Health insurance: Posted workers in Switzerland

Posted workers are subject to the social security legislation of their home country. As regards health insurance, various categories are to be distinguished, depending on the country from which workers are posted.

Postings from an EU/EFTA country

Swiss nationals or nationals of an EU/EFTA member state who are posted to Switzerland for a period of up to 2 years by a company based in the EU or EFTA remain subject to the legislation of the home country. Upon presentation of the appropriate certificate (attestation A1, issued by the social security institution of the home country), they are exempted from liability to Swiss social security contributions, including health insurance.

The Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons and the EFTA Convention are not applicable for third-country nationals. In most cases, such postings can proceed on the basis of bilateral agreements.

Postings from a contracting state

If a worker posted to Switzerland from a contracting state (outside the EU/EFTA, Croatia, India, Japan and Macedonia) wishes to be exempted from insurance obligations in Switzerland, the employer concerned must undertake to ensure that, for the entire duration of the exemption, at least the benefits specified in the Health Insurance Act are covered for treatments in Switzerland (for a list of international social security agreements concluded by Switzerland, see below).

Postings from Croatia, India, Japan and Macedonia

In order to be exempted from Swiss health insurance obligations, workers posted to Switzerland from Croatia, India, Japan and Macedonia need only submit a copy of their certificate of posting or extended posting (special agreement) to the cantonal body responsible for exemption from health insurance in their canton of residence.

Postings from a non-contracting state

Essentially, workers posted from a state with which Switzerland has not concluded a social security agreement (non-contracting state) are required to obtain insurance in Switzerland. In fact, as soon as workers pay contributions to Swiss social insurance schemes (e.g. AHV/IV), they are no longer deemed to be posted workers. Workers who are subject to compulsory health insurance abroad can apply for exemption from insurance obligations in Switzerland if they would otherwise face a double burden and if their existing insurance provides equivalent cover for treatments in Switzerland.

Further information

An overview of the relevant agreements is provided by the following document: “Overview of international social security agreements concluded by Switzerland/implications for health insurance and posted workers’ liability” (available in French/German). Additional information is available on the website of the Federal Social Insurance Office, and in the FSIO brochures on social security for posted workers.

Further information

No results found

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Governance Supervision Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/versicherungspflicht/entsandte-arbeitnehmende-ch.html

Krankenversicherung: Entsandte Arbeitnehmende in die Schweiz

Das Sozialversicherungsrecht des Herkunftslandes bleibt für entsandte Arbeitnehmende gültig. Bei der Krankenversicherung sind je nach Entsendungsland verschiedene Kategorien zu unterscheiden.

Entsendung aus einem EU-/EFTA-Staat

Staatsangehörige der Schweiz oder eines EU- oder EFTA-Staates, die von einem Unternehmen mit Sitz in der EU oder EFTA für einen Zeitraum von bis zu 24 Monaten in die Schweiz entsandt werden, bleiben den Rechtsvorschriften des Herkunftslandes unterstellt. Gegen Vorweisung der entsprechenden Bescheinigung (Bescheinigung A1, ausgestellt von der zuständigen Versicherungseinrichtung des Herkunftslandes) werden sie vom Anschluss an die schweizerischen Sozialversicherungen, inkl. Krankenversicherung, befreit.

Das Freizügigkeits- und das EFTA-Abkommen gelten nicht für die Angehörigen von Drittstaaten. In den meisten Fällen ist deren Entsendung aufgrund bilateraler Abkommen möglich.

Entsendung aus einem Vertragsstaat

Wenn aus einem Vertragsstaat (ausser EU/EFTA, Kroatien, Indien, Japan und Mazedonien) in die Schweiz entsandte Arbeitnehmende von der Versicherungspflicht in der Schweiz befreit werden möchten, müssen ihre Arbeitgeber dafür sorgen, dass während der gesamten Geltungsdauer der Befreiung für Behandlungen in der Schweiz mindestens die Leistungen nach KVG versichert sind (siehe nachfolgende Liste der von der Schweiz abgeschlossenen internationalen Sozialversicherungsabkommen).

Entsendung aus Kroatien, Indien, Japan und Mazedonien

Aus Kroatien, Indien, Japan und Mazedonien in die Schweiz entsandte Arbeitnehmende müssen nur der kantonalen Stelle, die in ihrem Wohnkanton für die Befreiung von der Krankenversicherungspflicht zuständig ist, eine Kopie der Entsendungsbescheinigung oder der Bescheinigung über eine Ausnahmevereinbarung vorlegen, um von der Krankenversicherungspflicht in der Schweiz befreit zu werden.

Entsendung aus einem Nichtvertragsstaat

Arbeitnehmende, die aus einem Staat entsandt werden, mit dem die Schweiz kein Sozialversicherungsabkommen abgeschlossen hat (Nichtvertragsstaat), müssen sich grundsätzlich in der Schweiz versichern. Sobald eine solche Person Beiträge an die Schweizer Sozialversicherungen wie AHV/IV usw. entrichtet, gilt sie nicht als entsandte Person. Wer obligatorisch nach dem Recht eines ausländischen Staates krankenpflegeversichert ist, kann die Befreiung von der Versicherungspflicht in der Schweiz beantragen, sofern der Anschluss eine Doppelbelastung bedeuten würde und eine gleichwertige Versicherungsdeckung für die Behandlungen in der Schweiz vorhanden ist.

Weiterführende Informationen

Eine Übersicht über alle Abkommen gibt das Dokument «Überblick über die internationalen Sozialversicherungsabkommen der Schweiz: Auswirkungen auf die Krankenversicherung und auf die Unterstellung der entsandten Arbeitnehmenden». Weitere Informationen sind auf der Website des Bundesamtes für Sozialversicherungen sowie in dessen Merkblättern zur sozialen Sicherheit für Entsandte zu finden.

Weiterführende Themen

Internationale Sozialversicherungsabkommen

Die Schweiz hat multilaterale Vereinbarungen und internationale Sozialversicherungsabkommen abgeschlossen, die sich auf die Krankenversicherung auswirken.

Letzte Änderung 24.08.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Direktionsbereich Kranken- und Unfallversicherung
Sektion Governance Aufsicht
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/versicherungspflicht/entsandte-arbeitnehmende-ch.html