Clinical audits in radiation protection

The purpose of clinical audits is to ensure an ideal use of high-dose ionising radiation in medicine. Their realisation will enable to review the justification of the expositions and to optimise the processes and resources of the providers. A steering committee consisting of the main stakeholders ensures that these audits are implemented in the form of peer reviews.

The essentials in brief

  • In Switzerland, the average dose of ionising radiation used for the purpose of medical diagnosis has increased by 40% over the past 15 years.
  • Several European studies (1, 2, 3) have shown that some of the examinations and treatments that employ ionising radiation are not justified.
  • Clinical audits are not controls carried out by the authority, but reviews conducted by colleagues, also known as peer reviews.
  • The Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) launched the project of "Clinical audits" in 2011, in close collaboration with professional associations in medicine, medical physics and medical technology. Since 2018, their representatives have formed the steering committee for clinical audits in Switzerland.
  • The Radiological Protection Ordinance (RPO) is the legal basis for clinical audits. Its revised version entered into force on 1.1.2018. The implementation of clinical audits will remain optional until the end of 2019, giving the providers time to develop their quality manual (see additional information, only in German, French and Italian).
  • The pilot clinical audits in radiology, radiation oncology and nuclear medicine carried out since 2015 have proven to be useful in terms of protecting patients and organising processes. In addition, minimal overlaps with other audits or quality controls have been observed.

Context

The benefits of using ionising radiation in medicine are undeniable. They allow to visualise the state and position of internal anatomical structures, the physiological processes or, in the case of radiotherapy, to selectively destroy tumour cells. However, the ionising radiation is also associated with certain risks that can affectthe body's functioning at various levels (atoms, molecules, DNA, cells, etc.) and cause immediate damage, for example skin rashes. Lesions can also manifest themselves months, or even years, after exposure, for example in the form of cancers.

The risk of tumour induction depends on the effective dose received (expressed in Sievert or Sv), and the patient's gender, age and radio-sensitivity. Young people, for example, are much more sensitive to ionising radiation. The risk of mortality (in the general population) following such exposure is currently assumed to increase, on average, by 5% per Sievert.

In Switzerland, the average dose of ionising radiation received by the population in connection with medical applications has increased by 40% over the past 15 years (1998-2013) (4). This increase is mainly due to CT scans, the use of which has more than doubled since 1998. Examples of radiation doses used in medicine are listed here (only in German, French and Italian).

It is important for the well-being of patients that examinations and treatments using ionising radiation are justified and implemented in the ideal manner. It is therefore essential to carefully weigh the benefits and risks before each use and check whether an alternative method (for example an MRI scan or ultrasound) could produce an equivalent result. If the benefits outweigh the risks, the use of radiation is considered to be justified.

Legislation

Clinical audits are evaluations conducted by colleagues (also known as peer reviews). They review the practices of a provider and, if necessary, issue recommendations for improving the justification of exposures and optimising the processes and resources. This means that they are therefore neither administrative controls nor inspections conducted by the supervisory authorities.

The concept of clinical audits was introduced in Europe in 1997 by means of the Directive 2013/59/Euratom. Switzerland, which is not a member state of the EU, has drawn on the experience of Finland to define its own organisation of clinical audits. Indeed, Finland can be viewed as a pioneer in this context since all its medical radiology centres have already been audited several times.

In collaboration with the representatives of various professional associations in medicine, medical physics and medical technology, the FOPH has defined the legal bases for clinical audits in the revised Radiological Protection Ordinance (RPO) (5), which entered into force on 1 January, 2018. This revised ordinance now reinforces the principle of justification in medicine (art. 3, 27, 28, 29) and stipulates clinical audits (art. 41-43). (See further details in German, French and Italian)  

Any holder of an authorisation for  medical applications of radiation in computed tomography, nuclear medicine or radiotherapy, or for fluoroscopy-guided interventional diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, maybe audited every five years and is required to conduct a self-evaluation of its procedures once a year.

The implementation of clinical audits remains optional until the end of 2019 to give the radiology units time to produce their quality manual required by the RPO (see example under "Documents"). From 2020 onwards, clinical audits will become mandatory.

Organisation of clinical audits in Switzerland

A steering committee was set up and began work in 2018. Its members are representatives of the Swiss Societies of Radiology (SSR), Radiation Oncology (SSRO), Nuclear Medicine (SSMN), Radiobiology and Medical Physics (SSRPM), the Swiss Association of Medical Radiology Technicians (ASTRM), the Swiss Medical Association (FMH) and the FOPH. Together they define the strategy and implementation of clinical audits based on the experience acquired during the pilot clinical audits.

Committees of experts have been formed for each of the specialties audited. As part of their remit, they are responsible for defining the content of audits and advising the steering committee.

A pool of auditors has been specially trained to carry out clinical audits, for which the audit teams will be interdisciplinary.

The scientific secretariat, integrated within the FOPH, coordinates clinical audits.

Description of a clinical audit

As illustrated in the figure below and the video (also in French or Italian), a team of auditors usually includes a doctor, a medical physicist and a radiographer. Together, they visit the provider to be audited and evaluate their working practices. Each auditor focuses on their area of expertise and compares the practices of their peers against recognised standards.

Clinical audits

At the end of the audit, which usually takes a day, the team of auditors presents its initial recommendations for improving clinical practice and discusses these with the team of the audited unit. Finally, the auditors prepare their report and send it directly to the provider, which is invited to implement the recommendations.


This page can be accessed directly at:

Documents

Several information exist in the following languages:


Further information

1. National Survey on Justification of CT-examinations in Sweden (PDF, 748 kB, 09.11.2016)Almén A, Leitz W, Richter S; National Survey on Justification of CT-Examinations in Sweden. Swedish Radiation Safety Authority, 2009:03.

2. Unjustified CT examinations in young patients (PDF, 86 kB, 09.11.2016)Oikarinen H, Meriläinen S, Pääkkö E, Karttunen A, Nieminen M, Tervonen O; Unjustified CT examinations in young patients; Eur Radiol (2009) 19: 1161-1165

3. Audit de la conformité aux bonnes pratiques (PDF, 1 MB, 25.09.2018)Audit de la conformité des prescriptions d'examens d'imagerie médicale: Volet B, Ministère de la santé, Luxembourg, 2017

4. Exposure of the Swiss population by Medical X-rays (PDF, 4 MB, 09.11.2016)Aroua A; Samara E, Bochud F, Verdun F; Exposure of the Swiss population by Medical X-rays: 2008 Review; Institut de radiophysique, June 2011

Last modification 19.09.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Radiation Protectiono Division
Radiotherapy and Medical Diagnostics Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 14
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesuche-bewilligungen/bewilligungen-aufsicht-im-strahlenschutz/informationen-fuer-medizinische-betriebe/clinical-audits.html

Audits cliniques en radioprotection

Les audits cliniques ont pour but d’assurer une utilisation optimale des rayonnements ionisants délivrant des doses élevées en médecine. Leur réalisation permettra d’examiner la justification des expositions et d’optimiser les processus et les ressources des établissements. Un comité de pilotage comprenant les principaux acteurs veille à l’implémentation de ces audits effectués sous forme d’évaluations effectuées par des confrères (peer reviews).

L'essentiel en bref

  • En Suisse, la dose moyenne de rayonnement ionisant due au diagnostic médical a augmenté de 40 % au cours de ces quinze dernières années.
  • Plusieurs études européennes (1, 2, 3) ont montré qu'une partie des examens et traitements utilisant les rayonnements ionisants ne sont pas justifiés.
  • Les audits cliniques ne sont pas des contrôles effectués par les autorités, mais des évaluations réalisées par des confrères, aussi appelées «peer reviews».
  • L’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) a lancé le projet des « Audits cliniques » en 2011, ceci en étroite collaboration avec les associations professionnelles de médecine, de physique médicale et médico-technique. Depuis 2018, leurs représentants forment le comité de pilotage des Audits cliniques en Suisse.
  • L’ordonnance sur la radioprotection (ORaP) constitue la base légale des audits cliniques. Sa version révisée est entrée en vigueur le 1.1.2018. L’application des audits cliniques reste facultative jusqu’à fin 2019, permettant aux établissements d’élaborer leur manuel de qualité (voir info supp.).
  • Les audits cliniques pilotes effectués en radiologie, en radio-oncologie et en médecine nucléaire depuis 2015 ont démontré leur utilité, tant pour la protection des patients que pour l’organisation des processus. De plus, peu de recoupements avec d’autres audits ou contrôles de qualité ont été constatés.

Contexte

Les avantages présentés par l'utilisation des rayonnements ionisants en médecine sont incontestables. Ils permettent de visualiser l'état et la position de structures anatomiques internes, des processus physiologiques ou, dans le cadre de la radiothérapie, de détruire de manière sélective des cellules tumorales. Toutefois, ces rayonnements ionisants recèlent aussi des risques. Ils peuvent porter atteinte à différents niveaux de fonctionnement de l'organisme (atomes, molécules, ADN, cellules, ...) et provoquer des dommages immédiats, par exemple des rougeurs de la peau. Des lésions peuvent également se manifester des mois ou des années après une exposition, par exemple sous forme de maladies cancéreuses.

Le risque d'induction d'une tumeur dépend de la dose efficace reçue (exprimée en Sievert ou Sv), du sexe, de l'âge du patient ainsi que de sa radio-sensibilité. Les personnes jeunes sont par exemple beaucoup plus sensibles aux radiations ionisantes. On admet actuellement que le risque de mortalité (pour l'ensemble de la population) suite à une telle exposition augmente en moyenne de 5% par Sievert.

En Suisse, la dose moyenne de rayonnement reçue par la population dans le cadre d'applications médicales a augmenté de 40% au cours de ces quinze dernières années (1998-2013) (4). Cette augmentation est principalement imputable aux examens effectués en tomodensitométrie, aussi appelé CT ou scanner à rayons X, dont l'usage a plus que doublé depuis 1998. Des exemples de doses de rayonnement en médecine sont listé ici.

Pour le bien du patient, il est essentiel que les examens et les traitements utilisant des rayonnements ionisants soient justifiés et qu'ils soient réalisés de manière optimale. Il est donc primordial d’en soupeser soigneusement les avantages et les risques avant toute utilisation et de vérifier qu'il n'existe pas de méthode alternative (par exemple l’imagerie par résonance magnétique IRM ou les ultrasons) pouvant conduire à un résultat équivalent. Lorsque les avantages l'emportent sur les risques, l'application est jugée justifiée.

Législation

Les audits cliniques sont des évaluations effectuées par des confrères (aussi appelés peer reviews). Ceux-ci examinent les pratiques d’un service et formulent, si nécessaire, des recommandations visant à améliorer la justification des expositions et à optimiser les processus et les ressources. Ce ne sont donc ni des contrôles administratifs, ni des inspections menées par les autorités de surveillance.

Le concept d'audit clinique a été introduit en Europe en 1997 au travers de la directive Euratom 2013/59. La Suisse, qui n'est pas un Etat membre, s’est inspirée de l'expérience de la Finlande pour définir sa propre organisation d’audits cliniques. En effet, celle-ci fait figure de pionnier puisque tous ses centres de radiologie médicale ont déjà été audités à plusieurs reprises.

En collaboration avec des représentants des différentes associations professionnelles de médecine, de physique médicale et médico-technique, l’OFSP a défini les bases légales des audits cliniques dans l’ordonnance pour la radioprotection révisée (ORaP), qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2018. Celle-ci concrétise désormais le principe de justification en médecine (art. 3, 27, 28, 29) et stipule les audits cliniques (art. 41-43). (voir infos supp.)

Tout titulaire d’une autorisation pour les applications médicales de rayonnements en tomodensitométrie, en médecine nucléaire et en radiothérapie, ainsi que pour des procédures diagnostiques ou thérapeutiques interventionnelles assistées par radioscopie, pourra être audité tous les 5 ans et est tenu d’effectuer annuellement une autoévaluation de ses procédures.

Jusqu’à fin 2019, l’application des audits cliniques reste facultative pour permettre aux établissements d’élaborer leur manuel de qualité exigé par l’ORaP (voir l’exemple sous « Documents »). A partir de 2020, les audits cliniques prendront un caractère obligatoire.

Organisation des audits cliniques en Suisse

Un comité de pilotage a été créé et a pris ses fonctions en 2018. Ses membres sont des représentants des sociétés suisses de Radiologie (SSR), de Radio-Oncologie (SSRO), de Médecine Nucléaire (SSMN), de Radiobiologie et de Physique Médicale (SSRPM), de l’Association Suisse des Techniciens en Radiologie Médicale (ASTRM), de la Fédération des Médecins Suisses (FMH) et de l’OFSP. Ensemble, ils définissent la stratégie et la mise en œuvre des audits cliniques tout en s’appuyant sur l’expérience acquise lors des audits cliniques pilotes.

Des commissions d’experts ont été créées pour chaque spécialité auditée. Celles-ci définissent entre autre les contenus d’audits et conseillent le comité de pilotage.

Un pool d’auditeurs a été spécialement formé pour la réalisation des audits cliniques, pour lesquels les équipes d’audit seront interdisciplinaires.

Le secrétariat scientifique, intégré au sein de l’OFSP, coordonne les audits cliniques.

Description d'un audit clinique

Comme illustré dans la figure ci-dessous ainsi que dans le film, une équipe d’auditeurs comprend généralement un médecin, un physicien médical et un technicien en radiologie. Ensemble, ils se rendent auprès du service à auditer et évaluent ses modalités de travail. Chaque auditeur se concentre sur son domaine d’expertise et compare les pratiques de ses pairs aux standards reconnus.

Audits cliniques

A la fin de l’audit, qui dure en moyenne une journée, l’équipe d’auditeurs présente ses premières recommandations visant à améliorer la pratique clinique et en discute avec l’équipe du service audité. Ensuite, les auditeurs établissent leur rapport et l’envoient directement à l’établissement, qui est invité à implémenter les recommandations.

Remarque générale:
Le masculin générique est uniquement utilisé pour améliorer la fluidité de lecture. Il représente donc tout genre.


Cette page est directement accessible depuis :

Documents


Audits cliniques IV (PDF, 52 kB, 06.03.2017)OFSP-Bulletin 10/2017: Utilité des Audits cliniques confirmée

Audits cliniques III (PDF, 43 kB, 13.07.2015)OFSP-Bulletin 29/2015: Utilisation optimale du rayonnement ionisant grâce aux audits cliniques

Audits cliniques II (PDF, 31 kB, 25.06.2012)OFSP-Bulletin 26/2012: Audits cliniques en radiologie: un outil optimal dans l’intérêt du patient

Audits cliniques I (PDF, 32 kB, 28.03.2011)OFSP-Bulletin 13/2011: Amélioration des pratiques radiologiques par l'introduction de futurs audits cliniques



Informations complémentaires

1. National Survey on Justification of CT-examinations in Sweden (PDF, 748 kB, 09.11.2016)Almén A, Leitz W, Richter S; National Survey on Justification of CT-Examinations in Sweden. Swedish Radiation Safety Authority, 2009:03.

2. Unjustified CT examinations in young patients (PDF, 86 kB, 09.11.2016)Oikarinen H, Meriläinen S, Pääkkö E, Karttunen A, Nieminen M, Tervonen O; Unjustified CT examinations in young patients; Eur Radiol (2009) 19: 1161-1165

3. Audit de la conformité aux bonnes pratiques (PDF, 1 MB, 25.09.2018)Audit de la conformité des prescriptions d'examens d'imagerie médicale: Volet B, Ministère de la santé, Luxembourg, 2017

4. Exposure of the Swiss population by Medical X-rays (PDF, 4 MB, 09.11.2016)Aroua A; Samara E, Bochud F, Verdun F; Exposure of the Swiss population by Medical X-rays: 2008 Review; Institut de radiophysique, June 2011

Dernière modification 10.12.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Radioprotection
Section Radiothérapie et diagnostic médical
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 96 14
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesuche-bewilligungen/bewilligungen-aufsicht-im-strahlenschutz/informationen-fuer-medizinische-betriebe/clinical-audits.html