The FOPH has some 600 professional and dedicated employees who are committed to protecting public health and improving the country’s healthcare system. Find out more about the FOPH organisation and get to know the senior management, directorates, divisions and extra-parliamentary commissions here.

As of December 2019, the FOPH employed 603 people (486.23 full-time equivalents). This figure refers to permanent posts, and does not include fixed-term and temporary positions, apprentices and interns.

In 2020 the FOPH has a budget of approximately CHF 168 million and administers restricted funds of around CHF 3.33 billion (of which CHF 2.9 billion is reserved for premium reductions in compulsory health insurance system and CHF 204 million for military insurance payments).

Senior management

The senior management of the FOPH comprises the director-general and the heads of three directorates and six divisions.

Directorates and Divisions of the FOPH

Duties, powers and responsibilities of the Directorates and Divisions of the FOPH

Extra-parliamentary committees

Organisations can represent their interests in extra-parliamentary commissions, allowing the Federal Administration to increase its specialised knowledge. Here you can find information on the commissions advising the FOPH on various health topics.

Last modification 24.04.2020

Top of page