Military insurance: Monetary benefits

The list of monetary benefits offered by military insurance is the most extensive of all types of social insurance and the compensation paid is more generous.

Daily allowance

If the person covered by military insurance is fully or partially incapacitated for work following an insured accident or illness, they are entitled to a daily allowance. It is payable from the day after the incapacity to work and is equal to 80% of the income of which the insured person is presumed to have been deprived. The income taken into account may not exceed CHF 152,276 for 2017 and 2018.

The entitlement to a daily allowance ends when the person recovers full capacity for work or is granted an invalidity pension, or when the insured person dies.

During the professional rehabilitation period, the insured person receives a daily allowance or a redeployment income.

Invalidity and old-age pension

If the person covered by military insurance becomes incapacitated for work following an accident or disease, or if their full or partial incapacity for work is presumed permanent or long term, they are entitled to an invalidity pension.
This entitlement starts as soon as it becomes clear that continuing treatment is not likely to bring about a marked improvement in the state of the insured person’s health, or when any rehabilitation measures have failed.

The entitlement to a pension ends when the insured person recovers full capacity for work, when they die or when they reach the age at which they are eligible to receive an OASI pension.

When the insured person reaches the age at which they are eligible to receive an OASI pension, the invalidity pension is replaced by an old-age pension from the military insurance, which amounts to half of the invalidity pension they previously received. It is payable until the insured person’s death and cannot be adjusted.

Survivors‘ pensions

If an insured person dies from an insured accident or illness, their beneficiaries (spouse, divorced spouse, children, mother and father) are entitled to receive a survivors’ pension.
Survivors’ pensions are calculated according to the annual income of the deceased insured person and cannot exceed the maximum insured annual income. The surviving spouse is entitled to 40% of the annual income of the deceased insured person, the divorced spouse to 20% provided the deceased insured person still had to pay him/her maintenance contributions, orphans to 15% and the mother and father to 20% each provided there are no other survivors who need it. The accumulated survivors’ pensions cannot exceed 100% of the annual income of the deceased insured person.

Integrity allowance

If an insured person suffers a significant and lasting loss of physical or mental integrity following an insured accident or illness, they are entitled to an integrity allowance which is usually capitalised. The amount paid depends on the degree of the damage to integrity.

Moral damages

In the event of death following an accident while on duty, or in the event of a sudden fatal disease while on duty, the insured person’s family members are entitled to compensation for moral damages. The amount is calculated in the same way as in tort law.

Funeral allowance

If the damage to health covered by the military insurance leads to the death of the insured person, a funeral allowance is paid that amounts to one tenth of the maximum annual insured income.

Compensation for professional training costs

If the mother and father or spouse of the insured person covered significant professional training costs for the insured person who died following an insured accident or disease, they are entitled to fair compensation.

Last modification 05.07.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Insurance Supervision Division
Section Accident Insurance, Accident Prevention and Military Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/militaerversicherung/militaerversicherung-leistungen/geldleistungen.html

Militärversicherung: Geldleistungen

Die Liste der Geldleistungen ist bei der Militärversicherung umfassender als bei anderen Sozialversicherungen, und die angebotenen Entschädigungen sind grosszügiger. 

Taggelder

Militärversicherte, die infolge versicherter Unfälle oder Krankheiten ganz oder teilweise arbeitsunfähig sind, haben Anspruch auf ein Taggeld. Dieses ist ab dem Folgetag der Arbeitsunfähigkeit geschuldet und entspricht 80 Prozent des mutmasslich ausgefallenen Verdienstes der versicherten Person. Der berücksichtigte Verdienst darf 2017 und 2018 nicht über CHF 152'276 liegen.

Der Anspruch auf das Taggeld erlischt, wenn die betroffene Person wieder voll arbeitsfähig ist, eine Invalidenrente zugesprochen erhält oder verstirbt.

Während der beruflichen Wiedereingliederung beziehen die betroffenen Militärversicherten ein Taggeld oder eine Umschulungsrente.

Invaliden- und Altersrenten

Ist eine militärversicherte Person infolge von Unfall oder Krankheit invalide geworden und ist ihre vollständige oder teilweise Erwerbsunfähigkeit voraussichtlich bleibend oder länger anhaltend, hat sie Anspruch auf eine Invalidenrente.

Dieser Anspruch beginnt, sobald von der Fortsetzung der medizinischen Behandlung keine namhafte Besserung des Gesundheitszustandes mehr erwartet werden kann und allfällige Wiedereingliederungsmassnahmen gescheitert sind.

Der Rentenanspruch erlischt, wenn die betroffene Person wieder voll erwerbsfähig ist, das AHV-Rentenalter erreicht oder verstirbt.

Wenn die versicherte Person das AHV-Rentenalter erreicht, wird die Invalidenrente durch eine Altersrente der Militärversicherung ersetzt. Diese entspricht der Hälfte der vorher bezogenen Invalidenrente. Sie ist bis zum Tod der versicherten Person geschuldet und nicht revidierbar.

Hinterlassenenrenten

Die anspruchsberechtigten Angehörigen (Ehegatte/in, geschiedene/r Ehegatte/in, Kinder, Vater und Mutter) von Militärversicherten, die infolge eines versicherten Gesundheitsschadens versterben, haben Anspruch auf eine Hinterlassenenrente.

Die Hinterlassenenrenten berechnen sich aufgrund des versicherten Jahresverdienstes der verstorbenen Person, der nicht über dem maximal versicherten Jahresverdienst liegen darf. Der überlebende Ehegatte bzw. die überlebende Ehegattin hat Anspruch auf 40 Prozent des versicherten Jahresverdienstes der verstorbenen Person. Der geschiedene Ehegatte bzw. die geschiedene Ehegattin hat Anspruch auf höchstens 20 Prozent, sofern die verstorbene Person ihm oder ihr gegenüber zu Unterhaltsbeiträgen verpflichtet war. Waisen haben Anspruch auf 15 Prozent und Vater und Mutter auf je 20 Prozent, sofern es keine anderen Hinterlassenen gibt und ein Bedürfnis vorliegt. Alle Hinterlassenenrenten zusammen dürfen nicht mehr als 100 Prozent des versicherten Jahreseinkommens der verstorbenen Person ausmachen.

Integritätsschadenrenten

Erleiden Versicherte infolge von versicherten Unfällen oder Krankheiten eine dauernde erhebliche Beeinträchtigung der körperlichen, geistigen oder psychischen Integrität, haben sie Anspruch auf eine Integritätsschadenrente, die in der Regel ausgekauft wird. Ihre Höhe hängt von der Schwere des Integritätsschadens ab.

Genugtuungen

Bei einem Todesfall infolge von Unfall oder Krankheit im Dienst haben die Angehörigen der versicherten Person Anspruch auf eine angemessene Geldsumme als Genugtuung. Die Höhe der Summe wird wie im Haftpflichtrecht berechnet.

Bestattungsentschädigungen

Stirbt die versicherte Person infolge eines versicherten Gesundheitsschadens, so wird eine Bestattungsentschädigung im Umfang eines Zehntels des höchstversicherten Jahresverdienstes ausgerichtet.

Entschädigungen für Berufsausbildungskosten

Mussten die Eltern oder Ehegatten erhebliche Kosten für die Berufsausbildung von militärversicherten, infolge von versicherten Krankheiten oder Unfällen verstorbenen Personen tragen, haben sie Anspruch auf eine angemessene Entschädigung.

Letzte Änderung 29.08.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Versicherungsaufsicht
Sektion Unfallversicherung, Unfallverhütung und Militärversicherung
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/militaerversicherung/militaerversicherung-leistungen/geldleistungen.html