Notifications and authorisations in the field of biosafety

Pursuant to the Containment Ordinance, those institutes, companies and organisations that handle genetically modified, pathogenic or alien organisms in contained systems are subject to the notification or authorisation obligation.

Notification and Authorisation Obligation

An identification of risk and risk assessment must be carried out before handling organisms in contained systems so as to assign the activity to a particular class. Notification (class 1 and 2 activities) and authorisation applications (class 3 and 4 activities) shall be submitted to the Federal Coordination Centre for Biotechnology. The Coordination Centre provides on its website information on these procedures.

Registration and examination of notifications and authorisation requests

The submitted notifications are registered by the Coordination Centre for Biotechnology, checked for completeness and, depending on the activity, forwarded for processing to the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN) or to the FOPH.

Technical examination of notifications and authorisation requests

The FOPH is responsible for evaluating the risk identification and assessment of activities of classes 2 to 4, in which the risk is primarily for humans. The FOPH decides by taking into account the opinions of the specialised agencies (FOEN, FOAG, FSVO, SECB, SUVA, ECNH, SECO as well as the cantonal specialised agencies) on the activities of the classes 1 and 2. Authorisations are granted by the FOPH for activities of classes 3 and 4.

Legislation

Biosafety legislation

The Ordinance on Handling Organisms in Contained Systems (ContainO) as well as various acts and additional ordinances govern activities with genetically modified, pathogenic or alien organisms in contained systems.

Further information

Biosafety

Here you can find information on the concept of biosafety and the role of the FOPH in the implementation of the Containment Ordinance.

Activities with organisms in contained system

Here you can find information on the notion of contained systems, on the risk assessment and related study, as well as on the safety measures set out under ContainO.

Last modification 02.10.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Biomedical Department
Biosafety, Human Genetics and Reproductive Medicine Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
Fax-Nr +41 58 462 62 33
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesuche-bewilligungen/meldungen-bewilligungen-bereich-biologische-sicherheit.html

Notifications & autorisations dans le domaine de la sécurité biologique

Les instituts, les entreprises et les organisations qui utilisent des organismes génétiquement modifiés, pathogènes ou exotiques en milieu confiné sont tenus, d’après l’ordonnance sur l’utilisation confinée, de notifier leur activité ou de demander une autorisation.

Devoir de notification et demandes d’autorisation

Quiconque utilise des organismes en milieu confiné est tenu d’étudier et d’évaluer les risques au préalable et, sur cette base, de classifier l'activité. Les notifications (classes d’activité 1 et 2) et les demandes d’autorisation (classes d’activité 3 et 4) doivent être déposées au Bureau de biotechnologie de la Confédération. Celui-ci met à disposition sur son site Internet des informations sur la procédure à suivre.

Enregistrement et vérification des notifications et demandes d’autorisation

Le Bureau de biotechnologie de la Confédération enregistre les notifications, vérifie si elles sont complètes et, en fonction de l’activité, les transmet à l’Office fédéral de l’environnement (OFEV) ou à l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP).

Vérification technique des notifications et des demandes d’autorisation

L’OFSP est compétent pour l’étude et l’évaluation du risque lié aux activités des classes 2 à 4 si l’activité implique en premier lieu un risque pour l’être humain. Pour les activités de classe 2, il prend sa décision en tenant compte de l’avis des services compétents (OFEV, OFAG, OSAV, CFSB, SUVA, CENH, SECO et services spécialisés des cantons). Pour les activités des classes 3 et 4, l’OFSP délivre les autorisations.

Législation

Législation Sécurité biologique

L’ordonnance sur l’utilisation des organismes en milieu confiné, ainsi que diverses lois et ordonnances, réglementent les activités impliquant l’utilisation d’organismes génétiquement modifiés, pathogènes ou exotiques en milieu confiné.

Informations complémentaires

Sécurité biologique

Vous trouverez ici des informations sur la notion de sécurité biologique et sur le rôle de l’OFSP concernant la mise en œuvre de l’ordonnance sur l’utilisation confinée.

Activités impliquant des organismes en milieu confiné

Vous trouverez ici des informations sur la notion de milieu confiné, sur l'étude et l'évaluation du risque ainsi que sur les mesures de sécurité dans le cadre de l'OUC.

Dernière modification 29.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Biomédecine
Section sécurité biologique, génétique humaine et procréation médicalement assistée
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 51 54
Fax-Nr +41 58 462 62 33
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesuche-bewilligungen/meldungen-bewilligungen-bereich-biologische-sicherheit.html