen-prophylaxe.html

Vaccinations et prophylaxie

Les maladies infectieuses peuvent être graves. La vaccination constitue la meilleure protection pour votre enfant comme pour les autres enfants, les nouveau-nés, les femmes enceintes et les adultes. Des prophylaxies existent pour des maladies comme le paludisme.

Les vaccinations et la prophylaxie protègent

La vaccination permet de prévenir les maladies infectieuses ou leurs complications. Elle est la meilleure protection contre :

Vous trouverez des informations sur la vaccination pour chaque maladie dans la rubrique « Vue d’ensemble des maladies ».

Vous trouverez des informations sur la vaccination et sur la prophylaxie à différentes phases de la vie et pour les voyages aux pages suivantes.

Comment fonctionne la vaccination ?

La vaccination est une mesure préventive. Elle imite une infection, préparant ainsi les mécanismes de défense du corps à réagir immédiatement et efficacement en cas d’infection ultérieure par le même pathogène. Ce dernier est alors rapidement neutralisé et la personne touchée ne développe que peu de symptômes, voire aucun.

Vaccinations recommandées en Suisse

La Commission fédérale pour les vaccinations et l’OFSP soumettent les vaccins disponibles en Suisse à un examen complet. Des critères comme la gravité et la répartition géographique de la maladie et l’efficacité et la sécurité du vaccin déterminent si un vaccin est recommandé, pour qui, et s’il doit être inscrit au plan de vaccination. Une vaccination est recommandée lorsque ses avantages sont nettement supérieurs à ses risques et à ses effets indésirables. Réévaluées régulièrement, les recommandations sont adaptées en fonction des connaissances les plus récentes.

Se protéger soi-même et protéger les autres

En Suisse, grâce à la bonne couverture vaccinale, des pathologies comme la diphtérie et la rougeole ont fortement régressé, voire complètement disparu (variole, poliomyélite). Car plus le nombre de personnes vaccinées est important, plus ces maladies sont rares. Lorsque la part de la population non vaccinée augmente, les maladies contagieuses comme la rougeole peuvent à nouveau se propager très rapidement.

La vaccination est un choix personnel qui vous protège et protège aussi, indirectement, les autres, notamment les nouveau-nés, les femmes enceintes et les personnes âgées ou atteintes de maladies chroniques. Les personnes vaccinées contre une maladie ne contaminent pas d’autres personnes ne pouvant être vaccinées pour des raisons médicales.

Ligne info-vaccins : 0844 448 448

(consultation gratuite, prix d’une communication interurbaine en Suisse)

Effets secondaires des vaccinations

En règle générale, les vaccins sont bien tolérés. Comme les médicaments, ils peuvent avoir des effets secondaires : souvent, une tuméfaction, une rougeur et des douleurs à l’endroit de la piqûre, parfois de la fièvre. Ces effets disparaissent en quelques jours. Les effets secondaires graves ou les lésions durables sont extrêmement rares.

Aucune vaccination n’est sans risque, mais les risques sont nettement moindres que ceux de la maladie. Si des effets secondaires graves surviennent, la loi exige que le médecin les déclare aux autorités. La personne concernée peut aussi déclarer elle-même de tels effets.

Le carnet de vaccination électronique suisse

Le carnet de vaccination électronique suisse

Le carnet de vaccination électronique vous indique les vaccins qui sont utiles et nécessaires pour vous. Il donne un aperçu des vaccinations réalisées. Si vous avez fait inscrire vos vaccins, vous avez accès à ces informations en tout temps. C’est très utile en voyage et surtout en situation d’urgence, car le carnet permet d’éviter les doublons et les vaccins inutiles. En outre, il est possible de recevoir des notifications par courriel ou sms pour les rappels.

Le carnet de vaccination électronique suisse : inscrivez-vous gratuitement sur www.mesvaccins.ch.

La fondation « mesvaccins » gère la plate-forme www.mesvaccins.ch. Elle prend toutes les mesures utiles pour que le système assure la protection des données.

Prophylaxie médicamenteuse

S’il n’existe pas de vaccin pour chaque maladie transmissible, des médicaments permettent de prévenir certaines d’entre elles. L’exemple le plus connu est la prophylaxie antipaludique, qui réduit nettement le risque de maladie. Vous trouverez des informations à ce sujet à la page Malaria (paludisme).

Pour des maladies comme l’hépatite, une prophylaxie peut être prise après une infection potentielle (prophylaxie post-exposition). Elle s’adresse surtout au personnel de santé et aux patients. Informez-vous via les pages Directives et recommandations dans la section « Recommandations pour les groupes et les situations à risque ».

Brochures et fiches d’information

Nos publications donnent un aperçu des brochures et fiches d’information sur les différents thèmes et un accès à ces documents.

Informations complémentaires

Stratégie nationale de vaccination (SNV)

La Confédération, avec l’aide des cantons et autres acteurs, a élaboré une stratégie nationale de vaccination (SNV) visant à garantir une protection suffisante de la population contre les maladies évitables par la vaccination.

Plan de vaccination suisse

Les informations sur les vaccins recommandés en Suisse sont réunies dans le Plan de vaccination suisse, l’objectif étant d’aboutir à une protection vaccinale optimale de chaque individu et de la population.

Commission fédérale pour les vaccinations (CFV)

La CFV agit en tant qu’organe consultatif auprès du Conseil fédéral, du Département fédéral de l’intérieur (DFI) et de l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) pour toutes les questions en lien avec la vaccination.

Directives et recommandations sur la vaccination et la prophylaxie

L’OFSP élabore et publie des directives et des recommandations relatives aux vaccins conseillés et aux autres mesures prophylactiques.

Dernière modification 28.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division des maladies transmissibles
Section prévention & promotion
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/gesund-leben/gesundheitsfoerderung-und-praevention/impfungen-prophylaxe.html