Accident insurance: Sectoral agreements with the EU

On 1 June 2002, the Agreement with the EU on the Free Movement of Persons entered into force. In its Annex II, the agreement contains provisions on the coordination of social security systems between Switzerland and the EU Member States.

The goal of the coordination provisions is to ensure that someone moving to another country to live or work will not be disadvantaged because of it. They are based on the coordination provisions applicable within the EU, namely Regulation (EC) No. 883/2004 (similar to a social security convention) and Regulation (EC) No. 987/2009 (Implementation Provisions).

Based on the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons between Switzerland and the EU, as from 1 April 2012 the provisions of Regulation (EC) No. 883/2004 and its implementation regulation, Regulation (EC) No. 987/2009, are applicable in the relationship to EU Member States. These regulations control the coordination of social security systems within Europe.

As from 1 January 2016, the 3rd update of the social security regulations in the EFTA Agreement (Appendix 2 of Annex K) took place. Since then, Regulations (EC) No. 883/2004 and (EC) No. 987/2009 have been applicable in the relationships between Switzerland and the EFTA Member States (Liechtenstein, Norway, Iceland) as well.

Regulations (EEC) No. 1408/71 and No. 574/72 are applicable only in certain cases anymore (cf. Transitional Provisions of Regulations (EC) No. 883/2004 and No. 987/2009).

The links to the acts and the documents can be found on this page under ‘Legislation â€™:

  • Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons
  • Regulation (EC) No. 883/2004
  • Regulation (EC) No. 987/2009
  • EFTA Agreement
  • Regulation (EEC) No. 1408/71
  • Regulation (EEC) No. 574/72

Last modification 05.07.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Insurance Supervision Division
Section Accident Insurance, Accident Prevention and Military Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/unfallversicherung/internationales/sektorielle-abkommen-eu.html

Unfallversicherung: Sektorielle Abkommen mit der EU

Am 1. Juni 2002 ist das Abkommen mit der EU über die Freizügigkeit in Kraft getreten. Dieser Vertrag enthält in seinem Anhang II Bestimmungen über die Koordinierung der Systeme der Sozialen Sicherheit zwischen der Schweiz und den Mitgliedsstaaten der EU.

Ziel der Koordinationsbestimmungen ist es sicherzustellen, dass jemand, der zu Wohn- oder Arbeitszwecken in ein anderes Land wechselt, nicht wegen des Landeswechsels benachteiligt wird. Grundlage sind die innerhalb der EU geltenden Koordinationsbestimmungen, nämlich die Verordnung (EG) Nr. 883/2004 (ähnlich einem Sozialversicherungsabkommen) und die Verordnung (EG) Nr. 987/2009 (Durchführungsbestimmungen).

Auf der Grundlage des Freizügigkeitsabkommens zwischen der Schweiz und der EU gelten seit dem 1. April 2012 in den Beziehungen zu den EU-Mitgliedstaaten die Bestimmungen der Verordnung (EG) Nr. 883/2004 und ihrer Durchführungsverordnung, der Verordnung (EG) Nr. 987/2009. Diese Verordnungen regeln die Koordinierung der Sozialversicherungssysteme in Europa.

Auf den 1. Januar 2016 erfolgte die 3. Aktualisierung der Sozialversicherungsregelungen im EFTA-Übereinkommen (Anlage 2 zu Anhang K). Seither sind die Verordnungen (EG) Nr. 883/2004 und (EG) Nr. 987/2009 auch in den Beziehungen zwischen der Schweiz und den EFTA-Staaten (Liechtenstein, Norwegen, Island) anwendbar.

Die Verordnungen (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 und Nr. 574/72 gelten nur noch in gewissen Fällen (siehe Übergangsbestimmungen der Verordnungen (EG) Nr. 883/2004 und Nr. 987/2009).

Die Links zu den Verordnungen und die Dokumente finden Sie auf dieser Seite im Register «Gesetze»:

  • Freizügigkeitsabkommen
  • Verordnung (EG) Nr. 883/2004
  • Verordnung (EG) NR. 987/2009
  • EFTA-Übereinkommen
  • Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71
  • Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 574/72

Letzte Änderung 05.07.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Versicherungsaufsicht
Sektion Unfallversicherung, Unfallverhütung und Militärversicherung
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/unfallversicherung/internationales/sektorielle-abkommen-eu.html