Reproductive Medicine: facts & figures

Reproductive medicine can help couples who are infertile or at risk of transmitting a serious genetic disease. Who undergoes treatment and how many children are conceived with medical assistance? A monitoring programme provides data on reproductive medicine.

Each year in Switzerland, about 6000 couples who are infertile or carriers of a serious genetic disease seek medical assistance to conceive a child. Around 35 reproductive medicine centres are available. Approximately 2000 live births per year occur as a result of assisted reproduction.

The Reproductive Medicine Act (RMA) specifies the conditions under which assisted reproductive techniques may be used. The purpose of the regulations is to protect human dignity, privacy and the family. Whether the Act fulfils its purpose is to be determined by a review of its effectiveness. As part of this review, the FOPH, as a first step, is conducting a monitoring programme. This programme systematically collects data on reproductive medicine in Switzerland, thus creating transparency.

Overview of published data and sources

The data published here is divided into three main sections:

  • Medical practice in the area of reproductive medicine:  This section includes charts on the following four areas: in vitro fertilisation (IVF) and insemination; testing of embryos (preimplantation diagnosis); pregnancies and births after IVF; and preservation of reproductive cells.
  • Actors in reproductive medicine: This section focuses on physicians who require a licence to use assisted reproductive techniques and laboratories which require authorisation to perform genetic testing on embryos. 
  • Sperm-donor-conceived children: This section includes charts on sperm donors and on donor-conceived children.  

The data presented in the charts comes from the following sources:

Quellen Fmed Monitoring_e.JPG
  • F├ęcondation In Vitro National (FIVNAT) is a committee of the Swiss Society for Reproductive Medicine (SGRM) which collects IVF data. See the section on Medical practice in the area of reproductive medicine.
  • The FOPH grants authorisations to laboratories which perform genetic testing on reproductive cells or embryos. These laboratories require authorisation under Article 8 of the Federal Act on Human Genetic Testing (HGTA). See the section on Actors in reproductive medicine.
  • The Federal Office for Civil Registration (EAZW) manages data in accordance with the RMA on sperm donors and donor-conceived children. See the section on Sperm donor-conceived children.
  • The licence holders are physicians who use assisted reproductive techniques, preserve reproductive cells or arrange the supply of sperm cells and therefore require a licence under Article 8 RMA. For the purposes of monitoring, they are directly surveyed. See the section on Medical practice in the area of reproductive medicine
  • Responsibility for enforcement of the RMA lies with the cantonal supervisory authorities, who are directly surveyed for monitoring purposes. See the section on Actors in reproductive medicine.

Further information

Reproductive Medicine Act effectiveness review

The FOPH reviews the effectiveness of the Reproductive Medicine Act.

Legislative projects

The Federal Office of Public Health is responsible for the legal work related to reproductive medicine.

Parliamentary Motions

Since the Reproductive Medicine Act went into force in 2001, more than 30 parliamentary motions have been submitted on the topic.

Expert opinions

Expert opinions on issues with regard to the Reproductive Medicine Regulation

Last modification 23.04.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Biomedicine
Biosafety, Human Genetics and Reproductive Medicine Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/zahlen-und-statistiken/zahlen-fakten-zu-fortpflanzungsmedizin.html

Fortpflanzungsmedizin: Zahlen & Fakten

Wenn Paare unfruchtbar sind oder eine schwere Erbkrankheit nicht an ihr Kind weitergeben wollen, kann die Fortpflanzungsmedizin weiterhelfen. Wer lässt sich behandeln und wie viele Kinder werden mit medizinischer Hilfe gezeugt? Das Monitoring zur Fortpflanzungsmedizin liefert Zahlen.

In der Schweiz nehmen jährlich rund 6000 Paare, die unfruchtbar oder Träger einer schweren Erbkrankheit sind, medizinische Hilfe in Anspruch, um sich ihren Kinderwunsch zu erfüllen. Dafür stehen rund 35 Zentren zur Verfügung. Pro Jahr kommen dank fortpflanzungsmedizinischen Behandlungen etwa 2000 Kinder zur Welt (Lebendgeburten).

Das Fortpflanzungsmedizingesetz (FMedG) regelt, unter welchen Voraussetzungen die Verfahren der medizinisch unterstützten Fortpflanzung angewendet werden dürfen. Zweck der Regelung ist der Schutz der Menschenwürde, der Persönlichkeit und der Familie. Ob das Gesetz diesen Zweck erfüllt, wird in einer Wirksamkeitsprüfung eruiert. Im Rahmen dieser Prüfung führt das BAG in einem ersten Schritt ein Monitoring durch. Das Monitoring erhebt systematisch Daten zur Fortpflanzungsmedizin in der Schweiz und schafft damit Transparenz.

Übersicht zur Publikation und Quellenlage

Die vorliegende Publikation gliedert sich in drei Hauptbereiche:

  • Medizinische Praxis im Bereich Fortpflanzung: Dieser Bereich enthält Grafiken zu den folgenden vier Unterbereichen: In-vitro-Fertilisation (IVF) und Insemination, Untersuchungen an Embryonen (Präimplantationsdiagnostik), Schwangerschaften und Geburten nach einer IVF sowie Konservierung von Keimzellen.
  • Akteure der Fortpflanzungsmedizin: Dieser Bereich fokussiert auf Ärztinnen und Ärzte sowie Laboratorien, die eine Bewilligung brauchen, um fortpflanzungsmedizinische Verfahren anzuwenden oder genetische Untersuchungen an Embryonen durchzuführen.
  • Kinder aus einer Samenspende: Dieser Bereich enthält Grafiken zu Samenspendern und den mittels Samenspende gezeugten Kindern.

Die Daten, die den Grafiken zugrunde liegen, stammen aus folgenden Quellen:

Quellen Fmed Monitoring.JPG
  • Die Fécondation In Vitro National (FIVNAT) ist eine Kommission der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Reproduktionsmedizin (SGRM). Sie erhebt Daten zur Praxis der In-vitro-Fertilisation. Siehe Bereich Medizinische Praxis.
  • Das BAG erteilt Bewilligungen an Laboratorien, die genetische Untersuchungen an Keimzellen oder Embryonen vornehmen. Diese Laboratorien sind nach Artikel 8 des Bundesgesetzes über genetische Untersuchungen beim Menschen (GUMG) bewilligungspflichtig. Siehe Bereich Akteure.
  • Das Eidgenössische Amt für das Zivilstandswesen (EAZW) verwaltet Daten zu Samenspendern und den mittels Samenspende gezeugten Kindern. Siehe Bereich Kinder aus einer Samenspende
  • Bei den Bewilligungsinhaberinnen und -inhabern handelt es sich um Ärztinnen und Ärzte, die Fortpflanzungsverfahren anwenden, Keimzellen konservieren oder Samenzellen vermitteln und dazu eine Bewilligung nach Artikel 8 FMedG brauchen. Sie werden im Rahmen des Monitorings direkt befragt. Siehe Bereich Medizinische Praxis.
  • Der Vollzug des FMedG obliegt den kantonalen Aufsichtsbehörden. Sie werden im Rahmen des Monitorings direkt befragt. Siehe Bereich Akteure.

Weiterführende Themen

Wirksamkeitsprüfung Fortpflanzungsmedizingesetz

Das BAG überprüft die Wirksamkeit des Fortpflanzungsmedizingesetzes.

Rechtsetzungsarbeiten zur Fortpflanzungsmedizin

Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit ist verantwortlich für die Rechtsetzungsarbeiten mit Bezug zur Fortpflanzungsmedizin.

Parlamentarische Vorstösse

Seit das Fortpflanzungsmedizingesetz 2001 in Kraft getreten ist, wurden dazu über 30 parlamentarische Vorstösse eingereicht.

Stellungnahmen und Gutachten

Stellungnahmen und Gutachten zu Fragestellungen im Zusammenhang mit dem Fortpflanzungsmedizingesetz

Letzte Änderung 16.09.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Biomedizin
Sektion Biosicherheit, Humangenetik und Fortpflanzungsmedizin
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 463 51 54
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/zahlen-und-statistiken/zahlen-fakten-zu-fortpflanzungsmedizin.html