Taking health to heart

As part of the Federal Department of Home Affairs, the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) is responsible for public health in Switzerland; it develops Switzerland’s health policy and works to ensure that the country has an efficient and affordable healthcare system in the long term. Find out everything you need to know about our tasks and the objectives of our work here.  

Our tasks

We provide competence in healthcare, promote a healthy lifestyle and work for the general well-being of the public. We are responsible for ensuring that our healthcare system remains efficient and affordable.

The most important requirements regarding health are set out in the Federal Constitution. We are responsible for more than twenty laws and numerous ordinances that are based on these standards. The range of our tasks is correspondingly broad: We are responsible for social health and accident insurance, regulations for chemicals, medicines, legislation in the areas of biosafety, research on humans and transplantation medicine, health promotion, national programs combating addiction and sexually transmitted diseases, radiation protection, and the regulation of university medical and health professionals. Furthermore, we represent the interests of Switzerland in health matters in international organisations and towards other countries.

Our goals

The people in our country should be able to deal competently and responsibly with their health, and our healthcare system should continue to provide high quality care and be affordable and accessible to all.

We face considerable challenges: the number of older and chronically ill people and non-communicable diseases is increasing. In addition to a lack of qualified personnel, costs are being pushed up by demographic trends and advances in medical technology, and the healthcare system is not sufficiently transparent. The healthcare system also has a great deal to catch up on in terms of digitisation.

To cope with these challenges in a sustainable manner, the Federal Council has been pushing ahead with more than 36 measures following the adoption of the ‘Health2020’ strategy in 2013. These are aimed at improving the quality of life of the people in our country, increasing equality of opportunity and optimising transparency and the quality of care. The Health 2030 strategy is building on these measures. The Federal Council wishes to further improve the healthcare system and thus enable all people in Switzerland to receive good and affordable medical care.

The FOPH will play a major role in implementing this. Our aim is to prepare Switzerland’s healthcare system optimally for the future.

Activity reports

The FOPH publishes activity reports on various topics, for example on radiation protection and the National Programme for HIV and Other Sexually Transmitted Infections. You can find the reports here.

Directorates and Divisions of the FOPH

Director

Duties: Coordinating FOPH business with the Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA; representing the FOPH or the FDHA in working groups and on parliamentary committees and international bodies; planning reform projects

COVID-19 Coordination Group

Duties: overall planning, ensuring the flow of information, and coordination in the field of COVID-19 at the FOPH

Health and Accident Insurance

Duties: Preparing the foundation for arranging and developing the health, accident and military insurance systems and their implementation

Prevention and Public Health Services

Duties: Promoting disease prevention; promoting health literacy among members of the Swiss public and strengthening conditions conducive to good health; continuing development of healthcare provision; developing and implementing health strategies; ensuring education and training for healthcare professions and primary healthcare

Health Protection

Duties: Assessing risks, raising public awareness and drawing up protection concepts for dealing with chemicals and radiation; assessing opportunities and risks of biomedicine and state-of-the-art medicine; establishing and monitoring legal frameworks

Digital Transformation and Steering

Duties: Developing and implementing the digitalisation strategy for healthcare and the FOPH; advising on digital issues; managing cross-divisional and cross-departmental digitalisation matters and providing impetus; establishing Switzerland’s Electronic Patient Record; promoting agile, comprehensive collaboration and innovation

Management Services Division

Duties: Coordinating political business, supporting the division; evaluation and research; language services; facility management and security.

Communication and Campaigns Division

Duties: Providing information internally and externally on relevant projects at the FOPH; preparing communications on the Federal Council’s health policy decisions; running campaigns to improve health literacy among the public

International Affairs Division

Duties: Managing the FOPH’s international work; representing Switzerland’s interests at international organisations, particularly the WHO

Legal Affairs Division

Duties: Dealing with and managing legislative business; assuring coherent legislation; providing expert opinions on legal issues; representing the FOPH in legal disputes

Last modification 07.02.2022

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Management Services Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/das-bag/auftrag-ziele.html

La santé nous tient à cœur

Au sein du Département fédéral de l’intérieur, l’OFSP est responsable de la santé de la population, développe la politique de la santé et s’engage pour assurer la pérennité d’un système de santé suisse performant et financièrement viable. Vous trouvez ici toutes les informations sur la mission de l’office et ses objectifs.

Mission

Nous nous engageons de manière compétente en faveur de la santé publique, promouvons un mode de vie sain et œuvrons pour le bien-être de la population de notre pays. Nous veillons à ce que notre système de santé reste performant et abordable.

Les principales dispositions concernant la santé sont inscrites dans la Constitution fédérale. Notre office est responsable de l’application de plus de 20 lois et de nombreuses ordonnances basées sur ces normes. Aussi notre domaine d’activités est-il vaste : assurances sociales maladie et accidents, réglementation des produits chimiques, des médicaments, législation en matière de sécurité biologique, de recherche sur l’être humain et de médecine de la transplantation, promotion de la santé, programmes nationaux de lutte contre les dépendances et les maladies sexuellement transmissibles, radioprotection, réglementation des professions médicales et de la santé universitaires. Nous représentons les intérêts de la Suisse en matière de santé au sein d’organisations internationales et vis-à-vis d’autres Etats.

Objectifs

Les habitants de notre pays doivent pouvoir prendre soin d’eux-mêmes de manière compétente et responsable ; notre système de santé, qui a fait ses preuves, doit être préservé, abordable et accessible à tous.

Des défis majeurs nous attendent : le nombre de personnes âgées et atteintes de maladies chroniques ainsi que celui des maladies non transmissibles ne cessent d’augmenter. Le personnel qualifié fait défaut, l’évolution démographique et les avancées technologiques médicales entraînent une hausse des coûts et le système de santé manque de transparence. En outre, la numérisation dans le domaine de la santé connaît un important retard.

Pour relever durablement ces défis, le Conseil fédéral promeut depuis 2013 les 36 mesures contenues dans la stratégie Santé2020. Ces dernières visent à améliorer la qualité de vie en Suisse, à renforcer l’égalité des chances et à optimiser la transparence et la qualité des soins. Santé2030 se fonde sur ces mesures. Le Conseil fédéral entend continuer d’améliorer le système de santé et donner la possibilité à toutes les personnes en Suisse de bénéficier de soins de qualité et abordables.

Rapports d’activité

L’OFSP publie des rapports d‘activité sur différentes thématiques, par exemple, la radioprotection ou le Programme national VIH et autres infections sexuellement transmissibles IST, qu’il met à disposition de ses partenaires et du public. Vous trouverez les rapports sur cette page.

Unités de direction & divisions de l'OFSP

Directrice

Tâches : coordonner les affaires de l’office avec le DFI, assurer la représentation de l’OFSP ou du DFI dans les groupes de travail, commissions parlementaires et organisations internationales ; prévoir les projets de réforme

Taskforce OFSP COVID-19

Tâches : contrôler et prévenir la propagation du coronavirus en Suisse ; réduire les effets négatifs du COVID-19 sur la santé de la population ; élaborer des mesures avec des partenaires et les mettre en œuvre

Assurance maladie et accidents

Tâches : préparer et concrétiser les bases nécessaires à l’aménagement et au développement des assurances maladie, accident et militaire

Prévention et services de santé

Tâches : promouvoir la prévention des maladies, favoriser les compétences en matière de santé de la population suisse et renforcer les conditions-cadres favorables à la santé ; poursuivre le développement des services de santé ; élaborer et mettre en œuvre des stratégies en matière de santé ; assurer la formation initiale et postgrade des professionnels de la santé et des médecins de premier recours

Protection de la santé

Tâches : évaluer les risques, sensibiliser la population, élaborer des plans de protection concernant les produits chimiques et les rayonnements ; évaluer les bénéfices et les risques liés à la biomédecine et à la médecine de pointe ; créer et surveiller le cadre légal

Transformation numérique et pilotage

Tâches : élaborer et mettre en œuvre une stratégie de numérisation pour le domaine de la santé et l’office ; fournir des conseils liés à la numérisation ; gérer les thèmes concernant l’ensemble des divisions et de l’office et fournir des impulsions ; déployer le dossier électronique du patient en Suisse ; encourager les formes de collaboration et d’innovation agiles et suprasectorielles

Division État-major de la direction

Tâches : coordination des affaires politiques ; soutien à la direction ; évaluation et recherche ; services linguistiques ; gestion des équipements et sécurité

Division Communication et campagnes

Tâches : informer (à l'interne et à l'externe) des projets relevant de l’office ; préparer la communication liée aux décisions de politique sanitaire du Conseil fédéral ; améliorer les compétences en matière de la santé de la population par des campagnes

Division Affaires internationales

Tâches : donner forme au travail international de l’office; représenter les intérêts suisses dans les organisations internationales, notamment à l’OMS

Division Droit

Tâches : assumer et guider les travaux législatifs ; assurer une législation cohérente et l’expertise pour les questions juridiques ; représenter l’office en cas de litiges

Dernière modification 17.12.2021

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Etat-major de la direction
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/das-bag/auftrag-ziele.html