Exceptional licences related to pilot trials under Art. 8a NarcA

After consulting with the relevant cantons and communes, the FOPH can authorise scientific pilot trials with narcotics containing an effective concentration of cannabinoids. The applicable conditions are set out in the Federal Council’s implementing provisions (Ordinance on Pilot Trials Conducted under the Narcotics Act, NarcPT). 

On 15 May 2021, an amendment to the Narcotics Act entered into force allowing a ten-year research phase for scientific pilot trials involving the controlled dispensing of cannabis for non-medicinal purposes (recreational cannabis).

Under Art. 8a para. 1 NarcPT, in order to be granted an exceptional licence for the cultivation, import or manufacture of narcotics containing an effective concentration of cannabinoids that are to be dispensed as part of the pilot trials, a complete and eligible pilot trial application must be submitted. Applications must therefore be submitted in a coordinated manner by the relevant public or private organisations. As the authorising body, the FOPH coordinates the associated authorisation procedure.

The responsible public or private organisers are responsible for designating cultivators and manufacturers for their pilot trials. The FOPH does not designate producers, or conduct its own pilot trials.

Documentation and reporting obligations

Authorisation holders must keep a record of all traffic of cannabis products and must report to the FOPH and cantonal authorities at the end of every year on the sale of cannabis products and on the quantity stored at individual points of sale. They must report any unforeseen events to the FOPH immediately (see Art. 27 NarcPT). As part of the authorisation procedure, the FOPH will ensure that the relevant processes are in place.

Inspection activities

To ensure compliance with the provisions of the NarcPT on cultivation and product quality as well as on packaging and product information, distributors are required to self-regulate (Art. 30 NarcPT).

The FOPH ensures that authorisation holders comply with the provisions of the NarcPT for pilot trials. It may consult the competent cantonal executing authorities for this purpose. The cantonal authorities designate the responsible inspection bodies that will carry out spot checks to ensure compliance with the cannabis product quality requirements under Art. 9 NarcPT.

Compliance with the requirements for conducting pilot trials is primarily ensured through periodic inspections by the competent federal and cantonal authorities. Licence holders are required to grant inspectors access to sites and premises. This applies to all related areas, i.e. cultivation areas, production facilities, and sale and storage areas. The relevant stock and accompanying documents must be presented to inspection authorities upon request.

Procedure for cannabis pilot trials. Coordinated submission of applications, examination and authorization of applications, Start Pilot trials, recruitment of participants, evaluation of the data and communication. The pilot trials are the scientific basis for the future legal regulation of cannabis use.

Further information

Cultivation for pilot trials

The cultivation of cannabis that is used in the pilot trials in accordance with Art. 8a of the Narcotics Act (NarcA) requires an exceptional licence from the FOPH.

Manufacture for pilot trials

The manufacture of cannabis products that is used in the pilot trials requires an exceptional licence from the FOPH.

Import for pilot trials

The import of cannabis that is used in the pilot trials in accordance with the Narcotics Act is only possible in exceptional cases and requires an exceptional licence from the FOPH.

Pilot trials with cannabis

On 15 May 2021 an amendment to NarcA has come into force allowing pilot trials involving the dispensing of cannabis for non-medicinal (“recreational”) purposes. These studies are intended to create the basis for the future legal regulation of cannabis.

Authorisation of pilot trials under Art. 8a NarcA

The FOPH can grant authorisations for scientific pilot trials involving the controlled dispensing of non-medicinal cannabis that are limited in time, place and scope, provided new insights into cannabis use can be gained.

Last modification 14.07.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Prevention of Non-Communicable Diseases Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 88 24
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesuche-bewilligungen/ausnahmebewilligungen-bewilligungen-betmg/ausnahmebewilligungen-verbotene-betaeubungsmittel/ausnahmebewilligungen-pilotversuche.html

Autorisations exceptionnelles en lien avec les essais pilotes au sens de l'art. 8a LStup

Après audition des cantons et communes concernés, l'OFSP peut autoriser des essais pilotes scientifiques impliquant des stupéfiants ayant des effets de type cannabique. Les conditions sont réglées dans l’ordonnance d'exécution du Conseil fédéral (ordonnance sur les essais pilotes au sens de la loi sur les stupéfiants, OEPStup).

Le 15 mai 2021, les bases légales pour la réalisation d'essais pilotes portant sur la remise contrôlée de cannabis à des fins non médicales (consommation à des fins récréatives) sont entrées en vigueur. Cette phase de recherche est limitée à dix ans.

L’octroi d’une autorisation exceptionnelle pour la culture, l’importation ou la fabrication de stupéfiants ayant des effets de type cannabique remis dans le cadre d'essais pilotes présuppose une demande susceptible d’être autorisée pour un essai pilote au sens de l'art. 8a, al. 1, LStup. Les demandes doivent donc être soumises de manière coordonnée par les organisations publiques ou privées respectives. En tant qu’autorité compétente en matière d’autorisation, l’OFSP assure la coordination des procédures liées.

Il incombe aux organisateurs publics ou privés responsables de déterminer les cultivateurs et les fabricants pour leurs essais pilotes. L’OFSP ne désigne aucun producteur et ne procède lui-même à aucun essai pilote.

Obligations de documenter et de notifier

Les titulaires d’autorisation tiennent une comptabilité de toutes les circulations de produits cannabiques et renseignent, à la fin de chaque année, l’OFSP et les cantons sur leurs ventes de ces produits et sur les stocks dans chaque point de vente. Ils notifient immédiatement à l’OFSP tout évènement extraordinaire (voir art. 27 OEPStup). L’OFSP examine, dans le cadre de la procédure d’autorisation, l'existence des processus concernés.

Activités de contrôle

Quiconque cultive, importe, fabrique ou met dans le commerce un stupéfiant ayant des effets de type cannabique est tenu de contrôler de manière autonome le respect des dispositions de l’OEPStup relatives à la qualité de la culture et des produits ainsi qu’à l'emballage et à l’information sur le produit (art. 30 OEPStup).

L’OFSP contrôle si les titulaires d’une autorisation pour des essais pilotes respectent les dispositions de l’OEPStup. Cependant, il peut associer à cette tâche les autorités cantonales d’exécution compétentes. Les autorités cantonales désignent les services compétents pour le contrôle par échantillonnage du respect des exigences relatives à la qualité des produits cannabiques au sens de l’art. 9 OEPStup.

Les autorités fédérales et cantonales contrôlent le respect des directives concernant la réalisation d'essais pilotes par le biais d’inspections périodiques. Les titulaires d’autorisation sont tenus de rendre accessibles les emplacements et les locaux. Sont ici concernées toutes les zones où une manipulation de stupéfiants peut avoir lieu, p. ex. surfaces cultivées, lieux de fabrication, de vente et de stockage. Les autorités de contrôle doivent pouvoir, sur demande, consulter les stocks concernés et tous les documents s'y rapportant.

Déroulement des essais pilotes sur le cannabis. Soumission coordonnée des demandes, évaluation des demandes at autorisation, départ essais pilotes, recrutement des participants, participation aux essais pilotes, évaluation des données et communication. Les essais pilotes sont la base scientifique pour une future réglementation juridique du cannabis.

Informations complémentaires

Culture pour essais pilotes

La culture de stupéfiants ayant des effets de type cannabique destinés à être remis dans le cadre d’essais pilotes au sens de l’art. 8a de la loi sur les stupéfiants (LStup) nécessite une autorisation exceptionnelle de l’OFSP.

Fabrication pour essais pilotes

La fabrication de produits cannabiques destinés à être remis dans le cadre d’essais pilotes au sens de l’art. 8a LStup exige une autorisation exceptionnelle de l’OFSP.

Importation pour essais pilotes

Une autorisation exceptionnelle de l’OFSP est nécessaire pour importer des stupéfiants ayant des effets de type cannabique et destinés à des essais pilotes au sens de la loi sur les stupéfiants.

Essais pilotes cannabis

Une modification de la LStup est entrée en vigueur le 15 mai 2021. Elle autorise la réalisation d’essais pilotes avec remise de cannabis à des fins non médicales (« récréatif »). L’objectif de ces études est de fournir une base aux futures décisions sur la réglementation du cannabis.

Autorisations pour les essais pilotes au sens de l’art. 8a LStup

L’OFSP peut autoriser des essais pilotes scientifiques de remise contrôlée de cannabis à des fins non médicales, s’ils sont limités dans l’espace, le temps et leur objet, et apportent de nouvelles connaissances concernant l'usage de cannabis.

Dernière modification 14.07.2021

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Prévention des maladies non transmissibles
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 88 24
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesuche-bewilligungen/ausnahmebewilligungen-bewilligungen-betmg/ausnahmebewilligungen-verbotene-betaeubungsmittel/ausnahmebewilligungen-pilotversuche.html