Health insurance: Other agreements

This section provides information on the other international social-security agreements concluded by Switzerland.  

Bilateral social-security agreements

Switzerland has concluded agreements with many states regarding the social-security arrangements for persons transferring their domicile or employment from Switzerland to one of these states or vice-versa. Some of these agreements do not apply to health insurance but indirectly affect the health-insurance status of posted workers.

Agreements concluded with third countries (outside the EU/EFTA)

Switzerland has concluded bilateral social-security agreements with the following states : Australia, Canada (including Quebec), Chile, China, South Korea, the United States, Former Yugoslavia*, India, Israel, Japan, Macedonia, Montenegro, the Philippines, the Republic of San Marino, Serbia, Turkey and Uruguay (see attached table).

* Since the new agreement with Serbia and Montenegro came into effect, the social-security agreement with the former Yugoslavia is now only applicable to Bosnia and Herzegovina. This agreement has not been applicable to Kosovo since 01.04.2010.

New social-security agreements

The agreement with the People’s Republic of China came into effect on 19 June 2017 (SR 0.831.109.249.1). It applies to the areas of OASI and IV, with only an indirect effect on health insurance. The posting duration is 6 years.

The agreements with Serbia and Montenegro came into effect on 1 January 2019. Both agreements concern the areas of OASI and IV with only an indirect effect on health insurance. The posting duration is 2 years. The social-security agreement with the former Yugoslavia is now only applicable to Bosnia and Herzegovina.

For workers and their non-employed accompanying family members from Switzerland posted in these contracting states, the continued duration of health insurance in Switzerland corresponds to the length of the posting in line with the relevant agreement. If these persons have compulsory health insurance in the country of the temporary posting, they may upon request be released from the obligation to pay insurance contributions in Switzerland, provided they have equivalent insurance cover for treatment in Switzerland.

Workers from these contracting states posted in Switzerland – and their non-employed accompanying family members – are subject to Swiss health insurance. They may be released from this obligation upon request, provided their employer ensures equivalent insurance cover.

Agreements concluded with European countries

Switzerland previously had bilateral social-security agreements with most European countries. After the AFMP came into effect and EFTA Agreement was revised accordingly, these two agreements have superseded the bilateral agreements concluded with EU and EFTA member states. The previous agreements do however remain applicable to persons not covered by the AFMP or the EFTA Agreement, such as third-country nationals on work postings to Switzerland.

Additional information

The Federal Social Insurance Office (FSIO) also publishes an up-to-date list of all social-security agreements currently in force as well as information on the social-security agreements between Switzerland and a range of countries (notably Australia, Chile, Canada, the United States, Japan, Macedonia, the Philippines and Uruguay). See link below.

Further information

Workers posted abroad from Switzerland

In principle, workers posted abroad from Switzerland remain subject to compulsory health insurance in Switzerland.

Posted workers in Switzerland

Essentially, posted workers in Switzerland remain subject to the social security system of their home country.

Last modification 04.03.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Section Legal Supervision of Health Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesetzgebung/gesetzgebung-versicherungen/gesetzgebung-krankenversicherung/internationale-sozialversicherungsabkommen/weitere-abkommen.html

Assurance-maladie : Autres conventions

Vous trouverez sous cette rubrique des informations relatives aux autres conventions internationales de sécurité sociale conclues par la Suisse.  

Conventions bilatérales de sécurité sociale

La Suisse a conclu des conventions avec de nombreux Etats, pour régler la situation en matière de sécurité sociale des assurés qui transfèrent leur domicile ou leur activité lucrative de Suisse dans un de ces Etats, et vice-versa. Certaines de ces conventions ne s’appliquent pas à l’assurance-maladie. Elles n’ont qu’un effet indirect en matière d’assurance-maladie, à savoir sur le statut des travailleurs détachés.

Conventions conclues avec des Etats tiers (hors UE/AELE)

Les Etats avec lesquels la Suisse a conclu des conventions bilatérales de sécurité sociale sont les suivants : l’Australie, le Canada (y.c. le Québec), le Chili, la Chine, la Corée du sud, les Etats-Unis, l’Ex-Yougoslavie*, l’Inde, Israël, le Japon, la Macédoine, le Monténégro, les Philippines, la République de Saint-Marin, la Serbie, la Turquie et l'Uruguay (voir tableau en annexe).

* Depuis l’entrée en vigueur des conventions de sécurité sociales avec la Serbie et le Monténégro au 1er janvier 2019, la Convention en matière de sécurité sociale avec l’Ex-Yougoslavie ne s’applique plus qu’à la Bosnie et Herzégovine. Cette convention n’est plus applicable au Kosovo depuis le 1er avril 2010.

Nouvelles conventions de sécurité sociale

La Convention avec la République populaire de Chine est entrée en vigueur le 19 juin 2017. Elle est applicable à l’AVS et à l’AI, mais n’a qu’un effet indirect sur l’assurance-maladie. La durée du détachement est de 6 ans.

La Convention avec la Serbie et la Convention avec le Monténégro sont entrées en vigueur au 1er janvier 2019. Ces deux conventions concernent l’AVS et l’AI, mais n’ont qu’un effet indirect sur l’assurance-maladie. La durée du détachement est de 2 ans. La Convention de sécurité sociale avec l’Ex-Yougoslavie reste applicable uniquement à la Bosnie-Herzégovine.

Pour les travailleurs détachés de Suisse vers ces États contractants, ainsi que pour les membres de leur famille sans activité lucrative qui les accompagnent, la prolongation de l’assurance correspond à la durée de détachement autorisée par la convention en question. Si ces personnes sont obligatoirement assurées contre la maladie dans l’État de l’activité temporaire, elles peuvent, sur demande, être exemptées de l’obligation de s’assurer en Suisse, si elles disposent d’une couverture d’assurance équivalente pour les traitements en Suisse.

Les travailleurs détachés de ces États contractants en Suisse, ainsi que les membres de leur famille sans activité lucrative qui les accompagnent, sont soumis à l’assurance obligatoire en Suisse. Ils peuvent demander à en être exemptés, si leur employeur veille à ce qu’ils disposent d’une couverture d’assurance équivalente.

Conventions conclues avec les pays européens

Par le passé, la Suisse avait conclu des conventions bilatérales de sécurité sociale avec la plupart des pays européens. Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de l’ALCP et depuis la révision correspondante de la Convention AELE, ces deux accords se substituent aux conventions bilatérales conclues avec les Etats membres de l’UE ou de l’AELE. Ces conventions restent toutefois applicables aux personnes qui ne tombent pas dans le champ d’application personnel de l’ALCP ou de la Convention AELE, p. ex. aux ressortissants d’Etats tiers s’agissant des dispositions en matière de détachement.

Informations complémentaires

L'Office fédéral des assurances sociales (OFAS) publie également une liste actualisée de l'ensemble des conventions en matière de sécurité sociale ainsi que des informations sur les conventions de sécurité sociale entre la Suisse et divers pays (notamment Australie, Chili, Canada, Etats-Unis, Japon, Macédoine, Philippines et Uruguay). Voir le lien ci-dessous.

Informations complémentaires

Travailleurs détachés de Suisse à l’étranger

Les travailleurs détachés à l’étranger restent en principe soumis à l'assurance-maladie obligatoire en Suisse

Travailleurs détachés en Suisse

Les travailleurs détachés en Suisse restent en principe soumis à la sécurité sociale du pays d’origine.

Dernière modification 05.02.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Surveillance juridique AM
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesetzgebung/gesetzgebung-versicherungen/gesetzgebung-krankenversicherung/internationale-sozialversicherungsabkommen/weitere-abkommen.html