Health insurance: Students abroad

Barring exceptional circumstances, students who go abroad to study retain their domicile in Switzerland and thus remain subject to compulsory health insurance (KVG).

Studying in an EU/EFTA member state

Students who retain their domicile in Switzerland during their stay in the EU/EFTA remain subject to compulsory health insurance (KVG) provided that they do not exercise a remunerated activity alongside their studies (in this case, please consult “Workers in the EU or EFTA).

Under the European coordination regulations, in order to avoid double insurance, students who remain insured under their home country’s health insurance scheme are not obliged to obtain health insurance in the country where they are studying.

Being insured under the Health Insurance Act (KVG), upon presentation of the European Health Insurance Card, students are entitled to receive the same medical care as persons insured in the European country in question (for reimbursement of treatment costs in EU/EFTA countries, please consult “Tourists abroad and globetrotters”).

Studying outside the EU/EFTA

Students who retain their domicile in Switzerland while studying in a country outside the EU/EFTA remain subject to compulsory health insurance in Switzerland (for reimbursement of treatment costs in non-EU/EFTA countries, please consult “Tourists abroad and globetrotters”).

Students who – under the law of a country with which no arrangements have been made concerning limitation of insurance obligations – are compulsorily insured against illness during their stay can apply for exemption from compulsory health insurance in Switzerland if they would otherwise face a double burden and if their existing insurance provides equivalent cover for treatments in Switzerland. The application should be made to the responsible cantonal authority. For more information, please contact the authority responsible for your canton of residence directly (see the list of cantonal authorities below).

Further information

Tourists abroad and globetrotters

Persons travelling abroad remain subject to insurance obligations in Switzerland.

Workers in the EU or EFTA

Health insurance obligations for persons who are resident in Switzerland and work in an EU/EFTA country or pursue multiple activities.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Governance Supervision Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/versicherungspflicht/studierende-ausland.html

Krankenversicherung: Studierende im Ausland

Abgesehen von Ausnahmefällen behalten Studierende, die für ihr Studium ins Ausland gehen, ihren rechtmässigen Wohnsitz in der Schweiz. Sie bleiben daher der obligatorischen Krankenpflege-versicherung (KVG) unterstellt.

Studium in einem EU-/EFTA-Staat

Studierende, die während ihres Aufenthalts in der EU/EFTA ihren rechtmässigen Wohnsitz in der Schweiz behalten, bleiben der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung (KVG) unterstellt, sofern sie neben ihrem Studium keine Erwerbstätigkeit ausüben (bei Erwerbstätigkeit lesen Sie bitte den Abschnitt «Arbeitnehmende in der EU oder EFTA»).

Gemäss den europäischen Koordinierungsbestimmungen müssen Studierende, die bei der Krankenversicherung ihres Wohnstaates versichert bleiben, keine Krankenversicherung in ihrem Studienland abschliessen, damit eine Doppelversicherung vermieden werden kann.

Studierende, die dem KVG angeschlossen sind, haben gegen Vorweisung der Europäischen Krankenversicherungskarte Anspruch auf dieselben Pflegeleistungen wie Personen, die im betroffenen europäischen Land versichert sind (zur Übernahme von Pflegeleistungen in der EU lesen Sie bitte den Abschnitt «Touristen/-innen im Ausland und Weltreisende»).

Studium ausserhalb der EU/EFTA

Studierende, die während ihres Studiums in einem Land ausserhalb der EU/EFTA ihren rechtmässigen Wohnsitz in der Schweiz behalten, bleiben der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung in der Schweiz unterstellt (zur Übernahme von Pflegeleistungen ausserhalb der EU lesen Sie bitte den Abschnitt «Touristen/-innen im Ausland und Weltreisende»).

Studierende, die während ihres Aufenthalts nach dem Recht eines Staates, mit dem keine Regelung zur Abgrenzung der Versicherungspflicht besteht, obligatorisch krankenpflegeversichert sind, können die Befreiung von der Versicherungspflicht in der Schweiz beantragen, sofern der Verbleib in der Schweizer Versicherung eine Doppelbelastung bedeuten würde und eine gleichwertige Versicherungsdeckung für Behandlungen in der Schweiz vorhanden ist. Das Gesuch ist bei der zuständigen kantonalen Behörde einzureichen. Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die für Ihren Wohnkanton zuständige Stelle (siehe nachfolgende Liste der kantonalen Stellen).

Weiterführende Themen

Krankenversicherung: Touristen/-innen im Ausland und Weltreisende

Personen, die im Ausland reisen, bleiben der Versicherungspflicht in der Schweiz unterstellt.

Krankenversicherung: Erwerbstätige in EU- oder EFTA-Staaten

Krankenversicherungsrechtliche Zuordnung von Personen mit Wohnsitz in der Schweiz, die in einem EU-/EFTA-Staat arbeiten oder in mehreren Staaten gleichzeitig erwerbstätig sind

Letzte Änderung 24.08.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Direktionsbereich Kranken- und Unfallversicherung
Sektion Governance Aufsicht
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/versicherungspflicht/studierende-ausland.html