Monetary benefits of accident insurance

The monetary benefits paid in the event of an accident are: daily allowance, disability pension, integrity and helplessness allowance, and surviving dependants’ pension. The monetary benefits paid under accident insurance are calculated on the basis of the insured income. 

Insured income

The monetary benefits paid under accident insurance are calculated on the basis of the insured income. This is the salary on which AHV pension contributions are based, with certain additional components. The maximum insured income (see Art. 22 para. 1 of the Accident Insurance Ordinance/UVV, SR 832.202) is set in such a way as to ensure that, in general, the full income is insured for 92–96% of all people subject to compulsory insurance.

Daily allowances are based on the last salary received before the accident. Pensions are based on the salary received for the year preceding the accident. Integrity and helplessness allowances are calculated on the basis of the maximum insured income.

Daily allowance

Persons who are wholly or partly unfit for work as a result of an accident can claim a daily allowance. This is paid for each calendar day from the third day after the day of the accident. It amounts to 80% of the insured income for complete incapacity, and correspondingly less for partial incapacity. The entitlement to a daily allowance ends when the person regains full capacity for work, is granted a disability pension, or dies. Daily allowances for persons who have an accident while unemployed are equivalent to unemployment benefits.

Disability pension

If persons become disabled as the result of an accident – i.e. if their ability to work is likely to be impaired permanently or for a prolonged period – they can claim a disability pension. The entitlement begins when continued medical treatment is not expected to result in any significant improvement in their health and any IV rehabilitation measures have been completed. The degree of disability is calculated by comparing the insured person’s potential earnings with and without the impairment.

The disability pension amounts to 80% of insured income for complete incapacity and correspondingly less for partial incapacity. For insured persons entitled to an AHV or IV pension, accident insurance pays a supplementary pension corresponding to the difference between 90% of the insured income and the AHV/IV pension. However, the total amount paid will not exceed the accident-related disability pension envisaged for complete or partial incapacity.

Entitlement to a pension ceases when the person regains full capacity for work, or upon receipt of a lump-sum benefit, a pension buyout, or the person’s death.

Integrity allowance

Persons who suffer a substantial, permanent loss of physical or mental integrity as a result of an accident (e.g. loss of a kidney or leg, tetraplegia or blindness) are entitled to an appropriate integrity allowance. This takes the form of a lump sum settlement, based on the severity of the impairment. Impairments below 5% are not deemed to be material. The percentage impairment is multiplied by the maximum insured income to determine the integrity allowance payable.

Helplessness allowance

Persons who, as a result of disability, permanently require assistance with day-to-day tasks, or personal supervision, can claim a helplessness allowance. This is calculated according to the degree of helplessness (mild, moderate or severe).

Surviving dependants’ pension

If an insured person dies as a result of an accident, the surviving spouse (under certain conditions) and children can claim surviving dependants’ pensions. An ex-spouse eligible for maintenance payments from the accident victim will be treated as equivalent to a widow or widower.

Surviving dependants’ pensions are calculated as a percentage of the insured income, amounting to 40% for widows and widowers, 15% for children having lost one parent, and 25% for orphans – up to a maximum of 70% for all surviving dependants. For an ex-spouse, the pension amounts to 20% of the insured income, but it must not exceed the maintenance payable.

For surviving dependants entitled to an AHV or IV pension, accident insurance pays a supplementary pension (cf. “Disability pension” above).

In certain cases, the widow or ex-wife will be paid a lump sum instead of a pension.

In general, a surviving spouse’s entitlement ceases upon remarriage, death or a pension buyout. Children’s entitlement normally ceases when they reach the age of 18 or complete their education, but at the latest when they reach the age of 25.

Last modification 15.05.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Insurance Supervision Division
Section Accident Insurance, Accident Prevention and Military Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/unfallversicherung/leistungen/geldleistungen.html

Geldleistungen der Unfallversicherung

Die Geldleistungen bei einem Unfall sind: Taggeld, Invalidenrente, Integritäts- und Hilflosenentschädigung sowie Hinterlassenenrenten. Grundlage für die Geldleistungen der Unfallversicherung ist der versicherte Verdienst.

Versicherter Verdienst

Grundlage für die Geldleistungen der Unfallversicherung ist der versicherte Verdienst. Dies ist der für die AHV massgebende Lohn mit gewissen Ergänzungen. Der Höchstbetrag des versicherten Verdienstes (vgl. Art. 22 Abs. 1 UVV; SR 832.202) ist so festgesetzt, dass in der Regel 92–96% aller obligatorisch versicherten Personen zu ihrem vollen Verdienst versichert sind.

Massgebend für die Bemessung der Taggelder ist der letzte vor dem Unfall bezogene Lohn und für die Bemessung der Renten der innerhalb eines Jahres vor dem Unfall bezogene Lohn. Die Integritäts- und Hilflosenentschädigungen werden bei allen Versicherten vom gesetzlichen Höchstbetrag des versicherten Verdienstes berechnet.

Taggeld

Ist eine versicherte Person infolge eines Unfalls voll oder teilweise arbeitsunfähig, so hat sie Anspruch auf ein Taggeld. Dieses wird ab dem 3. Tag nach dem Unfalltag für jeden Kalendertag ausgerichtet. Es beträgt bei voller Arbeitsunfähigkeit 80% des versicherten Verdienstes, bei teilweiser Arbeitsunfähigkeit entsprechend weniger. Der Taggeldanspruch erlischt mit der Wiedererlangung der vollen Arbeitsfähigkeit, dem Beginn einer Invalidenrente oder mit dem Tod der versicherten Person. Das Taggeld für Personen, welche während der Arbeitslosigkeit verunfallen, entspricht der Arbeitslosenentschädigung.

Invalidenrente

Wenn eine versicherte Person infolge eines Unfalls invalid wird, d.h. voraussichtlich bleibend oder für längere Zeit in ihrer Erwerbstätigkeit beeinträchtigt ist, so hat sie Anspruch auf eine Invalidenrente. Der Anspruch entsteht, wenn die Fortsetzung der ärztlichen Behandlung keine namhafte Besserung des Gesundheitszustandes erwarten lässt und allfällige Eingliederungsmassnahmen der IV abgeschlossen sind. Massgebend für die Bemessung des Invaliditätsgrades ist der Vergleich der Erwerbsmöglichkeiten des Versicherten mit bzw. ohne die Beeinträchtigung seiner Erwerbsfähigkeit.

Die Invalidenrente beträgt bei Vollinvalidität 80% des versicherten Verdienstes, bei Teilinvalidität entsprechend weniger. Versicherten mit Anspruch auf eine Rente der AHV bzw. IV gewährt die Unfallversicherung eine Komplementärrente in der Höhe der Differenz zwischen 90% des versicherten Verdienstes und der AHV/IV-Rente, höchstens wird aber der für Voll- bzw. Teilinvalidität vorgesehene Betrag der Unfallinvalidenrente bezahlt.

Mit der Wiedererlangung der vollen Erwerbsfähigkeit, der gänzlichen Abfindung, dem Auskauf der Rente oder dem Tod des Versicherten endet der Rentenanspruch.

Integritätsentschädigung

Erleidet eine versicherte Person durch einen Unfall eine dauernde erhebliche Schädigung der körperlichen oder geistigen Integrität (z. B. Verlust einer Niere oder eines Beines, Tetraplegie, vollständige Blindheit), hat sie Anspruch auf eine angemessene Integritätsentschädigung. Die Entschädigung in Form einer Kapitalleistung wird entsprechend der Schwere des Integritätsschadens abgestuft. Dabei gilt eine Erheblichkeitsschwelle von mindestens 5%. Der massgebende Prozentwert des Integritätsschadens wird mit dem gesetzlichen Höchstbetrag des versicherten Verdienstes multipliziert. Das Resultat entspricht der geschuldeten Integritätsentschädigung.

Hilflosenentschädigung

Braucht die versicherte Person aufgrund ihrer Invalidität für die alltäglichen Lebensverrichtungen dauernd die Hilfe Dritter oder eine persönliche Überwachung, hat sie Anspruch auf eine Hilflosenentschädigung (leicht, mittel, schwer). Die Höhe der Entschädigung wird nach dem Grad der Hilflosigkeit bemessen.

Hinterlassenenrente

Stirbt eine versicherte Person an den Folgen eines Unfalls, so haben der überlebende Ehepartner bzw. die überlebende Ehepartnerin (unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen) sowie die Kinder Anspruch auf eine Hinterlassenenrente. Sofern die verunfallte Person einem geschiedenen Ehegatten bzw. einer geschiedenen Ehegattin gegenüber zu Unterhaltsbeiträgen verpflichtet war, wird dieser/diese der Witwe bzw. dem Witwer gleichgestellt.

Die Hinterlassenenrente wird in Prozenten des massgeblichen versicherten Verdienstes berechnet und beträgt für Witwen und Witwer 40%, für Halbwaisen 15% und für Vollwaisen 25%, für alle Hinterlassenen zusammen jedoch maximal 70%. Die Hinterlassenenrente für den geschiedenen Ehegatten bzw. die geschiedene Ehegattin entspricht 20% des versicherten Verdienstes, höchstens aber dem geschuldeten Unterhaltsbeitrag.

Haben die Hinterlassenen Anspruch auf eine IV- oder AHV-Rente, wird ihnen von der Unfallversicherung eine Komplementärrente gewährt (siehe Invalidenrente).

In bestimmten Fällen wird der Witwe oder der geschiedenen Ehefrau eine Abfindung an Stelle der Rente gewährt.

Der Anspruch des überlebenden Ehegatten erlischt grundsätzlich mit der Wiederverheiratung, dem Tod der rentenberechtigten Person oder dem Auskauf der Rente; der Anspruch der Kinder endet grundsätzlich mit der Vollendung des 18. Altersjahres bzw. mit dem Abschluss der Ausbildung, spätestens aber mit dem vollendeten 25. Altersjahr.

Letzte Änderung 05.07.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Versicherungsaufsicht
Sektion Unfallversicherung, Unfallverhütung und Militärversicherung
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/unfallversicherung/leistungen/geldleistungen.html