Health insurance: Workers in the EU or EFTA

Since the entry into force of the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP), health insurance obligations have been based on the principle of place of work.

Remunerated activity in a single EU/EFTA country

Despite being resident in Switzerland, Swiss nationals or nationals of an EU/EFTA country who exercise a remunerated activity in the territory of a single EU/EFTA member state are obliged to contribute to that country’s health insurance scheme.

The Common Institution under the Health Insurance Act (KVG) is responsible for the registration of persons resident in Switzerland who contribute to a health insurance scheme in an EU/EFTA member state. Registration requires proof of entitlement issued by the health insurer abroad. Any queries on this topic should be addressed directly to the Common Institution under the Health Insurance Act (KVG) in Solothurn (see the link below).

Simultaneous employed activities in the EU/EFTA or Switzerland

A Swiss national or national of an EU member state who simultaneously pursues employed activities either in the territory of more than one EU/EFTA member state, or in Switzerland and in the territory of one or more EU/EFTA member states is subject to the legislation of a single country. The legislation of the country of residence is applicable if a substantial part of the person’s activities (in general, more than 25%) are performed there. Depending on the circumstances, a person without substantial activities in his or her country of residence may be subject either to the legislation of the country where the employer is based, or to that of the country of residence. For further information, see the document Information of 9 March 2012 on the new European legislation on the coordination of social security systems (in French/German/Italian).

Employed and self-employed activities in the EU/EFTA or Switzerland

A person who pursues an employed activity in one country and a self-employed activity in another is subject to the legislation of the country in which the employed activity is pursued.

AHV compensation offices

In Switzerland, the AHV compensation offices are responsible for deciding on liability to social insurance and their decision on this matter is also applicable to health insurance. If you simultaneously pursue activities in Switzerland and in the EU/EFTA, please contact your AHV compensation office directly.

Further information

Insurance obligation

In principle, persons leaving Switzerland to live abroad are no longer subject to the compulsory health insurance requirement. Exceptions do however apply to people in certain categories.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Governance Supervision Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/versicherungspflicht/erwerbstaetige-eu-efta.html

Krankenversicherung: Erwerbstätige in EU- oder EFTA-Staaten

Seit dem Inkrafttreten des Freizügigkeitsabkommens (FZA) richtet sich die Versicherungspflicht für die Krankenpflege nach dem Erwerbsortsprinzip.

Erwerbstätigkeit in einem EU-/EFTA-Staat

Staatsangehörige der Schweiz oder eines EU- oder EFTA-Staates, die zwar in der Schweiz wohnhaft sind, aber auf dem Hoheitsgebiet eines EU- oder EFTA-Staates eine Erwerbstätigkeit ausüben, unterstehen der Krankenversicherung dieses Staates.

Die Gemeinsame Einrichtung KVG erfasst die Personen, die in der Schweiz wohnhaft sind und der Krankenversicherung eines EU-/EFTA-Staates unterstehen. Eine vom ausländischen Krankenversicherer ausgestellte, gültige Anspruchsbescheinigung ist erforderlich, um die Eintragung vornehmen zu können. Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die Gemeinsame Einrichtung KVG in Solothurn (siehe nachfolgenden Link).

Unselbstständige Erwerbstätigkeit in mehreren Staaten gleichzeitig (EU/EFTA oder Schweiz)

Staatsangehörige der Schweiz oder eines EU-Staates, die entweder in mehreren EU-/EFTA-Staaten oder in einem oder mehreren EU-/EFTA-Staaten und in der Schweiz gleichzeitig im Angestelltenverhältnis arbeiten, unterstehen den Rechtsvorschriften eines einzigen Staates. Die Rechtsvorschriften des Wohnstaates sind massgebend, wenn die betroffene Person dort einen wesentlichen Teil ihrer Tätigkeit ausübt (in der Regel mehr als 25%). Eine Person ohne wesentliche Tätigkeit in ihrem Wohnstaat kann je nach Sachlage entweder den Rechtsvorschriften des Staates, in dem der Arbeitgeber seinen Sitz hat, oder denjenigen des Wohnstaates unterstellt werden (für weitere Informationen siehe «Informationsschreiben vom 9. März 2012 im Zusammenhang mit dem neuen europäischen Koordinationsrecht für die Sozialversicherungen»).

Unselbstständige und selbstständige Erwerbstätigkeit in der EU/EFTA oder der Schweiz

Eine Person, die in einem Land eine unselbstständige und in einem anderen Land eine selbstständige Erwerbstätigkeit ausübt, untersteht der Gesetzgebung des Staates, in dem sie ihre unselbstständige Erwerbstätigkeit ausübt.

AHV-Ausgleichskassen

In der Schweiz liegt es in der Zuständigkeit der AHV-Ausgleichskassen, die sozialversicherungsrechtliche Unterstellung zu beurteilen, und ihr diesbezüglicher Entscheid gilt auch für die Krankenversicherung. Wenn Sie in der Schweiz und in der EU/EFTA gleichzeitig erwerbstätig sind, bitten wir Sie, sich direkt an Ihre AHV-Ausgleichskasse zu wenden.

Weiterführende Themen

Krankenversicherung: Versicherungspflicht für im Ausland wohnhafte Versicherte

Personen, die ins Ausland umziehen, unterstehen grundsätzlich nicht mehr der obligatorischen Krankenversicherung. Bestimmte Personenkategorien bilden jedoch eine Ausnahme dieser Regel.

Letzte Änderung 24.08.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Direktionsbereich Kranken- und Unfallversicherung
Sektion Governance Aufsicht
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/versicherungspflicht/erwerbstaetige-eu-efta.html