Prevention of occupational accidents and illnesses

Employers are responsible for preventing occupational accidents and illnesses (occupational safety). But employees also have a part to play.  

The obligations of employers and employees

Employers must take all measures to prevent occupational accidents and illnesses which experience has shown to be necessary, which are applicable with the latest technology and which are appropriate to the existing conditions. Employees also have a part to play in preventing occupational accidents and illnesses. Employers cover the costs of any measures taken to ensure occupational safety.

Employees must comply with the employer’s instructions concerning occupational safety, as well as generally accepted safety regulations. In particular, they must use personal protective equipment (PPE) and must not compromise the effectiveness of safety equipment.

Binding requirements to protect employees

In the area of occupational safety, it is not sufficient merely to provide advice and information and to make recommendations. In some cases, there is a need for specific, binding requirements to protect employees (e.g. compulsory wearing of helmets, fall protection systems, safety barriers and light curtains for presses, saw blade guards). Occupational safety requirements can thus also be implemented by means of official directives.

Executive bodies

International and Swiss legislation provides for independent executive bodies which are responsible for overseeing compliance with occupational safety requirements. The following bodies are responsible for monitoring and enforcement of occupational safety:

  • Swiss Accident Insurance Fund (Suva)
  • Cantonal labour inspectorates
  • Federal Labour Inspectorate

Costs of monitoring

The costs of monitoring are financed through supplements on occupational accident insurance premiums. These supplements serve to cover the costs arising from the occupational safety activities of the executive bodies (Suva, cantonal labour inspectorates, Federal Labour Inspectorate). They are regulated by the Federal Council Ordinance on the Setting of Premium Supplements for Accident Prevention (SR 832.208).

Last modification 16.06.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Insurance Supervision Division
Section Accident Insurance, Accident Prevention and Military Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/unfallversicherung/unfallverhuetung/verhuetung-berufsunfaelle-berufskrankheiten.html

Verhütung von Berufsunfällen und Berufskrankheiten

Die Verhütung von Berufsunfällen und Berufskrankheiten (Arbeitssicherheit) liegt in der Verantwortung des Arbeitgebers. Die Arbeitnehmenden wirken bei der Verhütung von Berufsunfällen und Berufskrankheiten mit.

Pflichten des Arbeitgebers, Pflichten des Arbeitnehmers

Der Arbeitgeber hat alle Massnahmen zu treffen, die zur Verhütung von Berufsunfällen und Berufskrankheiten nach der Erfahrung notwendig, nach dem Stand der Technik anwendbar und den gegebenen Verhältnissen angemessen sind. Die Arbeitnehmenden wirken bei der Verhütung von Berufsunfällen und Berufskrankheiten mit. Der Arbeitgeber trägt die Kosten der von ihm zu treffenden Massnahmen zur Wahrung der Arbeitssicherheit.

Der Arbeitnehmer muss die Weisungen des Arbeitgebers in Bezug auf die Arbeitssicherheit befolgen und die allgemein anerkannten Sicherheitsregeln berücksichtigen. Er muss insbesondere die persönliche Schutzausrüstung (PSA) benützen und darf die Wirksamkeit der Schutzeinrichtungen nicht beeinträchtigen.

Zwingende Verpflichtungen zum Schutz der Arbeitnehmenden

Die Arbeitssicherheit zeichnet sich dadurch aus, als sie nicht allein auf dem Weg der Beratung, Information und Empfehlung verwirklicht wird. Sie umfasst zuweilen konkrete und zwingende Verpflichtungen zum Schutz der Arbeitnehmenden (z.B. Tragpflicht von Schutzhelmen, Absturzsicherungen, Schutzgitter und Lichtschranken bei schweren Pressen, Abdeckung von Sägeblättern). Die Vorschriften der Arbeitssicherheit können folglich auch mittels behördlichen Anordnungen durchgesetzt werden.

Staatliche Durchführungsorgane

Nach den Grundsätzen des internationalen und des schweizerischen Rechts sind unabhängige, staatliche Durchführungsorgane vorgesehen. Ihre Aufgabe ist es zu kontrollieren, ob die Vorschriften der Arbeitssicherheit durch den Arbeitgeber vollzogen werden. Zuständig für die Überwachung und Durchsetzung des Vollzugs der Arbeitssicherheit sind die folgenden Durchführungsorgane:

  • Schweizerische Unfallversicherungsanstalt (Suva)
  • Kantonale Arbeitsinspektorate (KAI)
  • Eidgenössische Arbeitsinspektion (EAI)

Kosten der Überwachung

Die Kosten der Überwachung werden über Zuschläge zu den Prämien der Versicherung von Berufsunfällen finanziert. Dieser Prämienzuschlag dient dazu, die Kosten zu decken, die den Durchführungsorganen (Suva, KAI und EAI) aus der Tätigkeit zur Arbeitssicherheit entstehen. Er ist in einer Verordnung des Bundesrates über die Festsetzung der Prämienzuschläge für die Unfallverhütung festgelegt (SR 832.208).

Letzte Änderung 05.07.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Versicherungsaufsicht
Sektion Unfallversicherung, Unfallverhütung und Militärversicherung
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/unfallversicherung/unfallverhuetung/verhuetung-berufsunfaelle-berufskrankheiten.html