Requirements for high-quality radiation protection

In the area of radiation protection, the FOPH carries out monitoring, evaluation and research. This provides us with the necessary basis for optimising the population's radiation exposure. Our research activities focus on medical applications.

Radiation exposure of patients

Our focus is on monitoring and evaluating radiation exposure of patients during diagnostics and treatment. We regularly review the frequency of X-ray diagnostics and nuclear medicine examinations and associated radiation exposure. The results of these enquiries, which we publish, form the foundation for our supervisory priorities. New technologies using radiation are an additional ongoing challenge.

At the same time, we are further refining the concept of diagnostic reference levels (DRLs) in medicine. DRLs are derived from the distribution of radiation exposures used in the various examination techniques. They are an important benchmark for users (e.g. radiologists, nuclear medicine specialists, surgeons, etc.) in optimising their examinations. We also want to develop a strategy which sets dosage levels in relation to required image quality.

Environmental radioactivity and radon

We monitor environmental radioactivity and publish an annual report with measurement results and population exposure. Our research projects in this area aim to optimise the analytical methods for different radionuclides in biological samples (e.g. vertebral bones, teeth, urine) or in environmental samples (e.g. soil, grasses, sediment). The goal is to reduce costs, lower detection limits and reduce analysis times.

The development of scientific mapping tools enables us to make a better assessment of radon risk and its distribution in Switzerland. This allows us to specifically define and optimise the radon protection measures necessary for compliance with the reference value. We also want to promote an understanding among construction experts of the interaction between energy-saving and radon protection measures, with the goal of enabling synergies when it comes to improving indoor air quality.

Non-ionising radiation (NIR) and sound

One of our strategic research goals is to record exposure through NIR and sound. To this end, we initiate and support corresponding research projects. Our research activities aim to improve the as-yet incomplete scientific foundations particularly regarding technologies within the scope of the new Federal Act on Protection against Hazards Arising from Non-Ionising Radiation and Sound (NISSG). Aspects focussed on include cosmetic treatments with NIR and sound products (such as flashguns for hair removal or ultrasound devices for cosmetic use) and dazzle caused by laser pointers.

We also want to investigate and assess the effects of UV radiation and nocturnal light exposure in the non-occupational sphere. By way of example, in the case of sound and hearing, we want to investigate whether high noise levels at low frequencies affect hearing and whether temporary hearing problems are connected to permanent hearing impairments.

International cooperation

As part of the European project CONCERT (part of Horizon 2020), we promote participation of Swiss research institutes, thereby strengthening research topics in radiation protection. As a national authority, we collaborate in strategic monitoring in order to prioritise corresponding research activities. CONCERT’s research results aim to achieve optimised handling of ionising radiation and efficient implementation of national radiation protection legislation.

Last modification 08.02.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Consumer Protection Directorate
Radiation Protection Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 96 14
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/das-bag/ressortforschung-evaluation/forschung-im-bag/forschung-strahlenschutz.html

Bases pour une radioprotection de qualité

L’OFSP gère le monitorage, l’évaluation et la recherche en matière de radioprotection. Il dispose ainsi des bases nécessaires pour améliorer la protection de la population. Ses activités de recherche se concentrent sur les applications médicales.

Exposition des patients au rayonnement

Les recherches de l’OFSP consistent essentiellement à surveiller et à évaluer l’exposition des patients au rayonnement lors du diagnostic et du traitement. L’office évalue régulièrement la fréquence des examens de radiologie et de médecine nucléaire, ainsi que les expositions au rayonnement qui en découlent. Puis il en publie les résultats, lesquels servent de base pour cibler la surveillance. Les nouvelles technologies émettant un rayonnement constituent également un défi permanent.

Parallèlement, l’OFSP améliore le concept des niveaux de référence diagnostiques (NRD) en médecine. Les NRD se fondent sur les distributions des expositions au rayonnement appliquées aux différentes techniques d’examen. Ils constituent une référence importante pour que les utilisateurs (p. ex., radiologues, spécialistes en médecine nucléaire, opérateurs) puissent améliorer leurs examens. Par ailleurs, l’office entend élaborer une stratégie fixant les valeurs de doses par rapport à la qualité d’image requise.

Radioactivité de l’environnement et radon

L’OFSP surveille la radioactivité dans l’environnement et publie chaque année un rapport présentant les résultats des mesures et l’exposition de la population. Les projets de recherche dans ce domaine visent à améliorer les méthodes d’analyse pour différents radionucléides présents dans des échantillons biologiques (p. ex., vertèbres, dents, urine) ou environnementaux (p. ex., sol, herbes, sédiments), ce qui permettra de réduire les coûts, d’abaisser les seuils de détection et de diminuer les temps d’analyse.

Le développement d’outils de mappage scientifiques permet de mieux évaluer les risques liés au radon et leur répartition en Suisse. Il est ainsi possible de déterminer et d’améliorer les mesures de protection nécessaires au respect de la valeur de référence. En outre, l’OFSP souhaite que les professionnels du bâtiment comprennent mieux les interactions entre les mesures d’économie d’énergie et celles de protection contre le radon. Ce projet vise à créer des synergies en vue d’améliorer la qualité de l’air ambiant.

Rayonnement non ionisant et son

L’un des objectifs stratégiques de recherche consiste à recenser les expositions au rayonnement non ionisant (RNI) et au son. À cette fin, l’office lance et accompagne les projets correspondants. Ses activités de recherche visent à combler les lacunes des bases scientifiques, notamment en ce qui concerne les technologies tombant sous le coup de la nouvelle loi fédérale sur la protection contre les dangers liés au rayonnement non ionisant et au son (LRNIS). Elles se concentrent notamment sur les traitements cosmétiques impliquant des produits émettant un RNI et du son (p. ex., lampes flash servant à l’épilation ou appareils à ultrasons utilisés en esthétique) et les éblouissements dus aux pointeurs laser.

L’objectif est également d’analyser et d’évaluer les effets des rayons UV et de l’exposition aux lumières nocturnes dans le domaine non professionnel. Dans le domaine du son, l’OFSP étudie, par exemple, si des niveaux sonores élevés émis à des fréquences basses influencent l’ouïe et si des problèmes d’ouïe temporaires peuvent causer des lésions permanentes.

Coopération internationale

Dans le cadre du projet européen CONCERT, qui fait partie d’Horizon 2020, l’OFSP encourage la participation des instituts de recherche suisses et donne plus de poids aux thèmes de recherche liés à la radioprotection. En tant qu’autorité nationale, l’office participe au suivi stratégique afin de hiérarchiser les activités correspondantes. Les résultats du projet CONCERT doivent permettre d’améliorer l’utilisation des rayons ionisants et de mettre en œuvre de façon efficiente la législation nationale en la matière.

Dernière modification 08.02.2019

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Protection des consommateurs
Division Radioprotection
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 96 14
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/das-bag/ressortforschung-evaluation/forschung-im-bag/forschung-strahlenschutz.html