Accident insurance: premiums

The employer pays the premium for occupational, and the employee for non-occupational accidents. Premiums vary according to income and the type of company. 

Who pays the premiums?

Premiums for occupational accident and illness insurance are paid by the employer. Premiums for non-occupational accident insurance are essentially paid by the employee. The employer is liable for the entire premium, but the employees’ share is deducted from their salary.

A provisional premium is calculated, to be paid by the employer. The definitive premium for the past year is calculated on the basis of the annual payroll accounts. This is also used as a basis for the new provisional premium for the following year.

How much are the premiums?

Premiums are calculated as a permillage (‰) of the income subject to compulsory insurance*. They comprise a risk-based net premium and various supplements. For purposes of premium calculation, companies are assigned to various premium tariff categories and levels according to the type of business and specific circumstances.

Further information can be found in the annual overview of applicable social insurance contributions and premiums (available in French/German/Italian).

(*)
The income subject to compulsory insurance essentially corresponds to the income used to calculate monetary benefits. The part of the salary exceeding the maximum insured income (currently CHF 148,200) is not taken into account.

Last modification 04.06.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Insurance Supervision Division
Section Accident Insurance, Accident Prevention and Military Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/unfallversicherung/praemien.html

Unfallversicherung: Prämien

Der Arbeitgebende bezahlt die Prämie für Berufsunfälle, der Arbeitnehmende diejenige für Nichtberufsunfälle. Die Prämien sind unterschiedlich hoch je nach Einkommen und Art des Betriebes.

Wer bezahlt die Unfallversicherungsprämien?

Die Prämien für die Versicherung der Berufsunfälle und Berufskrankheiten tragen die Arbeitgebenden. Die Prämien für die Versicherung der Nichtberufsunfälle gehen grundsätzlich zu Lasten der Arbeitnehmenden. Der Arbeitgebende schuldet den gesamten Prämienbetrag, wobei er den Anteil der Arbeitnehmenden von deren Lohn abzieht.

Es wird eine Vorausprämie festgelegt, die vom Arbeitgeber bezahlt wird. Auf der Basis der jährlichen Lohnabrechnung wird dann die definitive Prämienberechnung für das zurückgelegte Jahr erstellt. Auf dieser Grundlage wird dann gleichzeitig die neue Vorausprämie für das folgende Jahr berechnet.

Wie hoch sind die Unfallversicherungsprämien?

Die Prämien werden in Promille des prämienpflichtigen Verdienstes* festgesetzt. Sie bestehen aus einer dem Risiko entsprechenden Nettoprämie und verschiedenen Zuschlägen. Für die Bemessung der Prämie werden die Betriebe nach ihrer Art und ihren Verhältnissen in Klassen und Stufen des Prämientarifs eingeteilt.

Weitere Angaben zu den Prämiensätzen können der Übersicht «Schweizerische Sozialversicherung - synoptische Tabelle der anwendbaren Beitrags- und Prämiensätze» (siehe unter «Links») entnommen werden.

(*)
Der prämienpflichtige Verdienst entspricht im Wesentlichen dem für die Bemessung der Geldleistungen massgeblichen Verdienst. Einkommensteile über dem Höchstbetrag des versicherten Verdienstes von aktuell CHF 148‘200 werden nicht berücksichtigt.

Letzte Änderung 05.07.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Versicherungsaufsicht
Sektion Unfallversicherung, Unfallverhütung und Militärversicherung
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/unfallversicherung/praemien.html