Health insurance: AFMP and EFTA Agreement

This section provides health-insurance information on the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons between Switzerland and the member states of the European Union (AFMP) and the Agreement instituting the European Free Trade Area (EFTA).  

Entry into force

The Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) between Switzerland and the European Union (EU) came into force on 1 June 2002. It grants Swiss and EU nationals the fundamental right of free choice of their place of work and domicile within the member states’ territory. An updated version of the EFTA Agreement also came into force on that date.

Adoption of European coordination law

When the AFMP and EFTA Agreement came into force, Switzerland adopted the European regulations on the coordination of social-security systems. On 1 May 2010, EEC regulations 1408/71 and 574/72 were replaced in all 27 EU member states by EC regulation 883/2004 (R 883/04) and by EC implementing regulation 987/2009 (R 987/09). Initially, these regulations did not apply to relations between Switzerland and the EU member states. They were adopted as part of the 3rd update of annex II to the AFMP, which came into force on 1 April 2012. Since 1 January 2016, (3rd update of appendix 2 of annex K to the EFTA Agreement) EC regulations 883/2004 and 987/2009 also apply within EFTA.

The AFMP has been extended to Croatia on 1 January 2017. The Regulations (CE) No 883/2004 and 987/2009 are therefore applicable to the relations between Switzerland and Croatia (see document below).

Electronic Exchange of Social Security Information (EESSI)

The new EU regulations provide for the replacement of the present E forms (currently in paper form) by a system of electronic data exchange between social-security institutions (Electronic Exchange of Social Security Information - EESSI). Implementation of this system is currently under way in Switzerland.

Further information

Workers posted abroad from Switzerland

In principle, workers posted abroad from Switzerland remain subject to compulsory health insurance in Switzerland.

Posted workers in Switzerland

Essentially, posted workers in Switzerland remain subject to the social security system of their home country.

Sectoral agreements with the EU

The coordination provisions guarantee cross-border insurance coverage between Switzerland and EU Member States.

EESSI

Electronic data interchange between social insurance carriers in EU Member States.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Section Legal Supervision of Health Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesetzgebung/gesetzgebung-versicherungen/gesetzgebung-krankenversicherung/internationale-sozialversicherungsabkommen/fza-und-efta-uebereinkommen.html

Assurance-maladie : ALCP et Convention AELE

Vous trouverez sous cette rubrique des informations relatives à l'Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes avec les Etats membres de l'Union européenne (ALCP) et à la Convention instituant l'Association européenne de libre échange (AELE) en ce qui concerne le domaine de l'assurance-maladie.  

Entrée en vigueur

L'accord sur la libre circulation des personnes (ALCP) entre la Suisse et l’Union européenne (UE) est entré en vigueur le 1er juin 2002. Cet accord permet aux ressortissants suisses et à ceux de l'UE de bénéficier du droit fondamental de choisir librement leur lieu de travail et de domicile sur le territoire des Etats membres. La Convention AELE a également été actualisée à cette date.

Reprise du droit de coordination européen

Lors de l'entrée en vigueur de l'ALCP et de la Convention AELE, la Suisse a repris les règlements européens portant sur la coordination des systèmes de sécurité sociale. Le 1er mai 2010, les règlements (CEE) nos 1408/71 et 574/72 ont été remplacés dans les 27 Etats membres de l’UE par le règlement (CE) no 883/2004 (R 883/04) et par le règlement d’exécution (CE) no 987/2009 (R 987/09). Dans un premier temps, ces règlements ne s’appliquaient pas aux relations entre la Suisse et les Etats membres de l’UE. Ils ont été repris dans le cadre de la 3e actualisation de l’annexe II de l'ALCP, laquelle est entrée en vigueur le 1er avril 2012. Depuis le 1er janvier 2016 (3e actualisation de l'appendice 2 de l’annexe K de la convention AELE), les Règlements (CE) nº 883/2004 et nº 987/2009 s'appliquent également à l'intérieur de l'AELE.

L’ALCP a été étendu à la Croatie au 1er janvier 2017. Dès cette date, les règlements (CE) n° 883/2004 et n° 987/2009 sont applicables dans les relations entre la Suisse et la Croatie (voir document ci-dessous).

Échange électronique des données EESSI

Les nouveaux règlements UE prévoient le remplacement des formulaires E (actuellement en version papier) par un système d'échange électronique des données entre les institutions de sécurité sociale (Electronic Exchange of Social Security Information - EESSI). La procédure d'implémentation de ce système en Suisse est actuellement en cours.

Informations complémentaires

Travailleurs détachés de Suisse à l’étranger

Les travailleurs détachés à l’étranger restent en principe soumis à l'assurance-maladie obligatoire en Suisse

Travailleurs détachés en Suisse

Les travailleurs détachés en Suisse restent en principe soumis à la sécurité sociale du pays d’origine.

Accords sectoriels avec l’UE

Les dispositions de coordination sont garantes de la couverture sociale transfrontalière entre la Suisse et les États membres de l’UE.

EESSI

Système d’échange électronique des données entre les institutions d’assurances sociales des États membres de l’UE

Dernière modification 29.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Surveillance juridique AM
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/gesetze-und-bewilligungen/gesetzgebung/gesetzgebung-versicherungen/gesetzgebung-krankenversicherung/internationale-sozialversicherungsabkommen/fza-und-efta-uebereinkommen.html